Feast logo

Homemade Tacos

If you're craving tacos, you've come to the right place.

By Amanda PaynePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
4
Homemade Tacos by Amanda Payne

Forget the drive-thru! Try my homemade tacos recipe for an easy Taco Tuesday. These tacos are made with ground meat and homemade taco seasoning. Then they are heated in the oven with cheese and topped with lettuce and tomatoes.

Tacos are a favorite around here, and they are such a simple recipe. You can have dinner ready within 12 minutes, and everyone will be happy. Let's get started!

Homemade Tacos Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound of ground meat (beef, chicken, turkey, venison, etc...)
  • 8 medium flour tortillas or hard shell
  • 2 ounces of shredded fiesta cheese
  • 2 teaspoons of chili powder
  • 1 1/4 teaspoon of ground cumin
  • 1/4 teaspoon of paprika
  • 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon of dried minced garlic or garlic powder
  • 2 teaspoons of dried minced onion or onion powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon of dried oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 1/4 cup of water

Topping Ideas:

  • Roma tomatoes, diced
  • Shredded lettuce
  • Avocado
  • Guacamole
  • Black beans
  • Refried beans
  • Onion
  • Sour cream
  • Salsa

Getting It Done:

  1. First, fry the ground meat on medium-high heat, breaking it up as it fries until it is done. Remove any excess grease.
  2. Add the spices and water. Mix well and heat for two minutes.
  3. Turn the heat to low while you are assembling the tacos.
  4. Preheat the oven to 350ºF.
  5. Place a tortilla on a large cookie sheet. Put about 2 tablespoons of shredded cheese on half of the tortilla, 3 tablespoons of taco meat, and then another 2 tablespoons of shredded cheese.
  6. Fold the other half of the tortilla over. Continue until you have used all ingredients.
  7. Place the tacos in the oven for about 5 minutes, just long enough to melt the cheese, and very lightly toast the tortillas.
  8. Remove the tacos from the oven. Open the tacos carefully and add tomatoes and lettuce, and other toppings of your choice.

Let's eat!

If you do not want to make your own taco seasoning, you can use your favorite brand of taco seasoning from the store. I personally like to make it myself because it seems to have a better flavor.

Tacos go great with baked potato wedges or fries, a side salad, or just as they are. Sometimes, I like to add a dash of red pepper flakes. Not everyone enjoys red pepper flakes, so I add them to my taco instead of the whole batch.

I used ground venison for this recipe, but you can use any ground meat you prefer. It is good with ground beef, chicken, and turkey as well.

You can calculate the nutrition facts at myfitnesspal.com. You can also use an online recipe calculator/divider to get the right ingredients for the amount you want if the yield is too large or too small.

I hope you enjoy the recipe! Sharing is caring. Please share my recipe if you like it. I appreciate your support very much.

Visit my profile if you would like more delicious meals. Check out some of my recent recipes: Chicken Fried Deer Steak with Gravy, Venison Pepper Soup, and Venison Sausage Gravy and Biscuits.

Maybe you have a sweet tooth and need something sweet. Try my No-Bake Oatmeal Candy recipe.

This taco recipe was originally published at deerrecipes.online. I am the owner of Deer Recipes. I am in the process of moving all of my recipes to Vocal.Media. Please bear with me during this transfer. I appreciate my readers more than I can express.

Check out my author profile on Vocal.Media if you are looking for more recipes. Please consider subscribing to me, Amanda Payne. It is free! I will be posting many more recipes in the future.

Likes, pledges, and tips are welcomed and appreciated but not necessary. You can also find me on Pinterest and Rumble.

recipe
4

About the Creator

Amanda Payne

An avid beekeeper, crafter, foodie, photographer, and nature girl.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.