Feast logo

Lemon, Lime and Ginger Curd Pie

A Baking Story (Pt.11)

By Annie KapurPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Of course, you probably know me very well for invading Vocal with my film studies stuff and articles entitled ‘a filmmaker’s guide’. I have often explained that I love to bake as well. Since I was young, I have loved the idea, the creativity and the relaxation of baking different things. I love to make macarons, layer cakes and gingerbread in particular and the activity of it really gets me away from my laptop (where I’m sure you know that I spend most of my life). So, I hope you enjoy me talking about what I bake and why I bake it complete with pictures (if not very good) of me actually baking, my baked goods in the process of being created and when they’re finished. I’m really happy to share this with you. And if you like, you can show me your baking (yes, I spend a lot of time writing, but I also spend a lot of time reading other people’s articles!), I would love to see it. Since I was in school, I was always interested in creating things, whether that be pieces of writing, welding things to make small statues or baking foods and making sweets (candy, if you’re American). I hope you enjoy looking at some of the stuff that has honestly kept me sane, because I seem to be going slightly mad.

Lemon, Lime and Ginger Curd Pie

I love the flavours of lemon and ginger together. In food, in tea and even in coffee, lemon and ginger can taste great (that last one, try it before you say 'that sounds gross' because it really is not gross at all). Lemon and ginger make a really nice wintery flavour if added in the correct amounts and a really nice summery flavour when added in other ratios - so it's a winner every season.

I always make my pastry from scratch because I love to flavour my pastry to compliment the pie. For example: if I'm making my signature Sweet Potato Pie, I like to put a hint of cinnamon into the pastry and if I'm making apple pie, then I add some cocoa powder, honey or coconut to the pastry to cut through the sweetness a little and give a bold new flavour. Previously, you probably viewed my pear pie and if you haven't, then please do - you will be pleasantly surprised.

Here's the recipe complete with pictures

For the pastry

  • 225g plain flour
  • 100g butter
  • 1/2 lime juice
  • 1 tsp water
  1. Preheat the oven to 200C
  2. Mix together the flour and butter until it is breadcrumbs
  3. Add the lime juice and water and mix again
  4. Make a dough ball
  5. Leave to rest for 15 minutes
  6. Roll out the dough and place into your pie casing
  7. Use baking beads or alternatively, rice, to hold down the pastry and bake in the oven for 20-25 minutes until hardened but not completely browned
  8. Cool the pastry whilst you make the curd
Here's mine - ah yes, and I'm wearing my varsity jacket complete with the letter 'A' for my name :)

For the curd

  • 2 Lemons - juice and zest
  • 200g Caster Sugar
  • 100g Butter
  • 4 Eggs
  • 2 tbsp Ground Ginger
  1. On the hob at medium heat, melt together the butter and sugar, adding the lemon as you whisk the mixture together
  2. Beat the eggs in a separate bowl and add them whilst whisking the mixture
  3. Add the ginger and whisk once more
  4. Once it has combined and thickened, take it off the heat
  5. Sieve the mixture of the zest bits
  6. Pour it into your pastry mixture, creating the shape you feel like out of a pancake shaper (I have a star!)

I get a bit messy sieving my curd!

Now, let's add it to the pastry with my star shaper.

And then, fill the star with raspberry jam (make sure the raspberry jam is level with your curd or it will spill!)

Do not take the shaper out!

Instead, take some raspberries (or any berries you have) and place them around the pie edge...

I did raspberries because they are sweet and tart balancing with the lemon and ginger. This also works well with cherry halves, cranberries, dark grapes and even blackberries and currants...

Again, do not take out the shaper!

Place your pie in the fridge to set for about an hour or two.

When the lemon curd has completely set, take your shaper out by pulling it straight up (do not wiggle the shaper!)

Turn the shaper upside down straight after you have gotten it out of the mix so the jam on the shaper does not go everywhere

Phew! Took the shaper out without a problem there!

Line your shape if you want - I lined mine with blueberries because I love them and they taste great.

And enjoy!

Hey, we did it! We made a lemon curd pie packed with pretty berries and a beautiful design fit for a table treat!

recipe
Like

About the Creator

Annie Kapur

190K+ Reads on Vocal.

English Lecturer

🎓Literature & Writing (B.A)

🎓Film & Writing (M.A)

🎓Secondary English Education (PgDipEd)

📍Birmingham, UK

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.