Feast logo

Chili Cheese Fries

You'll be feeling a burst of flavor with every bite.

By Amanda PaynePublished 2 years ago 4 min read
3
Chili Cheese Fries by Amanda Payne

Chili Cheese Fries are crispy fries with delicious homemade chili and melted cheese drizzled over the top. Yum, yum!

I remember the first time I had chili cheese fries. I bought them from Sonic Drive-In, and I have been hooked ever since. Then the Sonic in our neighborhood closed, so I decided to create my own recipe.

Boy, did I make a bunch of teenagers happy that day!

My kids always loved my chili cheese fries! I think they went through withdrawals if I went a long time without making it. Now, I get to make it for my grandkids.

Chili Cheese Fries Recipe

Chili Ingredients:

  • 1 pound of low-fat ground meat (beef, chicken, turkey, venison, etc...)
  • 1/3 cup of water
  • 3 teaspoons of chili powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon of ground black pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon of white sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon of onion powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon of garlic salt
  • 10 ounces of tomato sauce
  • 1/2 cup of ketchup
  • 1/4 teaspoon of Worcestershire sauce

Other Ingredients:

  • 32 ounces of Kraft Velveeta Cheese Block
  • 8 ounces of milk
  • 32 ounces of Ore-Ida Golden Fries

Getting It Done:

  1. First, make the chili and set it to the side for later. Add the ground meat to a large frying pan set to medium heat. Combine with water until smooth.
  2. Add all of the dry ingredients for the chili and mix well. Add all of the wet ingredients for the chili and mix well. Cook until done and it has the thickness you desire. Set the temperature to the lowest setting, stirring occasionally.
  3. Cube the cheese block into small pieces and place them in a large bowl with the milk. Heat the cheese and milk in the microwave for 90 seconds at a time, stirring well after each time. Do this until the cheese is creamy and pours from a spoon easily.
  4. Preheat your deep fryer or oven and fix the fries according to the directions on the package, placing them on a paper towel-lined plate when done.
  5. When everything is done, put a layer of fries on a plate, a layer of chili, and then top it with a helping of cheese.

Let's eat!

Take a look at my Chili Cheese Fries video on Rumble...

Make sure you stir the hot dog chili every few minutes or so while it is cooking. This will make the chili creamy and smooth.

The chili recipe for the cheese fries is my favorite homemade hotdog chili. Once you try it, you will not want any other chili on your hotdog.

Hot Dog Chili by Amanda Payne

I used ground venison for this recipe, but you can use any ground meat you prefer. It is good with ground beef, chicken, and turkey as well. Whatever you use, make sure it is low in fat, or the chili will be greasy.

If you don't have low-fat meat, use whatever you have on hand, but cook the meat alone first. Then drain the excess grease, add the ingredients for the chili, and let it simmer. It won't be as smooth and creamy, but it will still be delicious.

Some people like to top their Chili Cheese Fries with fresh cut green onions, olives, jalapenos, sour cream, or salsa. Another recipe idea is to use tortilla chips or corn chips instead of fries. Yummy!

You can calculate the nutrition facts for your Chili Cheese Fries at myfitnesspal.com. You can also use an online recipe calculator/divider to get the right ingredients for the amount you want if the yield is too large or too small.

I hope you enjoy the recipe! Sharing is caring. Please share my recipe if you like it. I appreciate your support very much.

Visit my profile if you would like more delicious meals. Check out some of my recent recipes: Nacho Salad, Venison Queso, and Taco Stuffed Taters.

Maybe you have a sweet tooth and need something sweet. Try my No-Bake Oatmeal Candy recipe.

This Chili Cheese Fries recipe was originally published at deerrecipes.online. I am the owner of Deer Recipes. I am in the process of moving all of my recipes to Vocal.Media. Please bear with me during this transfer. I appreciate my readers more than I can express.

Check out my author profile on Vocal.Media if you are looking for more recipes. Please consider subscribing to me, Amanda Payne. It is free! I will be posting many more recipes in the future.

Likes, pledges, and tips are welcomed and appreciated but not necessary. You can also find me on Pinterest and Rumble.

recipe
3

About the Creator

Amanda Payne

An avid beekeeper, crafter, foodie, photographer, and nature girl.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.