Feast logo

Easy Vegan Buffalo Air Fried Egg Rolls

I know, boss mode on, grab your little chef hat

By Chelsea SwiftPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like

Welcome back, welcome back, grab a drink and have a seat...

Today, I am helping you get through that awful workout so we can hit the real gym.....(grabs jim dandy after post workout)

Act like it’s not true. First of all, let's really discuss this for a second...

My gym motto is, if you are not down to hit a hot yoga class, almost die and then grab a prosecco after, we can’t be friends. Like, why do you think I’m here? I'm literally only exercising so I can get what I really want at brunch.

I’m also here to help you break up with any workouts or foods you hate because life is just too short babes.

Diets, over exercising, crying about the fig flatbread you can only make eye contact with makes me actually want to cry for you, so just skip the drama and get on your balance. Mini pep talk on health to help (also find it on my podcast) We know a few things about life, numero uno being that it’s short. We also know you could drink green juice, bike with Lance Armstrong, rub kale on your face every day and you still (slightly morbid comment approaching) don’t get to stay here forever. Mhm. I typed it.

We also know that you have a daily calorie budget and everyday it starts over. Yup. No need to worry because, every day is new and it starts over. The pizza you had last night could even be breakfast if you play your calorie cards right.

It's true. If you spend your calories wisely, you can make all your favorites fit. The key is to spend it on the things you really love, that fill you up and make you feel satisfied. Take it up a notch by exercising every day and now you can even include the "extra" things you love (like prosecco) without the stress. I know, dieting made simple, life made easy, be sure to hit up my podcast after this.

So yea, allow me to introduce you to an easy eggroll recipe you can eat without feeling guilty.

Now, I make jokes about this all the time, but everything I'm about to type is true.

I have no business making Chinese or Japanese cuisine. Like, there's literally no reason for it. Actual GIF of me cooking drops now.

The only thing I knew about the kitchen as a young glad (not a typo, I was young and glad) is if I didn't run fast enough through it, I'd be stuck peeling potatoes instead of skateboarding down the driveway aka conducting the lay down turtle race with my brothers and almost losing my finger. I know one of us definitely got stitches from that game.

I tell you this, mostly because I over-share and I can't stop typing all my feelings when I blog, but I also just wanted to encourage you to try something new, even if you have zero experience.

Anything is possible and I wasn’t even kidding about the potato peeling, I was more interested in being outside in my pink ranger costume then in the kitchen, so trust me, susie homemaker was not part of my path.

It wasn't a skill I wanted to build until I had no choice but to feed myself in college and that's when I realized recipes are literally just easier IKEA directions.

I was like, “Wait? I can re-create all this over priced food from my favorite restaurant?!” and that’s when I basically became obsessed with egg rolls.

I'm not kidding. I became obsessed with japanese and chinese cooking (still am) and now I make these on a regular basis. My latest trick? The air fryer which is basically a healthier microwave for anyone wondering if they should get one, the answer is yes, order it now.

Why? One word: FRIES and also because they should've named it: Calorie Slasher

Sounds like a super hero and it is, the air fryer saves you from frying things in oil and allows you to make the fried foods you like without the guilt or extra calories.

But okay, I get it, you're really here for the recipe and if you're not familiar I'm more like a Snoop Dogg when it comes to narrating. I'm absolutely not going to type out fancy directions for you, I'm just not about that life, it’s like you can keep up with Tequila Chels or you can go home because there's no baby sitting on my watch.

Either way, grab your drinks, try to keep up and again, you are so welcome for your new favorite recipe.

Guys imagine me hosting a cooking class? Stop. Catch me throwing flour randomly to dazzle the crowd is so real. Recipe drops now.

Easy Vegan Buffalo Egg Rolls | Air Fryer Recipe

  • 1 package of nasoya egg roll wraps
  • 1 package of broccoli slaw (coleslaw works too)
  • Buffalo sauce (make your own vegan buffalo sauce or just buy Frank's)

Optional: Edamame, zuchinni, tofu and shredded carrots

Few pro tips: Egg roll wraps need to be wet, the package will tell you to lightly brush the edge with water, throw that out of your kitchen. Get a plate and put water on it so the entire plate is wet and then put a cup of water off to the side to dip your hand in as you roll them. Water, water everyone and not a drop to spare is very real; you will need to soak them to fold them the best. It's the easiest, fastest way to roll them. Trust me. Otherwise, it's like good luck sleep standing because it will take you 5 years to roll 4 eggrolls and you'll never want to make them again. So wet = easier to roll. Another O.G tip, if you cut one wrapper into fourths, you can make wontons or "mini" eggrolls which, I dunno if you've seen a baby eggroll but it's adorable.

Method: Anyways here's what you do: Cook your brocolli slaw (again you can add any chopped veggie you want but you honestly don't need to) cook it down with a little bit of water on medium heat for 10 minutes. Toss this mix in buffalo sauce and follow the rolling instructions on the back of the nasoya egg roll wraps. It's basically like folding an envelope, relax, you've got this.

Once all the egg rolls are rolled. Spray them with coconut oil. (both sides) Set Air Fryer to 400 degrees | Cook For 5 minutes (flip over) Cook For Another 5 minutes (if you want them very crunchy do another 3-4 minutes but becareful they crisp fast)

And that's all she wrote, serve with a side of sweet chilli or yogurt ranch and you just brought the best app to game night. For more daily motivation, healthy advice, wellness tips and more entertainment, check out my podcast! For more recipes, click here!

recipe
Like

About the Creator

Chelsea Swift

Picture Regina George swapping the Burn Book for fashion, wellness, and spiritual growth – hi, that's me! My fashion sense? Vogue-worthy. Catch me crushing it in the author world, consulting, directing like a boss, or blogging up a storm.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.