Feast logo

Chicken Alfredo Pasta

My 1st Cooking Experience

By Sawmiah UthayakanthanPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

Would you believe that I have never cooked until really recently? Recently meaning like literally last month. And I mean I have never boiled water on the stove or even cooked rice in the rice cooker. Apart from not doing it, I actually didn’t know how! I’m honestly not proud but that’s how it had been.

Before I went on maternity leave I worked full time seven days a week for the past six, years so not having time was my main excuse. Since going on mat leave, cooking was one thing I wanted to learn and finally seven months later I watched a few YouTube videos and attempted making pasta.

It was a success! Living with a lot of experienced cooks in the house, I didn’t except my dish to be wiped clean at the end of the day. I was really proud and all smiles :)

So here’s the recipe I followed off YouTube to make Chicken Alfredo Pasta:

Serving for 6 people:

  • Butter - 2 tbsp
  • Chicken breast, cubed - 1.5lbs
  • Dried oregano - 1/2 tsp
  • Dried basil - 1/2 tsp
  • Salt - 1/2 tsp
  • Pepper - 1/2 tsp
  • Alfredo Sauce:
  • Butter - 2 tbsp
  • Garlic, minced - 4 cloves
  • All purpose flour - 3 tbsp
  • Milk - 480ml (2 cups)
  • Dried oregano - 1/2 tsp
  • Dried basil - 1/2 tsp
  • Shredded Parmesan cheese - 1/2 cup
  • Salt - 1/2 tsp
  • Pepper - 1/2 tsp
  1. Heat the frying pan with 2tbsp of butter
  2. Add 1.5 lbs of cubed chicken breast
  3. Add 1/2 tsp of dried oregano
  4. Add 1/2 tsp of dried basil
  5. Add 1/2 tsp of salt
  6. Add 1/2 tsp of pepper
  7. Stir until chicken is cooked
  8. Transfer the fried chicken onto a plate

How to make the Alfredo Sauce

  1. Heat the frying pan with 2tbsp of butter
  2. Add 4 cloves of minced garlic
  3. Add 3 tbsp if all purpose flour
  4. Add 2 cups of milk
  5. Add 1/2 tsp of dried oregano
  6. Add 1/2 tsp of dried basil
  7. Add 1/2 tsp of salt
  8. Add 1/2 tsp of pepper
  9. Add 1/2 cup of shredded Parmesan cheese
  10. Stir until you get a good sauce consistency

Preparing the pasta:

  1. Mix 455g of cooked penne pasta with the fried chicken
  2. Then add the Alfredo sauce and mix
  3. Add 1/4 cup of shredded Parmesan cheese and 1/4 cup of fresh parsley and mix

This is actually how I made the Chicken Alfredo Pasta and then I had to tweak it up a bit to my liking.

I prepared another batch of the Alfredo sauce without the all purpose flour. The initial batch that I had mixed into the pasta had dried up and didn’t give the pasta a creamy texture (I felt this was because of the all purpose flour). So I topped up the pasta with the additional sauce when serving to give a creamy texture.

My mom being a vegetarian, I made the exact same pasta but instead of chicken I substituted it was mushroom and green pepper.

All turned out well for the first time!

recipe
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.