Proof logo

Lagavulin

The drink of choice for Ronald Ulysses Swanson.

By Dyllon RodillonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
4
I do not own this picture, no copyright is intended

For fellow fans of the show "Parks and Recreation" this drink may ring a bell. Lagavulin is not only Ron Swanson's favorite drink but he also ends up becoming a majority owner of the Lagavulin Distillery. Funny enough, Nick Offerman himself was a huge fan of Lagavulin in his personal life long before the show ever aired. This caused the writers of "Park's and Recreation" to write Lagavulin into Ron's character. Now let us see if this drink is worth the hype or not. Spoiler alert, it most definitely is worth the hype and let me explain why.

A very brief history of Lagavulin

Lagavulin is a Single Malt Scotch Whisky hailing from the village of Lagavulin on the south of the island of Islay, Scotland. There are multiple cask strength; 8, 12, and 16 just to name a few with 37 being the longest. Lagavulin 16 has to be the most recognizable and most common year. The Lagavulin distillery was founded in 1816, at Lagavulin on the island of Islay, United Kingdom. Fun fact, speaking of cask strength the "Offerman edition" named after Nick Offerman himself is Lagavulin 11.

My personal experiences with Lagavulin

I absolutely LOVE Lagavulin. Of course with this drink being 43% alcohol this baby is STRONG. However, it has to be the smoothest drink I have ever had. The very first time I had this drink, it literally felt like someone was hugging my insides with how warm it made my chest. But it didn't burn my tongue or throat on the way down. I've had those experiences a lot of times especially when you drink low-brow tequila it will just burn going down. No taste whatsoever, just pure fire. Almost as if you're drinking pure gasoline. But not Lagavulin, this drink is as smooth as water. Which brings me to the point, this drink is very sneaky. If you are not careful and you haven't been eating that day, you'll be in front of the porcelain throne. So once again I beg of you, please always drink responsibly. Eat plenty of food, drink plenty of water, and know your limits. When you drink Lagavulin responsibly, I can guarantee you will have a great time.

Why you should drink Lagavulin

Let me make this very clear, this is not your first drink kind of drink. However, this is one drink everybody should try at least once in their life. As I mentioned above the hug from the inside is amazing. Lagavulin is so smooth, and above all else in spite of how strong it may be the taste is still amazing. One 750ML bottle goes for about $100 which is very fair for the quality you are getting with this drink. Lastly I'm going to be a little pretentious here, but there's nothing classier than rocking a glass of Lagavulin while just relaxing in an arm chair. I literally want to just escape the world for a day, crack open a bottle next to a fireplace and read a good book with my dog by my side. Doesn't that just sound like a great time?

If you have enjoyed what you have read today, please feel free to check out my many other articles. I cover a wide range of subjects. This is actually the very first article on my page about alcohol and I do plan to do many more. If you really appreciate my works please feel free to leave a heart, that will indicate to me you want more of these types of articles and of course I will respond accordingly as soon as possible. Ask and you shall receive. Then; if you feel so inclined tips are monumentally appreciated, but by no means are required. Thank you so much for your time today.

whisky
4

About the Creator

Dyllon Rodillon

Jack of all trades, master of none.

Feel free to use my link to sign up for vocal+

https://vocal.media/authors/dyllon-rodillon?via=dyllonrodillon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.