Feast logo

Food Orgasm

Gluten Free Food that actually doesn't suck...

By Drama Kueen Published 3 years ago 7 min read
Like
Picture taken from website

Eating out is a scary thing for me, I often have a million and one questions going through my head. I have Celiac Disease, which means that my body is intolerant to gluten, rye, oats and barley. This disease makes it very difficult to eat out and feel safe. Eating out as a person with Celiac Disease can be challenging.

Here are some things that I must consider while eating out:

• Is the staff familiar with Gluten?

• Are there Cross-Contamination Risks?

• Will I like the texture and taste of the food?

• Will the food agree with my stomach?

• Is the food truly Gluten Free?

• Are the condiments and sauces Gluten Free?

• Will the server remember to tell the cook that I have Celiac Disease?

Finding dedicated Gluten Free restaurants that provide tasty treats can sometimes be a challenge. Gluten Free items are often double and sometimes triple the cost of non-gluten free items. Being experimental with Gluten Free foods can be expensive. This is why I like to find a couple of places that have excellent Gluten Free cuisine and support them.

While living in my hometown, I knew the majority of the local Gluten Free places that were within 35 miles from me. I even travelled outside of my city to rank Gluten Free restaurants with my vlog, Midwest Gluten Free Diva. It was important for me to find quality Gluten Free food and I wanted to share my experiences and feedback with others.

I moved to Atlanta, Georgia in the summer of 2019. I had somewhat of an advantage on the hottest Gluten Free spots, because my sister was a resident and researched a lot of restaurants prior to me moving. Four months before my big move, I visited ATL, and my sister took me to a local Gluten Free spot that had rave reviews.

The place was amazing and is still one of my top three favorite Gluten Free places in the area. Prior to the Pandemic I would order food to go a couple times a month from this restaurant. I would always order two meals as one was never enough. My order would consist of : Gluten Free fried shrimp, (2) orders of fried okra, a salad, Gluten Free Chicken Fingers, Sweet Potato Fries and a slice of Birthday Cake Cheesecake.

I love every item that I have ever ordered, however the dessert is what prompted this story. One day I was really frustrated, as it was my third attempt at ordering this Birthday Cake Cheesecake and they were out AGAIN. My investigative nature prompted me to ask more questions. I talked to the owner and told her I was upset because I had been craving this cake and they were out during my last three visits.

After profusely apologizing, she told me that they don’t make the desserts in house and they get them from a local baker. She told me the name of the business was Heavenly Cakes by Pharez. She also informed me that he had items at the local Whole Foods as well. I immediately left and headed to Whole Foods and didn’t find the Birthday Cake Cheesecake, but I found a few other items that I purchased.

DEMO Day at Whole Foods
Items sold in Whole Foods

I was diagnosed with Celiac disease 11 years ago, which means that I had not had a good piece of Gluten Free Cheesecake in 11 years. I would purchase some in the frozen food section of Sprouts or Whole Foods, but they were nothing compared to the Birthday Cake Cheesecake. Some may not understand my desire to get this Birthday Cake Cheesecake. On my next visit to the restaurant, they had 3 pieces left, and I purchased all 3 of them. Yes, I was and still am obsessed!

I decided to Cyber stalk the owner and found his Facebook page Heavenly Cakes by Pharez. I was immediately impressed with his About Section which read, “Here at Heavenly Cakes we are passionate about our products and are dedicated to providing quality at every step. From the ingredients we use, to the service you will receive, quality is our guarantee. We pay close attention to design, flavor, the science of baking, and therefore create a unique and personal experience for each of our clients.”

I also was impressed with his ability to think outside of the box. He does not have a traditional brick and mortar restaurant. He works out of a commercial kitchen facility that is designed to accommodate food producers of any size or niche. You place an order on his website at https://www.heavenlycakesbakery.com/ and you will receive an email once your order is ready to be picked up or your order can be shipped Nationwide.

