Feast logo

Dietary Addictions

Favorite Spots to Dine in DC with Restrictions to One's Diet

By Joey ReneePublished 3 years ago 10 min read
Like
Nu Vegan Cafe

If you are as much of a foody as I am or at least if you enjoy the food network then I am certain you are aware of Washington DC’s plethora of fine dining, fast food, and vending truck options. Even if you are from the city, the shear volume of options can be as overwhelming as picking a movie or show from Netflix during an anxiety attack. Throw in any dietary restrictions or allergies that you or your family may have and finding a restaurant or choosing a place to order dinner from becomes internal panic. Luckily, I have done all the panicking for you. As city native and a person that is both allergic to milk and eggs. I have gone through all phases of grief in losing the ability to digest something. I grew up in a household where food was prepared with blood pressure and diabetic restrictions in mind, so I have a bit of insight. Many of us within these household where there are restrictions lies a few family members with no restrictions, so where do their options lie for dining. Again, I have done all the heavy lifting for you. As a native I have dined almost everywhere but that is not much relevant to you in this moment. You want to know where my family can eat if we visit the city tomorrow. This list is relevant to this very moment. All these restaurants are currently open regardless of the pandemic. If you adhere to whatever requirements, such as face masks or other protective equipment or measures you can grab a seat and enjoy. I know that you are wondering So, what makes me an expert? I have indulged on both sides. Although may allergies developed later in life, there were many digestive issues that I dealt with early in life as a child. I did not become aware that I was even allergic to milk or eggs until 2015 while enjoying an entire cheesecake to myself for my birthday, greedy I know but we all have our moments. That was the moment I stopped trying to eat what I wanted and started listening to what my body did not want in it. So, over the past seven years I have been in this city searching for safe, delicious options for my family and me. The first thing I did was perfect my in-home recipes and alternatives to know what great vegan, or non-diary meals taste like. If you can cook this transition is easy peasy. The hard part is taking your family out to celebrate or meeting friends for lunch because sometimes you just want to or must eat out. So, whether you have food allergies, dietary restrictions, or are just trying to eat healthier you may want to save it in your browser or grab a pen to jot down a spot or two to visit the next time you are in DC.

FASTFOOD AND BURGER JOINTS

1) Hip City Veg is a family friendly 100% vegan restaurant. They do not even use honey. Its fast food with cozy vibes. Eating here a few years and trying everything on there menu has not only left me satisfied with the food but the outstanding service received the employee’s they are quite knowledgeable of the menu and give great recommendations. My favorite sandwich is the chicken ranch, and my favorite salad is the Caesar with no chicken alternative. A lot of the beef alternatives they use are egg [lant based so as a person that does not care for the texture of it. I steer clear of them usually, but I did enjoy the steak and cheese. They even have family pack bundles where a family of four can enjoy nuggets, sandwiches, and sweet potato fries with drinks for 50 bucks. They even have great fruit juices, smoothies, and milkshakes. They used to carry cupcakes and cookies but the locations in DC no longer carry them. They have chocolate chip cookies that are okay but are no longer fresh baked. I used to enjoy them quite often. Still one bad cookie aside this is still my top restaurant on quality, price, and atmosphere. The two locations in DC are in Gallery Place and Dupont Circle.

2) Plant Burger is on my list because of the amazing things that these wonderful angels do for the vegan community. These burgers will have you looking at each bite like Noooooooooo! You will be wondering if you are behaving badly by enjoying this meal. The little Bloomies are great if you enjoy union rings or Outback Steakhouses larger Blooming onion. Or if you are a simple burger and fries’ kind of gal, they have seasoned cut fries that are seasoned to perfection dying for some of their special dipping sauce or classic ketchup. If you do choose dessert, they have cookies and ice cream to offer. My pick are the chocolate chip cookies with a chocolate soft serve in a cup. This is just a side note the ice cream tastes like Wendy’s classic frosty so sometimes I just stop in for a large fry and ice cream. The Burgers will run you about 10 dollars, but it will not disappoint.

3) Bus Boys and Poets is not a completely vegan restaurant, but they are amazingly great with dietary options across the board and the vibes are insane. Before covid they would have live shows and poetry sets weekly as well as great energy throughout the restaurant. They have gluten free options, vegan options as well as really good food if you can eat whatever you like you would enjoy your entire experience. Even if you want a cup of coffee while picking up a good read in the bookstore section you will feel as connected as the family across the room enjoying an entire meal with bells and whistles of deserts and starters that leave no hungry man woman or child left unsatisfied. It is a spot you could enjoy as group or as an individual, which is something that sets a restaurant apart in this area, versatile vibes.

