Feast logo

Gatorade Bolt 24 Review

What's the worst that could happen?

By Alyson LewisPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

Bolt 24 is Gatorade’s newest addition to their lineup. Honest to God, every time they come out with a new anything I’m like... hmm... I wonder how much longer they’re going to keep doing this. How many times can they try to reinvent the hydration wheel??

I’m a huge Gatorade fan and usually stick to the core flavors. Some of their drinks that get a little too adventurous aren’t really for me. Limon Pepino made me want to crawl into a hole and die, and the Organic flavors were Just OK but not really worth the full roll-out and anticipation they conjured up. Like, it was fine. The Bolt 24 collection boasts three flavors (Tropical Mango, Mixed Berry and Watermelon Strawberry), and claims to deliver hydration to athletes on and off the field…. 24/7 hydration baby!!! The electrolytes in Bolt 24 are derived from watermelon and sea salt, and it has no artificial flavors or sweeteners. It also claims to deliver 100% of the recommended daily value of vitamin A and vitamin C.

I’ve seen that it’s available online, but haven’t read any reviews on it. I just had a few people ask me if I’ve tried it. Since I hadn’t, I decided to. What’s the worst that could happen? I could drink it and it would be so awful I’d have regular flashbacks like I do of Limon Pepino? OK, fine. I’ve endured a lot, but I like to take risks with new beverages because there’s always a possibility that it’s actually good. Who knows?

OK, let’s see. Please keep in mind that I am NOT an athlete. I’m simply a woman tasting Gatorade.

This one tastes like Powerade’s Tropical Mango flavor, and the flavor of this really isn’t much of a deviation from other citrus flavors Gatorade has done before. Gatorade AM, Tropical Citrus are nearly identical to this. It isn’t anything new or unexpected. We’ve been down this road before. Although it isn’t unique, this is probably my favorite one.

I smelled this one and said “Oh! I know what this is!” before I even tried it. I can describe the flavor of this in two ways that regular Gatorade drinkers will understand. This tastes like a bolder version of Gatorade Rain, and it is the exact Berry component in the Fruit Punch + Berry flavor. I recognized it instantly.

This is the only slightly unique flavor of the three. Gatorade has a Strawberry Watermelon iteration, but this one, as the name suggests, has more of a watermelon flavor. As anyone can guess, I have some thoughts on all of this.

NOTHING NEW!! While I suspect Gatorade wants the focus on the seemingly more hydrating formula, we want something new. I get it, watermelon and sea salt, OK. But that doesn’t change the fact that these are recycled flavor components that were only slightly changed to warrant a new product. I’m tired of the flavor laziness. Aside from the fact that the flavors aren’t different, this Gatorade does have a bit of a (for lack of a better word) thicker consistency. It’s not yogurt or smoothie thick, and is maybe barely detectable, but I noticed. It’s still a lighter liquid, but feels noticeably different in the mouth than other Gatorades. This wasn’t a deterrent for me, but I guess it could be for other people.

As for the hydration factor, I do think this Gatorade is slightly more hydrating. I didn’t notice a change in my endurance or performance while I did my normal athletic workouts (laundry), but I do suffer from dehydration as part of a lifelong disorder. I noticed a difference. All-in-all, whether or not I recommend this depends on why you’re looking to buy it. If it’s for the flavors alone, I described them above. If you want to spend money on a newer iteration of flavors you’ve already tried, go for it. If you’re looking for a more hydrating Gatorade, go for it. If you’re not looking for either of these things, seriously do not bother. This drink wasn’t BAD, and it did what it claimed to. Nowhere on the bottle does Gatorade imply these flavors are new. We just have grown to expect that. I’m disappointed in their lack of imagination, but not disappointed in what the beverage claimed to be (and was). Obviously, Gatorade popularized the sports drink and they can do what they want to, but I wish they had done more with this.

In a twisted turn of fate, although I wasn’t impressed I have to score this at 10/10. It did what it claimed to do.

product review
Like

About the Creator

Alyson Lewis

beautiful woman doing beverage reviews and recipes

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.