Feast logo

In The Summer Food Is Good And So Is Family Fun

Family picnics, barbeques, cookouts, and powwows in the summer!

By Denise E LindquistPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
6
In The Summer Food Is Good And So Is Family Fun
Photo by Randy Fath on Unsplash

I think of summer food as being picnic food, barbeques, or cookouts. And my favorite is powwow food or Indian tacos. Taco ingredients on top of fry bread. So nummy!

As a child, we went on picnics to the water/beach. A river or lake. In Minnesota, there are plenty of water sources. We kids would swim and come ashore when called to eat. Then we would take a break before going back into the water.

Mom always made the very best potato salad, baked beans, and homemade buns for ham sandwiches or hamburgers on the grill. Mom made the best of everything. Food was always good, and some people would say it is because of the fresh air and all the exercise from swimming.

I would say, not all food was good, and my moms was the best! We almost always had lots of company and I thought it was because of mom's cooking! We had those picnics at our home too as we always had a picnic table in the yard and in the summer, we would eat there when we had company and much of the other time too.

We grew up with a large garden as mom said, when you have a big family, you have to have a large garden and put up lots of food to make it through the winter. Besides caring for the garden, we picked every kind of wild berry. We made jelly, jam, canned, and froze food too.

That all helped me to not be a fussy eater. I enjoy eating all fruits and vegetables!

I cooked burgers, brats, steaks, chicken, and fish on the grill while my children were growing up. And grilled veggies are the best! This is a good summer food tradition. You don't smell up the house or smoke it up and most of the mess is on the grill and not in the oven or on the stove.

Then you add sauces, other spices, olive oil, and butter to make it great!

My sister-in-law taught me to make burgers with chopped onions in the burgers on the grill. Delicious! For years we made those. I think that is how I began to enjoy cooked onions!

To try Indian tacos, I recommend attending a powwow. That isn't the only place to get an Indian taco, but they are usually some of the very best. Everyone is invited to powwows. There is plenty to see and eat at powwows.

I enjoy regular tacos and tacos in a bag too. I think it is that the ingredients work well together. They can come with lots of meat and cheese, or a little meat and cheese with little salad ingredients, or a lot of salad ingredients, and seasonings to taste.

I especially enjoy cooking when I can make mealtime easy, healthy, and delicious. I don't cook as much as I once did as it is just the hubby and me. He is on intermittent fasting to keep his weight down and it appears to be working for him.

He doesn't eat before 10 a.m., so we don't share breakfast often. He stops eating by 6:00 p.m. and most times we can share dinner. His favorite place to have dinner is DQ and I'm grateful they have a salad.

I have noticed as I have aged, I am not as much of a meat eater as when I was younger. Some have suggested going keto or carnivore to drop some weight. Not sure I could do that. I enjoy summer and summer foods. Plenty of both carbs and protein in these foods.

cuisine
6

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    Oooo these are so mouth watering! Enjoyed reading this!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    good story, and now I'm hungry.

  • I have read this before but no sign of me being here. I love this

  • Bri Craig2 years ago

    Oooh! Reading this definitely made me hungry.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.