Feast logo

InstaPot Beef Stroganoff that Would Disappoint my Babushka (But Tastes Really Good)

Changing Up Tradition

By Alesia BrooksPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
6
Beef Stroganoff My Babushka would be Disappointed In.

Growing up, I had three large influences in my cooking. My nana, who taught me to cook. She taught me the basics and taught me recipes her mother, my Oma, taught her. My dad, who taught me absolutely nothing about how to cook, but taught me I cannot live off of barbeque and spaghetti like some believe. Also my step-mom, Jessi, who came into my life at ten-years-old. She tried her hardest to get me to like vegetables, but was ultimately unsuccessful. So now, at 22, I have an interesting mix of flavors I find nostalgic. I love curries, eggplant parmesan, barbeque flank steak, but ultimately, one dish surpasses them all - beef stroganoff.

I was raised believing my Babushka and Dedushka immigrated to the United States from Russia long before my time. They settled in Washington, Babushka becoming a seamstress (I think...) and Dedushka becoming a leader in the Russian Orthodox Church. Well, flash forward to now. They’ve both been gone for at least ten years and, come to find out, neither of them were ever Russian. So now I’m left with words and recipes that don’t fit my heritage and a serious case of imposter syndrome... but at least I have my stroganoff!

My favorite part about this dish is how much it can be altered to fit your tastes! I've never been a fan of sour cream, so I personally don't add it, but if you do add it, it makes a creamy dish that'll make your tastebuds water. The variations each person adds change the dish to be something more delicious and personal! And while I'm a fan of tradition, sometimes going off-script is necessary in the kitchen!

This recipe was originally taught to me by my dad, tweaked by Nana and finalized by me! It’s been over 10 years in the making, but it’s worth the wait! Lucky for you, I’ve spent the time perfecting it so all you have to do is dust off your InstaPot and enjoy!

To start, you’ll need a few things:

- 1 tablespoon canola or olive oil

- 1 ½ teaspoon salt and pepper

- 1 ½ pounds (depending on how many you’re serving) of beef stew meat, cut into 1 inch cubes.

- 2 cups sliced mushrooms

- ½ onion, diced

- 2 garlic cloves, finely chopped

- 1 teaspoon Worchester sauce

- 3 cups vegetable broth

- 1 bag of wide egg noodles

- ½ cup sour cream (optional or to taste)

Let’s get started!

Step 1: Turn Instant Pot to Saute. Heat oil and add onion and salt. Cook until onion begins to soften, about 3 minutes.

Step 2: Season raw beef with salt and pepper before adding to the pot along with garlic. Cook for about 3 minutes, or until brown on all sides. Add Worchester sauce when cooked.

Step 3: Stir mushrooms into pot. Pour vegetable broth in, close and lock the lid. Seal and pressure cook on high for 10 minutes.

Step 4: When finished cooking, use the quick release method and wait for the pot to depressurize. Add and stir in uncooked egg noodles.

Step 5: Close and lock the lid. Set the pot to high pressure and cook for another 5 minutes.

Step 6: Once the cooking is complete, allow pressure to release naturally, about five minutes, before releasing remaining pressure via quick release.

Step 7(optional): Stir in sour cream and top with freshly grated parmesan cheese.

This serving size feeds about four people with a hefty bowl! My Babushka would be very disappointed with me, using the quicker way to make this meal. But the times have changed, and recipes must change with it! This meal is perfect for a cold autumn night, leaving both your heart and stomach warm and full!

recipe
6

About the Creator

Alesia Brooks

Disney blogger with a dark side

24-year-old writer and photographer

Follow along with my misadventures - IG: @livinglikealesia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.