Feast logo

Carrot Butter

Would you eat it?

By Lindsey TrahanPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

You read correctly. This is a recipe for Carrot butter. This is dedicated to my grandmother; without her I never would have even thought about writing a piece on carrot butter.

While I was looking through this weird old cook book from the 1940’s, I just so happened to find this recipe. As weird as it sounds, I brought it up to someone and they thought it would be good. So now, I intend to share it with the world, a recipe by Meta Given for carrot butter. I’m not sure if it would pique anyone else’s interest, but I observed this recipe as a joke, a gag. If you will be so kind as to notice and appreciate the irony in that statement. I truthfully dread the thought of eating carrot butter, but if you like it so be it. Maybe it only sounds weird to me because I do not enjoy carrots.

First, we need to grab a couple of ingredients, not many, this is a very simple sandwich spread you can make all on your own.

You will need:

One Medium Carrot

One Half Cup of soft butter

One eighth- Teaspoon of Celery Salt

One Fourth Teaspoon of Sugar

One Tablespoon of Mayonnaise

If you like Carrots, you most likely know how to clean them. First you should scrape the carrot clean, and then rinse it off. After that, you will want to take your carrots and either julienne them or you can shred them with a cheese grater, whichever you prefer. You might want to cut them up in a different way, just make sure they are cut into little small pieces.

Then, you are going to take that soft butter (if you are using stick butter, you can leave it out on the counter for a bit to soften it up) and mix the butter with your carrots until everything is covered and smoothed out. Then you can add your seasoning of choice, and your mayonnaise. (seasonings are obviously a preference depending on your household.) You can use something other than celery salt and sugar. This is just what the original recipe called for. Try your best to get creative! Everything in this book is either cooked with mayonnaise or bacon fat, so if there is some other dressing you would prefer to use then go ahead and suit your preferences.

Afterwards, you can take your carrot butter, and spread it on crackers or bread. I am sure if you cut them up differently you can find other ways to use carrot butter. Give it a try, it might be tasty! It is not vegan but if you purchase a can of vegan mayonnaise my vegan friends can also make this at home. It is a healthy alternative compared to some of the other meals that I have found.

I would give you more advice and would probably cook this myself if I liked carrots.

I hope someone enjoys this recipe, tell me what you think and if you would eat it. Is there a variation you would like to make for yourself? Let me know! I would love to see how this recipe could twist and turn into something totally unique and bazaar.

Keep in mind while I’m posting these articles, that some like this one were made in a different time period. I, coming from a southern family find it interesting, yet odd how some of these foods were prepared.

There is also a recipe for a homemade mayonnaise in this book. If you are following my recipes, and would like to see this as well, comment on the post itself and let me know!

recipe
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.