Feast logo

Fun time with my scout troop

More summertime adventures in the snow

By Lawrence Edward HincheePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
5

When I first joined my scout troop the scoutmaster showed me how to make a really good meal for camping. After I was shown how to make it, that would be by favorite meal to make, but I would add a few variations to it. He showed me how to make what he called a foil dinner. It was a real simple recipe to make.

To make a foil dinner you need the following items:

Aluminum Foil

one quarter pound of hamburger flattened

one half of a potato thinly sliced

carrot shavings, thinly shaved

onion thinly sliced about three slices

salt and pepper to taste have salt and pepper with you for when you go to eat this meal as the flavor will have cooked out

Now I added these items as extras: Bacon wrapped around the hamburger with about four slices.

cheese American, two slices.

After you have all of these ingredients in the aluminum foil, you put it next to the campfire or in the charcoal briquettes and cook until done on both sides.

Now my scout master also taught me a desert to go with this meal that is also delicious. It is also really simple to fix and quick to cook.

You take one piece of aluminum foil

One medium sized green apple

Remove the core and set to the side

Rub butter on the outside of the apple and put it inside the apple

Sprinkle brown sugar and cinnamon on the outside and inside of the apple to taste

Replace the core into the center of the apple

Place the apple next to the fire or charcoal briquettes, be careful not to burn your apple. Your apple should be done in about ten to fifteen minutes. Make sure you rotate your apple.

When your apple is done, remove from fire or charcoal and let cool for five minutes.

I usually had the boys bring these ingredients to a special meeting on a Wednesday before we went camping. I would have the boys take the meat meals home and freeze them until Friday morning. I would have them leave the apples refrigerated until time to leave.

As with anything, I had boys who couldn't afford to do this, so I always made extras for them, but they would help me make their own meals. I would take their meals home with me and do the same thing I did with my meal and my son's meals.

When I first introduced these meals to my Webelos den they thought I had lost my mind. My son was like dad the rest of the boy's think you are nuts. The first camping trip I took the boys on was cold and snowing. I had them in a gp medium tent. I and two wood stoves. We went camping in the Colorado Mountains and it was the time of year in which snow was still possible.

We cooked our meals in an open fire and the boys scarfed down their food. They really enjoyed their desert. I threw in an extra surprise for the boys and that was I took a bag of red hots, put them in boiling water. They dissolved down to a liquid form and the boys drank that to keep warm. I also made hot Jell-O for them. They also drank that down, anything to warm their little bellies.

These meals became a campout favorite of my troop no matter what time of year we went camping. Some parents even asked me for the recipe because their sons were asking them to make the meal at home. I told the parents to make sure they used the charcoal grill for best results.

recipe
5

About the Creator

Lawrence Edward Hinchee

I am a new author. I wrote my memoir Silent Cries and it is available on Amazon.com. I am new to writing and most of my writing has been for academia. I possess an MBA from Regis University in Denver, CO. I reside in Roanoke, VA.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • C. H. Richard2 years ago

    So I want to try the apple recipe. It sounds delicious!

  • Alex Hawksworth2 years ago

    The apple desert sounds amazing!

  • Thank you for sharing. My mom knew the aluminum cooking over an open fire trick. She had us make our own with a variety of ingredients and we would take that to the beach when we spent the day in the summer💕 Good memories 😊

  • Oooo I'd loved to try out the apple dessert!

  • Bri Craig2 years ago

    Yum!!! Love this!

  • CM Stratford2 years ago

    I'm going to have to try the apple thing next time we go camping!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    well done. Those foil pack sounds good. so do the apples.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.