Feast logo

From Cocktails to Dreams

A Wild Ride Behind The Bar

By Jennifer Lancaster @jenergy17Published 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 3 min read
Like
From Cocktails to Dreams
Photo by Daniel Lee on Unsplash

Day 6/366 days of writing and publishing articles in 2024.

I wanted to bartend. I kept imagining what it would be like. The movie "Cocktail" came out when I was in 8th grade, and I wanted to have Tom Cruise's life. I became a bit obsessed with wanting to bartend. I wanted to live in exotic places and make money. I kept that idea in the back of my mind and never let go of it.

Just before my 18th birthday, I was looking up bartending schools in the phone book and calling them to get info. I found one in College Park called Maryland Bartending Academy. I remember dialing. "Hello?" someone said. "Hi," I replied, "How old do you have to be to bartend?" "18 years old," the person said. "Can you tell me a little bit about your program?" I asked. "Yeah, it's two weeks long. It's Monday through Friday from 6-10pm. We have a bar here, and you learn cocktails. You have a practical where you have to make so many drinks in under a certain amount of minutes, and we have a written test," they said. "What is the cost?" I asked. "$440." This was 1993. I was a senior in high school.

I asked the guy, "So my 18th birthday falls on a Monday, May 9th. Could I start on my birthday?" "You sure can," he replied. I went to my mother and my father. "Hey! I want to go to bartending school. It's $440, and you have to be 18. I can start on my 18th birthday. Can I have that for my birthday?" No one knew then how far that $440 would take me. It went way beyond the restaurant business for 29 years.

I got to work for James Beard Award-winning chefs. I got to tend bar at the Nike convention in Hawaii, and Laird Hamilton was the guest speaker at that event. I got to meet Anthony Bourdain. I got to work events that I had to sign waivers for, that I wouldn't say where I was, for extremely famous wealthy exclusive events in Hawaii when I designed cocktails for people and their families for their private dinners in their homes. Big names. I got to work at a Forbes-rated hotel and design their cocktail menu. That restaurant was written up in Robb Report as the French Laundry of the East Coast when it was still open. I got to have conversations with billionaires sitting at my bar. Not millionaires, billionaires. I got to compete in mixology competitions. I got to eat things that people never dare to eat. Spider crabs. Puffer fish. Yep. I worked for a Japanese chef who was certified to cook puffer fish. And I ate it. I got to polish real Baccarat crystal glasses. I got to see and experience things that only seem possible in movies. I got to hear my boss tell the story of the night Carlos Santana dined at our restaurant. I got to make a specialty drink for Cal Ripken that I created just for him and talk to him for an hour and a half one night.

I worked in Dewey Beach at one of the busiest bars. I worked in the Caribbean and Hawaii. I saw firework displays that cost six figures for a private event. As I sit here writing this, it's almost shocking how far that $440 went. I graduated from bartending school before I graduated from high school. I wanted to be back there behind the bar. I thought it would give me something. And it did. For a lot of years. And then, one day, I didn't feel it anymore. But boy, what a wild ride it was.

More on this in some future pieces.

If you found this piece interesting, please consider leaving a 💜 or even a tip. Your support means a lot to me as a writer! You can also read more of my work here. My goal is to publish one a day during 2024! And don’t forget to take care of your bartender.

restaurants
Like

About the Creator

Jennifer Lancaster @jenergy17

Multidimensional Creative-preneur

Life Coach, Personal Trainer, Artist, Writer. Formerly in restaurant business for 3 decades. Soul expression is my ❤️ language. Spirituality,music, art, food and creativity fuel my life. IG @jenergy17

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.