Feast logo

It Is Apple Picking Season And That Means Apple Pie!

Everyone said my mom and my sister made the best apple pie! I already knew that, as I grew up with them!

By Denise E LindquistPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
2
Carrie Estey 6/20/1957 — 9/24/2010 Ione Estey 7/3/34 — 9/25/2009

Both women had a profound effect on many people. They both opened their homes and kitchens to anyone in need. Mom collected many recipes over the years, many written on whatever scrap paper she could find. Many of us have fond memories of the time spent with her and the many meals and desserts (especially desserts) that were shared with others in her kitchen.

Carrie was an excellent cook and was the best chili and tortilla’s cook ever! I wrote a recipe book in memory of my sister that I sold as a fundraiser for the Powwow For Hope.

My sister Carrie died of Leukemia on September 24, 2010. I originally put these cookbooks together for family because I wanted to hold onto part of them and keep their recipes, art, and love of family alive and share that with family.

Our intent in the first edition was to make an all-inclusive cookbook, but we found that mom had WAY too many favorite dessert recipes that needed their own book. We had our job cut out for us! And we did our best to finish some of the recipes.

In the first edition, my daughter and I put together a cookbook with some of my mother’s favorite recipes. Everyone wanted the pie recipes we found. Here is a start to what we found. They weren't all this way, some were written in a recipe book, but many were exactly like this!

Mom's handwriting for a recipe she made often.

Pie Crust (no fail)

4 C. Flour

1 tsp. baking powder

1 Egg beaten

1 tsp. Salt

½ C. lukewarm water

1 2/3 C. lard

1 T. vinegar

Cut flour, baking powder, and shortening together. Combine water, vinegar, salt, and egg in a separate bowl. Make 8 wells in flour mixture. Put liquid in each hole. Gently mix till combined.

(After mixing, Joanna suggests making 2 balls of dough and wrapping them in saran wrap, and place in the fridge for a couple of hours to chill before use. This is the second no-fail recipe mom had.)

Pie Dough

1 cup boiling water

2 cup lard

Mix til lard is melted

Add:

4 cup flour

2 tsp. baking powder

Put in fridge and let stand

Makes 6 double crust pies.

Dough can be frozen

****

Pie Crust (2 crust)

2 cups flour

¾ cup Crisco

1 tsp. salt

5 T. cold water

****

By Rob Wicks on Unsplash

APPLE PIE

Arlan Moganson Apples

2 c. flour

1 ½ tsp. salt

1 ½ c. lard

1 ½ c. sugar

¼ c. ice water

Let rest for 2 hours in the fridge

4 T. butter

Use saran wrap not flour to roll

3 or 4 T. flour to thicken filling

egg white on top of pie

1 hour 10 minutes at 375 degrees

Mom and Carrie knew how to do things, so they oftentimes didn’t have to write down the full instructions (i.e. how many apples?). This is one of those that requires a few more instructions if you haven’t made it before.

This recipe gives you the opportunity to experiment, or to reach out to family and find the right way to do it. I guarantee you, someone will gladly share the instructions AND want to share the pie.

Homemade pie with homemade pie crust is so much better than any other pie you can get!

A few comments from the cookbook:

“I miss your mom, especially remember the Thanksgiving she made us all pies”. ~Juanita Espinosa

Betty Christ said, “Both Barry and I have been so grateful to have the 1st edition cookbook. We treasure it! Ione’s Sour Cream Raisin Pie is a favorite!!!!!!!”

“I really enjoy the recipes in the cookbook you gave me. I think of your mom and Carrie whenever I use the recipes.” ~Rose Robinson.

Carrie was just like mom in so many ways, as mom was always singing and whistling. Mom used to dance with us when we were small and she always had a garden when we were growing up. She always said, “That is what you do when you have a big family”. Carrie and mom loved the outdoors and picking berries were one of their favorite things to do. ~Denise Lindquist

Carrie’s garden, that girl could put other gardeners to shame. She could sell her talent. She didn’t know how talented and special she was. ~ Felicia Wesaw

The anniversary of their death is fast approaching and this short story and the apple pie recipe are in memory of my mother Ione and my sister Carrie. If you have the time to try it, I’m sure you won’t regret it!

****

Published first in Medium

recipe
2

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    I love that you did this! What a wonderful tribute to your mom and sister that you can share with your family and others for generations to come. I recently was gifted my grandma's handwritten recipes, and there are so many I remember eating. A lot of her recipes are missing quantities or instructions, but I just love having them. Great article :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.