Feast logo

CRISPY ROASTED CAULIFLOWER

Olive oil. Breadcrumbs. Parmesan. Does it get better than this??

By Ellen SPublished 4 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
1

I count myself fortunate that I grew up with two good cooks for parents. Not only did they know their way around the kitchen, but I credit them for my love of virtually all foods. I always loved my veggies growing up, unlike most kids my age, and it was hard for me to wrap my head around anyone that didn’t appreciate broccoli. My maternal grandmother was always the greatest cook in the family, and I think her influence trickled down to the rest of us for a love of great family cooking.

My father is a lover of food and certainly had a few of his own “signature” dinners he would whip up for us on school nights when my mother was working late.

From his insanely juicy meatloaf topped with marinara and melted sharp cheddar cheese, to his perfectly al dente pasta tossed with sliced Italian sausage, sautéed broccoli, garlic and olive oil, he had a great natural instinct - in fact these are recipes I still recreate for myself on my own dinner table now as an adult.

This cauliflower recipe was one of his greatest side dishes, and a crowd pleaser at every meal. This recipe is so addictively delicious, it can convert even the pickiest of non-veggie eaters.

In fact, before my father retired, I remember him telling me a story about sharing this recipe with one of his teaching colleagues. She made it for her picky husband, and from that point on, he requested cauliflower with every meal!

I had a similar experience with my own boyfriend. When we first met, I quickly discovered he didn’t love vegetables... or so he thought! I’d tell him I’m cooking chicken and mashed potatoes with a side of roasted cauliflower or Brussels sprouts, and his reaction was “.... I don’t know if I like that..”

But once I started roasting them for him, these intimidating veggies quickly became his newfound favorites! To this day, 7 years later, every time I offer to cook him anything he wants for a special occasion such as his birthday, he always requests my roasted Brussels sprouts or this very Parmesan cauliflower as his preferred side dish.

Based on these personal experiences, I’ve formulated a theory that most people that think they don’t like their veggies, just haven’t had them cooked correctly. If your only experience of veggies is canned or boiled to death, I can understand the hesitancy - but cook this delicious crispy cauliflower for even the most die-hard veggie hater, and I can guarantee you they’ll be whistlin’ a very different tune! In fact, they’ll be singing your praises!

CRISPY ROASTED PARMESAN CAULIFLOWER

- 1 large head of cauliflower

- 1/2 C Extra Virgin Olive Oil

- 1/2 C Italian seasoned breadcrumbs

- 1/4 C grated Parmesan or pecorino cheese

- 1 tsp garlic powder

- salt and pepper, to taste

- The juice of half a lemon

1) Preheat the oven to 425 degrees. Cut the cauliflower into bite-sized florets and spread them into a single layer on a sheet tray lined with greased tinfoil.

2) Evenly drizzle the olive oil, breadcrumbs, cheese, garlic powder, salt and pepper over the cauliflower florets and toss with your hands to coat everything well, then spread the florets back out into a single layer.

3) Top with a sprinkle more each of bread crumbs, cheese and drizzle of olive oil, and squeeze the half of a lemon evenly over the tray.

4) Bake the Parmesan cauliflower for about 45 minutes, or until golden brown and fork tender. Remove from the oven halfway through and flip the pieces with a spatula for even browning.

Then enjoy the best cauliflower of your life, a perfect side dish for virtually any dinner!

IF YOU ENJOYED THIS RECIPE, PLEASE ALSO SEARCH FOR MY ULTIMATE FUDGE BROWNIES, PERFECT APPLE PIE, CREAMY CLASSIC QUICHE, AMAZING PALEO QUICHE, CRISPY OVEN-FRIED CHICKEN, CRISPY PARMESAN PORKCHOPS, RESTAURANT-QUALITY BBQ RIBS AT HOME, COPYCAT CHIPOTLE CHICKEN BURRITO BOWLS, and BAKING MILLIONAIRES SHORTBREAD

OR LEAVE A LIKE OR TIP ON YOUR FAVORITE RECIPE! :)

recipe
1

About the Creator

Ellen S

Former opera singer turned executive pastry chef in NYC. Always happy to talk all-things baking, cooking, music and ghost stories 🙃 If you like what you see, a 💜 or a tip would be greatly appreciated!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.