I love the way the business is setup, as the owner provides you Gluten Free items that you can eat at your leisure or items that are already prepared and are ready to eat. As a business owner, I tend to gravitate towards businesses that have creative business and/or marketing models and setups. I love the fact that he offers his items multiple ways:

1. Local Partnerships with restaurants

2. Whole Foods in GA, AL, MS, NC, SC and TN

3. His menu (https://www.heavenlycakesbakery.com/menu)

4. His online store (https://www.heavenlycakesbakery.com/shop) (LOCATED IN PREP ATL)

Here is a little background on Pharez and his business from his website:

“Heavenly Cakes by Pharez is a manufacturer of gourmet gluten free baked goods that you won't believe are gluten free. All of Heavenly Cake’s products are made using Heavenly Cake’s signature gluten free flour. Heavenly Cakes provides "made to order" desserts for retail clients, and serves as a wholesale vendor for restaurants, hotels, and event centers. Pharez Roberson, the owner of Heavenly Cakes is a Pastry Chef, artist, and designer who brings his knowledge and expertise together to develop gourmet desserts. As business has grown solely on word of mouth and the extraordinary products it produces, Heavenly Cakes continues to evolve to meet the needs of clients.”

My first order from his website was on October 6, 2020. My order included the following items: Belgium Waffles, Chicken Pot Pies and Cinnamon Rolls.

My first order
My first order
My first order

I was so impressed I made a video about the Chicken Pot Pies.

When you pick up your order, I like the fact that the owner Pharez Roberson personally brings your items to your car and thanks you for your business. That is a sign of personalized and exceptional customer service. Good food and good customer service are definitely a recipe for success.

After my first visit to pick up my order from PREP Atlanta, I was intrigued with the PREP model, so I researched more. For those who are not familiar with PREP or kitchen workspaces, I will share what I learned. I learned that PREP is the country’s largest provider of dedicated commercial kitchen spaces. They offer Shared Kitchen and Private Commercial Kitchen facilities. It gives Culinary Entrepreneurs a different avenue to provide their tasty delights than a traditional brick and mortar restaurant.

I was so excited to get home and try my items and rate them for my YouTube channel. When rating Gluten Free Items there are several things that I consider:

• The flavor

• The texture

• Does it make me sick?

• Is it memorable?

Heavenly Cakes by Pharez items are all flavorful and all of his items are beyond memorable. The thing I like most about his items is the texture. Some gluten free flours are heavy or too flaky. His items are just the right texture. In addition to the great flavor and texture, his items have never made me sick. I feel safe while eating items prepared in his kitchen, because I don’t have to worry about the potential of cross contamination with items that contain gluten.

Here is how I would rate the items that I have purchased from Heavenly Cakes by Pharez:

1. Birthday Cake Cheesecake: 5 Stars/5 Stars

2. Belgian Buttermilk Waffles: 5 Stars/5 Stars

3. Strawberry Belgian Waffles: 3.5 Stars/5 Stars

4. Cinnamon Rolls: 5 Stars/5 Stars

5. Chicken Pot Pie: 5 Stars/5 Stars

The next time I order I look forward to trying and reviewing the following items:

1. Pepperoni Pizza ($20)

2. Carrot Cupcakes (4 for $18)

3. Springtime Waffles (4 for $11)

4. Caramel Pecan Rolls (4 for $26, 6 for $36 or 12 for $72)

5. Mini Key Lime Pies (6 for $27)

I had to accept this Challenge because I want all people with Celiac Disease, who are Gluten Sensitive or Gluten Intolerant to have the opportunity to indulge in all the goodies that Heavenly Cakes by Pharez offers. If you want food that makes your mouth have an orgasm, I suggest you go to the website and place an order right now. Remember they ship Nationwide, or if you are in the Atlanta, Georgia area you can pickup your order. Act Fast so you can experience Heavenly Cakes by Pharez’s Food Orgasm.

restaurants
Like

About the Creator

Drama Kueen

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.