Feast logo

Hi-scores, how I miss you so

Local Las Vegas Eats

By Dyllon RodillonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
13
Such a great picture with the fireworks in the background

There really is just something special about having your own "home bar", it's such a travesty this bar-cade was a covid-19 casualty. But I don't want to this article to be negative, instead let's celebrate the life of this amazing local bar. For those of you unfamiliar with bars in Las Vegas, it's actually pretty difficult to find local, home grown bars. Almost all of our bars are just PT's, which I'm not complaining about. They're good bars, but there's something I appreciate of a local bar where I truly got to befriend the bartenders.

Atmosphere

There was just something so welcoming about this place. I think it was a combination of the music, the games inside and outside, and of course all the bright colors as soon as you entered the bar. There was one thing I never really understood, which was the fact that there were so many kegs used as decorations. I should have asked them why there were so many kegs while they were open. They also did host trivia night which I never got to attend, but they seemed like they were a blast to participate in.

Employees

I'm so sorry guys. I wish I could have done more to help them stay afloat. I honestly loved just about every single one of the bar tenders/bar backs. It didn't matter if I was there with my friends, family, or just sulking by myself. Every time I was there I always felt welcomed and they really went out of their way to make sure we were all always having a good time. I genuinely miss them and hope they're all doing well on their newest and future endeavors. A huge thank you to; Jessica, Bryan, D'Angelo, and Fernando.

Games

So this bar was split in two sections. There was the non-smoking, free gaming side which primarily held arcade games such as; Mortal Kombat, Marvel vs Capcom, Pacman, and Galaga to name a few. As mentioned all of these games on this side were 100% free to play.

And then there was the smoking section where the video poker machines were. Before anyone asks, no I never hit there unfortunately.

Food

Breakfast, lunch, dinner, dessert, and even just typical bar finger food; Hi-scores had it all. Typically my friends and I would split a pizza and maybe some wings. I am eternally disappointed I never got to try their breakfast despite having stayed at the bar until the following morning sunrise. I'll be honest I don't exactly remember what their breakfast was, most likely some form of steak and eggs. I do love steak and eggs, I wish I could have tried theirs.

Drinks

This bar was actually the very place I've been that offered Lagavulin, and was the first place I was able to actually try Lagavulin. But on top of that they had a crazy variety of liquor; from your very basic lite beers, IPA, imports, cocktails, and of course the hard liquor. Just like Lagavulin.

picture from yelp of their drinks menu

In closing please don't forget from here on out, SUPPORT SMALL BUSINESSES AS MUCH AS POSSIBLE. Covid took away so many amazing small businesses, I really do miss this bar every single day. Especially when the pandemic was at its worst, I could have used a good trip to Hi-scores for some well earned rest and relaxation. So as we get back to life as normal again. Show your support and spread the word for all the new small businesses and especially support those small businesses who were lucky enough to survive the pandemic. Hopefully whoever takes over this building can live up to their honor. RIP Hi-Scores.

Thank you for your time, I hope you enjoyed what you have read today. I have plenty of different articles on many different topics. Feel free to give those other articles a read or two. Also if you'd be so kind, I'd greatly appreciate a heart and if you really feel so inclined tips are always appreciated but by no means required.

restaurants
13

About the Creator

Dyllon Rodillon

Jack of all trades, master of none.

Feel free to use my link to sign up for vocal+

https://vocal.media/authors/dyllon-rodillon?via=dyllonrodillon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.