Feast logo

Dionysus Food & Wine Bar

A New Wine Bar Concept in South Denver

By Candies LiuPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Dionysus Food & Wine Bar in Greenwood Village, CO restaurant review.

A new wine bar concept is in town! This restaurant in South Denver takes wine tasting to a whole new level. Named after the Greek god of wine and pleasure, Dionysus Food & Wine Bar has over 200 wines from all over the world to choose from and they’ll give you a card for you to choose & pour your own wine. The prices are shown above each wine and you can choose the size of your pour. They range from a $12 glass of wine to more than $50 for a 6 ounce pour. Insert your card and place your glass below the spout of the wine you choose. Press the button next to the size of pour you’d like. Watch your wine glass fill up and the amount is added to your card. At the end of your meal you give it to your server who will then add it to the rest of your tab. It’s a fun and interactive way to try new wines! They also have a full bar and I really enjoyed their Espresso Martini.

Here's what we had:

Escargot En Croute - Burgundy snails, garlic butter, parley, puff pastry. This was really good but I felt like the bread element could have been better. It was really dry and the texture didn't feel like the best to be served with this dish.

Lobster Mac & Cheese - this was a side dish. It was creamy & loaded with lobster. I felt like it could have had more flavor. It just seemed a little bland and it didn't taste like they even salted the water to boil the pasta.

10 oz. Filet Mignon - Rare & topped with Truffle Butter. The steak itself was absolutely delicious, it melted in our mouths. However, the truffle butter did not taste like truffle at all.

Fried Green Pepper Rings - exactly how it is described with powdered sugar. It was peculiar and not a good choice.

Overall, the service was good although it was really slow at times. We did have several rounds of drinks and for what we had, it was a $400 meal including tip. I will say that it is a unique experience, especially for wine enthusiasts.

I'm Candies, and I'm a foodie, recipe creator, and restaurant social media manager. You can follow me on Instagram: @candieseats for more restaurant reviews, recipes, and food adventures! Please let me know if you have any requests as far as restaurant reviews or recipes. We travel often and my greatest joy is sharing my love for food.

Growing up, I was blessed to have amazing homemade food from various cultures. My dad was a renowned chef who owned multiple Chinese restaurants. He was Chinese but born in Korea. He took his recipes with him to his grave but his legacy inspires me everyday to create food that people will remember me by. My grandmother is also an amazing cook, making dumplings and other Chinese classics by hand. Food inspires me to write, cook, travel, and share my passion with others. I am so grateful to be able to share my love of food with the world. This is my first Vocal story and my mission is to create a community that inspires others. Everyone eats and food is what connects people and cultures. It creates a common ground for people to relate to each other. We'll be in New Orleans in February if anyone wants to drop recommendations or have requests for restaurant reviews. I'm always open to sharing the content that resonates best with my audience!

restaurants
Like

About the Creator

Candies Liu

I'm a foodie based out of Colorado who travels & does restaurant reviews, recipe creation, and social media for restaurants. I'm on a few restaurant review platforms, and write about food on a few websites.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.