Feast logo

For Chocolate Fans Only

You better sit for these cookies.

By Alyssa RoselloPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
3

Let me tell you a quick story about how these cookies came to be.

I remember the exact moment and time when I made these for the first time. It was New Year's Eve, December 2012. I was heading to a friends house for a chill night to ring in 2013. Like any other time I go somewhere, I wanted to make something to bring. It had to be easy and not so time consuming. I wanted something that tasted great in a minimal amount of time. Cookies or brownies seemed like the inly obvious choice. However as many of us know, cookie dough needs to rest before getting baked. Enter…chocolate brownie cookies. Zero chill time, 100% satisfaction.

I found some recipes online for flourless chocolate cookies. It was a "day of" thing so I could only use what I had in my kitchen. The cookies were super adaptable and I figured some substitutions and how I could get these done. It was a glorious moment. The smell in your kitchen doesn't hurt either.

At the time I added a mix of white and semi-sweet chocolate but the past few times I've made these, I just stuck to semi-sweet. Any chocolate is fair game though.

Anyway, back to the story. I brought these to my friends and by the time the night was over, there was none left. I actually made them again a couple of days later because I just had to have more. I continued to make them, bringing them to college and sharing with more and more people. My friends couldn't get enough. They soon dubbed them, "PMS cookies"...and for good reason.

Often times, heavily chocolate desserts will feel so rich and thick that one or two bites will do just fine. But these? No. I can eat 4 in a row and feel fine. Perhaps the lack of flour is why.

I consider these a quarantine must have because of the simplicity, ease and satisfaction. I call for coconut oil but butter will do just the same. No flour? Great, because there's apparently a flour shortage right now. The chocolate chips can be white, dark, milk, etc. No chocolate chips? Substitute for nuts or just leave them out entirely. You'll still get your fix.

I can only imagine how these would taste with some ice cream or dunked deeply in a glass of milk.

The beauty is that extras (if you have any) can also be frozen. Store in an air-tight container and let come to room temperature before eating.

I really hope you make these cookies and discover the joy that these bring. After all, chocolate is scientifically proven to improve your mood.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup softened coconut oil (or unsalted butter)
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup white granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg, room temperature
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 cup semi sweet chocolate chips

Directions

Preheat oven to 350°F and line a sheet tray with parchment paper. Set aside.

In a large bowl mix together the coconut oil and sugars until well combined. This whole process can and should be done by hand. Add the egg and vanilla and mix until smooth. Add the baking soda, salt and cocoa powder to the bowl and continue mixing until everything is well combined. Fold in the chocolate chips.

Spoon dough and form into balls no bigger than the size of a golf ball. Place on tray, no need to press them down. Bake for 14 minutes until set. Let cool on baking sheet for 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

recipe
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.