Feast logo

Dominican Stewed Beans

Three words: U-ma-mi

By Maria Rose Published 3 years ago 3 min read
1

I learned how to make this recipe when I moved to the Dominican Republic 11 years ago with my one and two-year-old daughters. It was my first time on a plane, and I was flying across an ocean. Looking down at the sea from forty thousand feet in the air was surreal, like living inside of a postcard. I’ll never forget the experience that sent shock waves down my comfort zone when I landed. I was bombarded with happy faces hoping to carry my bags for a tip. The taxi driver drove so fast to the hotel; you’d think we were the getaway car. Later that evening, I found myself dining at a beachfront restaurant. I ordered a dish called pollo guisado, with rice and beans on the side. The beans were so good; I remember thinking... who knew? Beans aren’t blah in this country. Oh no, they’re just as delicious as the meat.

I lived in Cabarete, Dominican Republic, for six months. Every day was full of sunbathing, mixed drinks, bachata music, and, more importantly, delicious food. And just about a week before I boarded my plane to go back to Virginia - I asked the restaurant cook to give me the stewed beans recipe. She combined the most simple ingredients to make a dish that tasted like it had been simmering since the day before.

This beans and rice recipe is sure to be the family favorite. I made it for my parents when I got back to the states. After eating dinner, my dad said, “Hey Maria, could you make those beans again?” To which I answered, “Sure, what day?” He said, “Not for me. I need them for my freezer.” The next day I made enough for him to have four more meals. I told my mom I could give her the recipe. But, she said, “If I have the recipe, it won’t taste like magic anymore.” Nonetheless, I’ll give it to you all to share with the people you love—fun fact: this dish is vegan but is sure to be enjoyed by meatatarians.

Ingredients:

1/2 bunch of cilantro

1/2 green bell pepper

1/2 yellow onion

6 garlic cloves

1 small yellow potato

4 pimento olives

2 tablespoons of tomato paste

1 can of pinto beans

1 can full of water after you pour in the pinto beans

2 packets of sazon con achiote

Here we go - dice these up!

1/2 bunch of cilantro

1/2 green bell pepper

1/2 yellow onion

6 garlic cloves

1 small yellow potato - peel it and dice into 2-inch pieces

Throw it all together!

In a saucepan, pour in the pinto beans, fill the can up with water, and add that water to the saucepan. Add 2 packets of sazon con achiote, throw in the diced vegetables, olives, and two tablespoons of tomato paste. Mix well.

Bring the beans to a boil, then cook on medium heat for 45 minutes.

*I recommend cooking the rice while the beans are boiling*

Here is the recipe for how I make my rice that serves up to six people.

3 cups of jasmine rice

6 cups of water

½ tb of Himalayan salt

2 tb unsalted butter

½ cup of chopped cilantro

Juice 3 limes

Bring the rice to a boil with the butter and salt. Once it comes to a boil, immediately turn the heat to low or simmer. Allow the rice to steam for 30 minutes. Toss the rice with the cilantro and lime juice.

All there's left to do now is hold a marriage ceremony between the beans and jasmine rice. Buen provecho!

recipe
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.