Feast logo

If It's Good Enough for Bernie Sanders...

Then it's good enough for me!

By ReneePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
10
Left to right: Aly O'Donnell, Baljinder Dadra, Bernie Sanders, Sohan Dadra, Jada Devlin. Courtesy of Baljinder Dadra.

Almost exactly 5 years ago, on April 19, 2016, Senator Bernie Sanders came to my hometown and ate at my favorite local restaurant: India Pavilion

It is a family owned and operated restaurant and is the pride and joy of the Dadra family.

When asked about Sanders' visit, Sohan Dadra said: “[I was] totally surprised. [This is] the best moment we’ve had.”

During the political campaigns of 2016, my family and I were (and we still are!) avid supporters of Bernie Sanders. His visit to our favorite local restaurant solidified our support of him.

It allowed our community to know his character even better. He chose to visit a small, local restaurant instead of the more expensive options in town. He was present in our community instead of hiding away and ordering room service. His choice made us like him even more.

India Pavilion's response to Sanders' visit also made us feel good that we are on the same page politically. They completely embraced his presence and were so honored that he decided to dine at their establishment.

I have been a regular patron of this fantastic restaurant that offers delicious North Indian cuisine and great customer service. We always feel like we are well taken care of by the friendly staff.

During the pandemic, this is one restaurant that my family has repeatedly ordered delivery from in order to make sure they are getting some more business. We would hate to see them close!

As a vegan family living in central Pennsylvania, it can be hard to find dining options. Thankfully India Pavilion, or India Pav as my family lovingly calls it, offers many vegan and gluten free options.

They are always very careful with our orders to make sure that everything is suitable for our vegan diets without making us feel like an inconvenience. I really appreciate that level of service!

Some of my favorite dishes include:

Bhindi Masala: fresh okra cooked with onions and spices

Indo-Chinese Chilli with Ghobi: gobhi (cauliflower) fritters tossed in a tangy special sauce with onions & bell peppers

Indo-Chinese Chilli with Ghobi

Kadahi Vegetable: fresh mixed vegetables cooked in a wok with onions and bell peppers

Baingan Bhartha: eggplant roasted in the oven, cooked in spices with onions, bell peppers and tomatoes

And my favorite appetizer: (I seriously could eat 20 of these at a time)

Vegetable Pakora: Fresh vegetable fritters dipped in spiced gram flour & deep fried

Oh, just thinking about this food makes me SO hungry. I might have to order something from India Pav tonight... Also, all of their dishes come with Jeera Rice, which is basmati rice with cumin seeds. It's always cooked to perfection.

Another thing I love about this restaurant is that you can choose the spice-level for most dishes. So, if you like it hot, you can have it that way! Or if you're like me and want things to be a bit more "extra-medium" then you have that freedom.

The staff is super accommodating and that's why I keep coming back, and oh yeah, the food is so good. Even my husband, who is a fine-dining chef, agrees! It's one of the only places in town he will consistently want to order food from.

So, if you ever find yourself in central Pennsylvania, maybe for a Penn State University event, then do yourself a favor and treat yourself to a delicious meal at India Pavilion. I'm sure Bernie Sanders would be proud <3

Source: WPSU's Twitter Account, PC: James Miller

Thank you so much for reading! If you would like to read some more vegan-friendly content, then you might like to read this article about veganism abroad: "This unexpected country is incredibly vegan-friendly"

Also, if you'd like to leave a tip so that I can get some delicious India Pav dishes, I wouldn't be mad about it ;)

Happy reading!

restaurants
10

About the Creator

Renee

I live for unexpected experiences and good food! As a cultural-enthusiast and linguaphile, my studies and passions have taken me around the world. I teach English as a foreign language and I believe that language is beyond powerful.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.