Feast logo

Go Bananas for Monkey Business

By Malia

By MaliaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Source: tuskmagazine

Four words: Breakfast Served All Day.

Wait, it gets better. That breakfast is grown, cooked, and served by at risk young adults. All money spent there goes right back to supporting them.

I first ventured to Monkey Business Café simply because it was walking distance from Fullerton College in sunny SoCal where I was a student. I loved its cute café vibes. Approaching the entrance, I admired the outdoor seating shaded by an ivy covered trellis. Stepping inside, I was hit with the aroma of good food and echoes of laughter from clusters of diners sitting elbow to elbow. The mismatched tables and chairs from garage sales were charming.

I liked Monkey Business before I tasted the food. After I tasted the food, I loved it. I’m a big fan of breakfast, sweet citrus, and cheese. So naturally I fell in love with the dish “Roy’s Ricotta Pancakes”. The – yes, ricotta- pancakes were dusted with powdered sugar and topped with whipped cream made in house. The best part for me was the delicious lemon crème fraiche. These melt-in-your-mouth pancakes were not only good; I’d never had anything like it. Over time the rest of the menu proved to be just as diverse.

Source: ocregister.com

I started going there to treat myself for good grades, or to take my husband on dates. Before long, I invited friends there too. I didn’t do this just because it was delicious food in a fun environment. Those of you who live in Orange County may know those two things are common in downtown Fullerton. I continued eating there because supporting Monkey Business means supporting so much more than good food.

As I said the entirety of the staff is composed of at risk youth (about 35 hired every year according to the Monkey Business website). They also claim that “All of our program participants are experiencing a highly challenging existence: at or below 100% of poverty, near or actual homelessness, food insecurity and a lack of other basic needs.” Employment at their café aims to teach them valuable work skills, building their resumes and self esteem. It also provides income for some who otherwise struggle to find work.

Many of the foster kids that have been or are employed there are found through an organization called Hart Community Homes. They have two houses for male foster boys ages 13-18 in Orange County as the café explains online. Bill Hart, the co-founder of these homes, offered up the building Monkey Business uses in Fullerton to create work opportunities for these young men.

I would already pay more for exquisite pancakes when this is what the extra dollars support.

But there is more!

Besides supporting at risk youth, Monkey Business is highly connected to its community and sustainable farming practices.

Source: https://www.monkeybusinesscafe.org/gallery.php

The Fullerton Arboretum, where Monkey Business grows many of their ingredients organically, is also local. Monkey Business’s website explains that there at the Arboretum, “program participants learn about various aspects of farming: preparing the soil, planning a crop calendar, planting, best practices for growing, harvesting, composting, responsible watering, cultural responsibility and sustainable practices.” Later the youth are taught how to prepare meals with said ingredients and are even encouraged to make their own dishes to potentially be incorporated in the menu.

If you are from Orange County, then you may know that the Fullerton Arboretum is connected to California State University, Fullerton. Graduate students there work closely with Monkey Business youth to help them learn when and how to plant sustainably. They also list the nutritional value of the dishes offered in the café.

This not only is a draw for local college students, but it gives some college exposure to these at risk youth as well.

Source: monkeybusinesscafe.org/gallery.php

As a person who is trying to live as sustainably as I can, these farming practices are a huge plus!

And when I want to eat local, its good to know that that my food is grown locally by people who live locally too.

So I actually have a few groups of ‘four words’ for you:

Breakfast Served All Day

Support At Risk Youth

Locally Grown Organic Food

Supports Local Higher Education

Please Try Monkey Business

*******************************************************************

If you want to financially support Monkey Business but can’t visit their building for whatever reason, here is their website with a list of creative ways to help them: https://www.monkeybusinesscafe.org/support.php

Here is the general link to their website, which I referenced frequently:

https://www.monkeybusinesscafe.org

restaurants

About the Creator

Malia

I write for challenges to challenge myself to write.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    MaliaWritten by Malia

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.