Feast logo

Cravings I Deal With

Yeah, I get cravings, too

By Don Anderson IIPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo by Sneha Chekuri on Unsplash

Not gonna lie, I like food but I don't like food enough to call myself a foodie. However, I do have certain times where I can go for a certain kind of food so I tend to get cravings which is kind of funny to me because I'm a guy and women usually get cravings more when they're pregnant. I'm not saying that guys shouldn't have cravings but it's probably easier to accept when a woman is craving something.

Since I've been back in school, going to university, I haven't had a job since before I started so every time after the quarter is over and I run out of money left over after buying important stuff for classes like books and all that, my sweet tooth and hunger tend to go through the roof some days when I'm not in school so I figured I'd write about it to help me not focus on it too much now.

Right now, I have four packets of cookies to keep me a little busy from not wanting more because there's a lot of food that I can go for. Two packets are the fudge shortbread and the other two are the lemon cream sandwich type. Anyways, the cookies have only helped a little bit so far because since I'm looking forward to the weather getting warmer and summer coming up, I could go for some ice cream like rainbow sherbet and mint chocolate chip specifically. I'm talking those plastic tubs of it that you'd normally get for a birthday party or even a barbecue.

Another thing I've been craving that adds to my sweet tooth is candy because one of my favorite candies is Hot Tamales and during the winter like sometime in December, I bought two 4.5 pound bags of it and it took me a while to finish it but that was okay because I loved that I didn't have to go to Dollar Tree whenever I wanted some. I could also go for some other candy to mix it with the Hot Tamales like jellybeans, Lemonheads, Mike & Ikes, and Skittles. I even like Sour Skittles with them mixed even though it tends to leave stitches on the roof of my mouth so I usually stick with the Sweets and Sours where I can just taste how sour they are.

One of my favorite food is teriyaki and I've been dying to get some teriyaki lately. I honestly don't care where it's from, if I like it, I'll eat it even if it's the teriyaki bowls from Jack in the Box but I usually eat teriyaki from restaurants that are Asian and they sell it. I also love rice because it's all I eat sometimes when the work at school gets too intense so I tend to get creative with what I mix with rice like I'll buy boneless chicken breasts if I go grocery shopping or I'll get some other kind of meat and since I stopped using soy sauce because it's too salty for me, I use teriyaki sauce which just makes it taste even better.

Macaroni and cheese stand as one of my all-time favorite foods. It always has been since I was a kid and I can't help but love it more when the holidays come around and my family makes it because they don't use Kraft. I'm so addicted to that style of making for mac and cheese, I stopped eating Kraft all together when I was a teenager. I still buy some from the store but it's not Kraft, I buy the kind where the noodles and cheese are there already in the bowl so all you have to do is put it in the microwave. That kind is so good to me that it's also another food I eat when work at school is getting too intense, I kind of treat it like it's a backup when I don't have rice.

Lastly, I think it's fair to say that I'm addicted to pizza. I place part of that blame on my parents because there was a time when I was growing up where almost every Friday, we had pizza and we always had Pizza Hut or Papa Murphy's but when we moved to a different city, we ended up getting Pizza Time instead of Pizza Hut but we still stuck with Papa Murphy's. Every once in awhile, we'd eat Papa John's and Little Caesar's, hell, sometimes we'd even Totinos or Red Baron or even Tony's. Now that I live at a place of my own, I eat Domino's and Pizza Hut since where I live has more locally owned pizza places which I've tried one of them, they're pretty good but Domino's is probably where it's at for me because not only do I love their pizza, I also love the sandwiches they make as well. I also tend to eat Totino's a lot since they're easier to get and carry when I walk home but I get Red Baron every once in a while as well.

Now, I know some people think I'm not eating healthy after I named all of the food that I usually eat and want but I can't help it, okay? I'm human. I'm sure you like some unhealthy stuff too but I'm working on it, I'm just going through a process. Anyways, I love the food I normally get because even though it's mostly the same, I can always find a way to mix it up or I'll just get something else. Oh, great, now I'm hungry.

cuisine
Like

About the Creator

Don Anderson II

Movies, memoirs, music lover, graduate of community college, and university

Quiet writer but I'm sure my stories from years ago are still of interest

Tips are welcomed

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.