Feast logo

How The Vote Against Food As A Human Right Changed My Life

Hungry?

By Freddie's Lost TreasuresPublished 9 months ago 4 min read
Like
Artichokes Are Blooming (Photo by Freddie's Lost Treasures)

I still remember the day when I heard the news that the U.S. government voted against a UN resolution that declared food as a human right. It was October 2022 (but the U.S. thought process went back several years, so my journey began much before the above date), and I was sitting in my living room, preparing dinner with my family. The reporter said that the U.S. was the only country in the world that opposed the resolution, which aimed to end hunger and malnutrition by 2030. The U.S. argued that food was not a right, but a commodity, and that the resolution would interfere with the free market and private property rights.

I was shocked and outraged by this decision. How could the U.S., the richest and most powerful country in the world, deny such a basic and essential right to millions of people who were suffering from hunger and poverty? How could they ignore the fact that food insecurity was also a problem in their own country, where one in eight Americans did not have enough to eat? How could they be so selfish and heartless?

I decided to do something about it. I decided to use my resources and influence to make a difference in the world. I decided to buy multiple properties throughout the world, not only as an investment, but also as a way to support local communities and promote food security.

I had been a successful entrepreneur for many years, running a few different businesses that provided me with a steady income, including being an Education Director/Consultant, Real Estate Property Manager, and Financial Advisor, among a few other lesser known adventures with my wife. I had always been interested in real estate (thus, my licensed status as a Property Manager), and I had already owned a few properties in different areas throughout the world. But after the U.S. vote against food as a human right, I wanted to continue to expand my portfolio and diversify my assets.

I started by doing some research on where and how to buy additional properties throughout the world. I learned about different strategies, such as buying below market value, adding value through renovation, getting property values reviewed, and ensuring I have my feet on the ground in the place I am going to purchase. I never buy or have bought sight unseen. I also learned about different factors to consider, such as: location, demand, taxes, laws, and risks associated with the potential areas of purchase.

I typically hired on a few people locally to help me with the process, including, but not limited to: a real estate agent, a lawyer, an accountant, and a property manager if need be (all temporary hires). I also used online tools to find and analyze potential properties. It's a little bit of a process, but well worth the efforts and it sticks to my plans of survival and prosperity for my family.

I focused on buying properties in countries that have high rates of hunger and poverty, such as: Cambodia, Mexico and Georgia. I wanted to invest in these countries not only because they offered low prices and high returns, but also because they needed more support and development. I wanted to create positive social impact with my investments.

I bought properties that were close to markets and/or farms. I renovated them to make them more comfortable and attractive to live in for my wife and I. While I am not availing use of my properties, I allow a few of my workers to live and take care of a specific property at no cost to them. The only thing they have to do is keep a garden (always fresh and delicious food on arrival) and ensure the place is clean.

By buying multiple properties throughout the world and growing gardens of various sizes at each property I own, I was able to achieve several goals at once. I was able to grow my wealth and diversify my portfolio in a different way than most, focusing on food availability and the ability to grow my own food. I was able to protect my family from the U.S. government's foolish actions and preserve my livelihood. And most importantly, I was able to help people who were struggling with hunger and poverty when opportunity allowed.

I believe that food is a human right, and that everyone deserves access to adequate and nutritious food. I believe that real estate investing can be a powerful tool for social change and justice. And I believe that by buying multiple properties throughout the world, I have changed my life, my family's life and others who need support more than me, for the better.

۞۞۞۞۞

Original story (created by me) published on Medium.com. Any changes and/or updates that have been added on Vocal.media are for content consumption purposes.

Thank you for your time, I hope you thoroughly enjoyed what you have read today. Please subscribe. I have plenty of upcoming articles on varying topics, if you so choose to check them out. Also if you would be so kind, I would greatly appreciate a heart. Lastly, if you feel inclined to do so, tips and of course pledges (currently only $2.99 a month) are greatly appreciated. Our monies collected in Vocal help support the Bunong tribal people in Cambodia.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Freddie's Lost Treasures

A traveler in search of lost and hidden treasures. I have assembled a lifelong learning of being in the business world and decided to take a leap to see what is outside the confines of brick and mortar and left the 9 to 5 behind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.