Feast logo

From My Kitchen To Yakutia, Russia: A Virtual Culinary Adventure I Took In January-February 2021

A poem and a recipe of one of my favourite Yakut delicacies: Kuerchekh (I made the sugar free version, not the traditional one which is made with granulated sugar)

By Talia DevoraPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
6
Photo from www.wikipedia.com: A picture of Blueberry Kuerchekh in preparation

Creamy, soft, scrumptious,

comforting and delightful

like sweetened fluff.

Dressed up with tart and dark-as-indigo blueberries

juicy, yummy and lipstick red strawberries

or sour, fuzzy and ruby red raspberries

By Mae Mu on Unsplash

In a giant glass bowl

sitting silently on the dinner table;

a delicacy to cherish

in Far East Russia.

Frozen as icicles

or thick like custard;

eat it and savour it like

your favourite ice cream sundae!

By Bruna Branco on Unsplash

Although I'm not Yakutian or have any Yakutian genes, I value the culture, cuisine and language of the Yakut people.

In the winter of 2021, I experienced a couple of outbreaks in the residence I reside in. As a result of these traumatic events that occurred in the building, residents including myself were forbidden to leave our apartments except to do laundry, take out the garbage and pick up parcels from the lobby. As the outbreak progressed, we were not allowed to even do laundry, take out the garbade or pick up parcels. If we needed to take out the garbage or pick up parcels, a residential staff, security guard or maintenance personnel had to assist us until it was declared over. Since we were "locked up like caged dogs and cats" in our apartments, we were encouraged to find things to do to occupy ourselves at home. Asides from practicing my typical hobbies and completing academic and household tasks, I watched a compilation of YouTube videos that spoke about Yakutian culture and cuisine. LifeinYakutia's YouTube channel is a fantastic resource for those of you who are intested in exploring both the cuisine and culture of the indigenous Sakha people of Russia. She'll teach you lots of cool things!

One winter night during the outbreak, I was bored and had a hard time finding something to occupy my time. I didn't want to read or do anything except binge watch YouTube videos. However, I wanted to learn something I haven't learned about, so I wanted to learn more about the Sakha cuisine. I was craving ice cream one evening when I discovered one of LifeinYakutia's YouTube videos on how to make Kuerchekh (a traditional Sakha dessert that's made with whipped cream, sugar and berries). Due to personal health concerns, I refuse to keep granulated sugar in the house, except when I need to make something for a party or a friend. As I was watching the video, I realized I could make Kuerchekh without the sugar, since I have both whipping cream and assorted berries in the house.

After watching the video, I decided that I was going to concoct the sugar-free version of Kuerchekh one weekend. I made sugar-free Kuerchekh with blackberries, blueberries, whipping cream, monk fruit sweetener and vanilla essence. It tasted super yummy and it was the perfect guilt-free treat to indulge in during an outbreak. Typically, the Sakha people eat their Kuerchekh with fry bread, but I decided to omit that part. I don't eat bread or fried food as often, plus I didn't have the ingredients to make the fry bread. I ate it with a spoon in one of my favourite dessert mugs instead. Sometimes I ate it for breakfast, but would primarily have it for an afternoon snack or dessert.

As much as I wanted to attempt making Ton Kuerchekh (frozen whipped cream with fruits and sugar), my freezer didn't have enough room to store it. As a result, I just made the Kuerchekh that I could just stuff in the fridge.

Try watching this splendid YouTube video on how to make the real Kuerchekh!

Second, here's a fantastic YouTube video on how to make Ton Kuerchekh (frozen whipped cream)!

Just as much as I enjoyed watching these two tutorials on how to make both Ton Kuerchekh and Kuerchekh, I enjoyed concocting my own version of Kuerchekh and eating it at home. I really hope you find some time to make either Ton Kuerchekh, Kuerchekh or both of these versions of Kuerchekh at home. It's delicious and would also attract kids. Since Kuerchekh is so simple to make, you can make it on your own or with your children all-year round!

The native Sakha people use a traditional wooden ytyk, which is a kitchen tool used for whipping the cream. Since I didn't have an ytyk or a hand mixer, I used an electric mixer. Please feel free to use a hand mixer if you have one, but it will take longer than the electric mixer. An ytyk is pretty challenging to find in Canada or in any other westernized countries.

If you eat sugar, feel free to follow the recipe used in the tutorials. If you either don't eat sugar or are trying to reduce your sugar intake, please read and share this recipe of the "healthified" version of Kuerchekh.

Recipe for Sugar-Free Kuerchekh

1 carton of heavy whipping cream

4-6 tablespoons of low carb sweetener of your choice

1-2 cups of your favourite berries (e.g. raspberries, lingonberries, cranberries, strawberries, blueberries, blackberries, etc.)

1/8 tsp of vanilla extract (optional, but encouraged for flavour and aroma)

Low-carb bread or any type of bread (optional)

Directions

1. In a large mixing bowl, pour the whipping cream.

2. Whip the cream for at least 1-2 minutes on medium-high speed.

3. Stop whipping the cream once the two minute period is up. Combine the sweetener, berries and optional vanilla extract.

4. Use a mixing spoon and stir until all the remaining ingredients are combined.

5. Store it in the fridge for at least 5-10 minutes prior to serving. You can either put it in a container or leave it in the bowl you used to make it. If you want to eat it immediately, you can put some in a mug or small bowl for you to enjoy with or without bread for a snack, dessert or even breakfast!

Thank you so much for taking the time to read my recipe and poem. I loved making Kuerchekh just as much as I enjoyed putting this poem and recipe together. I hope you felt the same way I do. If you enjoyed reading this recipe with a cute poem, please give it a ❤️, share it with others and don't hesitate to send me a tip to show your appreciation, support and interest in my Vocal poems, stories and articles. To read and find more of my Vocal poems, stories and articles, please subscribe to me and visit my public profile at any time. Feel free to connect and follow me on Instagram.

I hope you enjoy making and eating Kuerchekh just as much as I did in the winter!

Minnigestik ahaang (Bon appetit in Sakha)

IG Account: @naturalbibliophile22

LifeinYakutia's YouTube channel:

By ilya kazakov on Unsplash

*This is part of the Vocal Cooks Collaborate project!

recipe
6

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Bri Craig2 years ago

    Wow that Kuerchekh sound like it would be divine!!!

  • It's so interesting learning about the culture of the Sakha people and your poem at the beginning was lovely. Thank you so much for sharing the recipe!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.