Feast logo

Elope With Cantaloupe!

The Keto-Friendly Summer Fruit

By Ashley TerrellPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo credit: Good Free Photos

Growing up, cantaloupe was the ideal fruit in the summertime. The round melon fruit with a textured tan-green grind was a favorite pastime. As much as I enjoyed cantaloupe as a kid, I knew there's more to the fruit besides its warm orange color.

Cantaloupe, known as muskmelon, is a member of the Cucurbitaceae family, which is home to honeydew melons, watermelons, and cucumbers to name a few.

Originating in Persia, now grown in central California, the high water content fruit is planted in January and July for harvests in May and early November.

The largest cantaloupe producing is California followed by Arizona, Colorado, Georgia, Indiana, and Texas.

Cantaloupe is beneficial for your skin and cardiovascular system.

There's a variety of vitamins, minerals, and antioxidants to keep my skin glowing, improve my vision, and improve my cardiovascular system.

According to Harvard TH Chan School of Public Health, published studies showed diets filled with fruits and vegetables reduce cardiovascular ailments like stroke, heart disease, and high blood pressure.

Antioxidants are essential for your body to combat free radicals and skin damage.

According to the US Department of Agriculture, cantaloupe has more beta-carotene than mangoes, nectarines, and grapefruit, to name a few.

Beta-carotene is a carotenoid that converts into Vitamin A which is good for healthy eye health. Vitamin C, carotenoids, and zeaxanthin found in cantaloupe cater to positive eye health.

A 2009 published study showed lutein and zeaxanthin found in cantaloupe could protect eyes from age-related macular degeneration. Additionally, Vitamin A promotes healthy maintenance throughout the body including, but not limited to your skin and hair.

Phytonutrients found in cantaloupe works with Vitamin C helps with promoting good immunity. The phytonutrients doubles as anti-inflammatory properties.

A 2010 study suggested people suffering from asthmatic ate cantaloupe saw improvements and reduction in inflammation.

Photo credit: Unsplash

Add cantaloupe to your diet!

To this day, I enjoy cantaloupe. I've enjoyed adding cantaloupe to my various types of salads, my yogurt parfaits, and infused in my sauces and marinades!

I like to pick fresh cantaloupes that are firm with no visual signs of bruising and brown spots. In grocery stores, I look for very yellow-orangish cantaloupes. Deep rich yellow color is a sign of sweet cantaloupe. Usually, the heavier the cantaloupe, it's probably ripe and sweet!

Cantaloupe is a great pick-me-up snack at sports halftime! Electrolytes found in cantaloupe are sodium, potassium, calcium, and magnesium. Antioxidants, like choline, found in cantaloupe play a role in improving cardiovascular health.

I like to prepare sliced or diced cantaloupe for my nieces' sports games instead of orange slices. I've discovered that cantaloupe has the benefit of low acidity, which is great for people suffering from acid reflux, or heartburn.

The keto-friendly fruit is great for diabetics as it's also low-glycemic.

During the summer, I like to grill cantaloupe and enjoy watching the sunset. Warm evenings with my pet child, a glass of wine, and soft jazz completes this ultimate nightcap.

A huge plus for cantaloupe with me is that it's safe to give to kittens and cats! When my cat was a kitten, I used to cut up little pieces for him. Cantaloupe is beneficial for your furry friend's eye health as well!

How do you include cantaloupe in your eating plan?

Sometimes, I like to add fresh diced cantaloupe atop my Stella Bistro Foods Breakfast Starter Harvest Apple oatmeal. Baked pork chops with a grilled cantaloupe are delicious with sauteed asparagus.

I've found cantaloupe is delightful as a sorbet in the summertime!

Do you grow cantaloupes?

Do you prefer growing your own cantaloupe or purchasing organic cantaloupe from the grocery store?

Tip and let's talk!

healthy
Like

About the Creator

Ashley Terrell

Bestselling author. Entrepreneur. Seasonings and spices saved my life. Where sheep and angels share the same color. Newport News, VA. Conqueror and lover of all things Fine Arts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.