Feast logo

Lime and Mango Curd Tarts

The zingy lime coupled with this smooth Mango cordial is just a match made in heaven, seriously… if you’d have asked me a day ago what my favourite tart was, I would have said lemon, hands down lemon, but today… today it’s Lime baby!

By Dayna HoskinPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

Recipe collab with Local Pantry Co.

I am so honoured to be working with some of the gorgeous produce from Local Pantry Co. When I was first asked to look through the store and pick some items I’d like to play with, these Artisan Cordials by Small Batch Food Company caught my eye immediately. With flavour combo’s like Pear and Wild Hibiscus, Granny Smith Apple and Ginger, Yuzu and Rosemary, Passionfruit and Lemongrass, Raspberry and Pomegranite, and of course Mango and Kiffir Lime, I just knew I could have so much fun with them! Plus, they’re made in Melbourne with 100 percent Australian ingredients, and I LOVE that! Cordials can be so versatile in baking, you can use them to poach fruit, create a syrup, jelly, flavour pretty much any cake, be it baked or not, or to make gorgeous curds like we have today. I must say I am so pumped to be working with Local Pantry Co on this Lime and Mango Curd Tart recipe. Our collaboration was organised through a mutual friend, then turns it out that we also have a mutual family member, small world, hey!?

Okay Okay, I’ll stop yapping now and get on with the recipe, because although these tarts are absolute winners and I could go on about them (and Local Pantry Co) for days, your time is a precious commodity! So I’ll just say this, the zingy lime coupled with this smooth Mango cordial is just a match made in heaven, seriously… if you’d have asked me a day ago what my favourite tart was, I would have said lemon, hands down lemon, but today… today it’s Lime tarts baby! These mango lime tarts are just soo divine! And soo quick and easy to make, what more do you want? Seriously… it uses shortcrust from the freezer and the curd takes not even 10 minutes, so there’s no excuses! Get off your butt and get baking! You can thank me later.

MY TOP TIPS FOR MASTERING THIS BAKE

  1. Lay a slightly damp, clean, and preferably non fuzzy… if that makes sense.. tea towel over your shortcrust pastry, while it defrosts to avoid the edges from drying out and cracking as it comes to room temperature.
  2. I usually use the smallest option on my grater when making curds, however I wanted these lime tarts to be flecked with the rind so I went with the second to smallest. Which you use is entirely up to you, it won’t change the flavour.
  3. As soon as you place your curd back on the stove-top after adding your egg yolks, ensure you whisk continuously, otherwise, you may end up with a lumpy curd, due to the mixture cooking on the bottom.
  4. Limes differ in size, so should your limes be smaller or larger than the ones I’ve used ie: produces more or less than 1/4 cup of lime juice, ensure that you add enough cordial to the lime juice to make a total of 1/2 cup of liquids, no more, no less.
  5. Can’t order a cordial from Local Pantry Co? You could make your own… but I highly recommend fauking out the $11.99 for the Small Batch Co Mango and Kaffir Lime Artisan Cordial, because this substitute just doesn’t even compare… but, ingredients are below to make your own should it be required.

  • 500 grams mango
  • 1 3/4 cups caster sugar
  • 1/4 cup lime juice, or to taste

Combine in a saucepan, heat until the sugar has melted, blend together in a blender until smooth, pass the cordial through a sieve to remove any pulp and lumps.

recipe
Like

About the Creator

Dayna Hoskin

Hobby baker, chicken wrangler and passionate eater of all things sweet. Coming to you from a humble half an acre in Australian suburbia. www.hoskinshens.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.