PIZZA

1) & Pizza is at the top of my list for the same reason Hip City Veg made the top of my list. It is of really great quality with a price your wallet cannot be mad at. Each pizza no matter how you like it! Unless you add shrimp which they charge three dollars for, the pizza will cost ten dollars apiece. The Drinks are like four dollars but that is what 711 or Walgreens I is for. They have breakfast, dessert, and classic Italian style pizzas. Or you could build one of your heart’s desire. They have Gluten free crust as well as vegan daiya style cheese alternative as well as vegan crumble if you do not fancy meat at all. This is a great thing because if you happen to be in a household with multiple food allergies, have several yourself or simply cannot reach a vote on toppings & Pizza is going to give you what you came for. Full disclosure you must inform them of the allergy, so they do not grab it with the same tongs out the oven, cut your pizza with the same slicer, and change gloves to prepare your food you will be fine.

2) Fuel Pizza is simply great New York style pizza. They have wings and fries as well as beers and vibes. Just like & Pizza They are not a vegan or restricted diet restaurant, but the options are there if you ask for the Daiya cheese. They too have gluten free options for your pizza. Considering everyone’s feelings towards social distancing their outdoor seating options provide much comfort.

3) Pizzoli's Pizzeria is my new crave of Pizza Town. They currently rule my night bites. Post covid they stay open late and offer both restricted and unrestricted options. When I say that it is the sauce for me, I mean this. The pizza sauce is so authentic you will swear that someone’s grandmother is back there making it from scratch with a recipe that has been passed down for generations.

4) Pete’s Pizza of New Haven is a fan favorite of my entire family for quite some time. We have followed this restaurant to three locations from Columbia Heights to Clarendon Virginia back to DC where it is now located in Georgetown. Just off the fact alone that I have chased this restaurant around town should let you know that I ether love the food or Pizza must be my favorite food. It is both of those. Life without pizza is crazy town to me. They too have restricted and non-restricted menu’s but again it is always a thing of great sauce, crust, taste, and quality of toppings. They hit on all categories. The crust is sort of thin style which make it crispy. They use uncured bacon; you can tell in the taste and texture. The peperoni are thin sliced and smoky with a slight kick to them. The sauce is great! You may want to ask for extra cheese, but most restaurants do not put much vegan cheese unless you ask, which is probably due to the higher costs of the alternative. The atmosphere is nice. I prefer to eat there if possible. They have never disappointed us.

SOUL FOOD & GOOD EATS

1) Nu Vegan is my favorite Vegan restaurant. In fact, drop the vegan because they have the best crab cakes I have ever tasted, and I prepare a mean nondairy crab cake with real crab meat and an egg substitute. Nu Vegan still sits mine down. They have a mean set of collard greens steaming, bursting with flavor and many of delicious deli style sides your family will enjoy, from potato salad to Asian noodles, and Mac Salad with a kale mix that will knock your socks off. My favorite kale is the garlic flavor, while it is robust it pairs well with most any side. The lasagna is amazing, and I love the fact that it is not eggplant based to cover the meat flavor. It is just classic meatless lasagna that tastes great! The mac and Cheese will jump out the case and punch you in the face with flavor. Every time I order, I shake my head in disbelief that it is vegan.

2) Dodah's Kitchen is where soul food meets deli delights because they make great sandwiches and salads. I rather enjoy the potato and mac salad a bit more from Dudoh’s the mac and cheese are not at the top of my list. I am not that big a fan of the seasoning on top of it. They have a great vegan breakfast menu and a variety of desserts that will blow your mind.

SNACKS PASTRIES & DESSERTS

1) Sticky Fingers has all kinds of delicious pastries cakes and desserts. They also offer great meals for lunch or conscious catering. They have far mare cakes cookies and sweets. Every time I am in the Columbia Heights area, I grab a few sweets.

2) Captain Cookie is not just a vegan shop in fact! they only have vegan chocolate chip, but they are gluten free, and they have at least three gluten free options outside of the dairy free category. They are perhaps the best cookies in the city.

3) Insomnia Cookie is a cute little shop in Adams Morgan with lots of flavor and I am not just talking vibes. While it is also not a vegan bakery, they too have chocolate chip cookies that are also gluten free. I go there often but again Captain Cookie is currently my captain my captain.

4) Elizabeth’s Bakery is an amazing 100% vegan Bakery and deli located in Alexandria Virginia. They have great sandwiches and donuts that I enjoy as if I were Homer J Simpson himself. A few of my favorites are the Boston Cremes, Salted Caramel, Blueberry Donut Cake, Donut Holes and Classic Glaze. While they too sale cakes and Deliciously large Chocolate Chip cookies. They had me with the Donuts, making it my excellent exception.

list
Like

About the Creator

Joey Renee

WORD ART LIFE

I always say that words imitate art and art imitates life. Writing isn't just a passion its a hobby. Creating is enjoyed as much as a good read or a real thinker of a poem. Poetry is my first love and the pen is my mistress.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.