Feast logo

Cooking With My Southern Grandma

Chicken Salad

By Shalasha DeesePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Cooking With My Southern Grandma
Photo by Gaelle Marcel on Unsplash

Have you ever had a hankering for your Grandma’s food ? I’m lucky to still have both of my Grandmother’s and they will both cook me whatever I ask..I know I’m spoiled. One of my favorite things that my Grandma makes is chicken salad. You can get chicken salad a lot of places but none of them make it like my Grandma does. I called Grandma on the way to her house, and told her I wanted some chicken salad for lunch. We crossed referenced what she already had at home and what was needed. I swung by the grocery store and picked up the items she said we needed. With a handful of bags, knocking on my Grandma door I could see through the window that she was already starting in the kitchen.She dropped her dish towel as I came in, and said “Dropped my dishcloth, a stranger’s coming hungry.” I laughed and said “What,Grandma ?”. She said, “ That's an old saying my Momma used to say when she dropped her dishcloth.” As she began to cook we talked and laughed and I took notes on her chicken salad process.

Chicken Salad

Here are the Ingredients Needed for Grandma’s Southern Chicken Salad :

Split Chicken Breast with bone-in and skin

Duke’s Mayonnaise can substitute for Hellman’s if you have to.

3 boiled eggs

Mt. Olive Sweet Pickles

Celery

Salt, Pepper,and Sugar

Steps

Cover your chicken with cool water, add salt and pepper, and boil until fork tender.

Take Chicken out, let it cool, take chicken off the bone, and remove skin. Cut chicken across the grain. Can also use a chopper until medium fine.

After the chicken has cooled, add 2 tablespoons of the sweet pickles, salt, pepper, and 1 teaspoon of sugar.

Clean your celery by stripping the membranes from the celery and chop into small pieces.

Mix in ½ cup- 3/4 cup of Duke’s Mayo ( it depends on how much Mayo you like, you can always add more as you go).

Dice your boiled eggs and add

Lightly Stir Together

Chill in the refrigerator until ready to eat.

We are using toasted brioche sliced bread today but you can eat with ritz crackers, croissants, or even regular bread. This is a good recipe to personalize for your friends and family. I am adding tomatoes on my sandwich, you can also add lettuce, cheese, or any toppings you like.

I am also making a quick grape salad as a side today.

Clean your grapes

Add a container of whipped cream cheese

Add stevia ( any sugar is ok)

Top with chopped pecans

Chill in the refrigerator until read to eat

Southern Grandma’s dont waste anything so my Grandma used the broth from boiling the chicken to make a pot of chicken and noodles for dinner later. She used a small metal strainer to take out any large pieces until the broth was clear. She added 2 tablespoons of Ann’s chicken base to the broth to give it a richer taste. You can also use a can of chicken broth. Sometimes she may add a can of cream of chicken soup. This will make your broth thicker.You can use elbow macaroni noodles, “Pastry” as we usually have, or egg noodles or even rice. Today she used egg noodles. Cook until your starch is done as directed on the package. Then basically you have two meals saving money and time. If you have leftover broth you can also freeze it and use another time. She also chopped up the leftover celery to save for other recipes.

Let me go eat….

recipe
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.