Feast logo

Carrie's Que

Southern Saturdays

By SharonSharpePublished 4 years ago Updated 11 days ago 6 min read
Like
Carrie's Que
Photo by Danny Gallegos on Unsplash

There are memes all over the internet that true grill masters wear a specific type of shoe. It’s a black or brown leather sandal that crisscrosses across the foot. I don’t own a pair, but anyone that has had my BBQ knows that I am a pitmaster in my own right. Even though I don’t don a special pair of shoes, I always perch a hat atop my head. I place a hat firmly on my head like I’m Ash Ketchem preparing for battle. It’s my signature style, but also my way of remembering and connecting with the woman that taught me everything I knew.

The first time I ever placed a piece of meat on the grill was with my aunt Carrie Lou. I still remember it like it was yesterday. The grill was a tiny 20inch portable grill from the Giant Mart, and the protein of choice was chicken. I watched as she poured the charcoal from the bag and into a pillar in the middle, sprayed lighter fluid, and struck the match, tossing it into the pyre with an elegant flick of her wrist. The flames rose, the unmistakable smell of charcoal caressed my nostrils. I will forever associate that smell with Saturday evenings, lazy days spent out on front porches and the hat that she wore pulled down to give herself some shade. Whenever she cooked, there was special care that went into every aspect. The temperature of the grill was always checked with a quick touch of the index and ring finger, the protein was always carefully prepared and seasoned, and the laughter around the grill infused it with love that everyone could taste.

Grilled chicken was the first thing that she taught me to cook. It was leg quarters to be exact. Her rub was simple: salt, pepper, granulated sugar, garlic powder, and onion powder. After mixing the ingredients together sprinkle it liberally on the chicken and let it sit for at least two hours. The most important thing she taught me was once it was on leave it alone. Worrying over the meat will cause it to toughen up and burn. Instead we spent the time between checking talking about the garden she and my mother planted in the backyard. She would watch as my sister and I raced around the yard on our bikes and rode over wooden planks like they were speed bumps.

After an hour, she would raise the lid and the intoxicating aroma that had only filtered on the wind would crash over you like a wave. It was enough to make your mouth instantly water and your mind wonder how long it would be until dinner. We would mop the chicken or spray it depending on how we felt that day, then close it back up to cook.

Once the legs were nearly done she would brush BBQ sauce across the tops and let them go a little while longer. About twenty minutes later she would turn them and do the same, allowing the sauce to caramelize and create the perfect sticky glaze.

Eating meat pulled off the grill moments before isn’t the smartest thing in the world, but a few burned fingers was worth the risk to taste a piece while it was still smoking. Till this day I still remember waiting in anticipation as I watched her pull little pieces away with ease and sneakily give me a few. Tester pieces is what she called them. The truth was that we were both too excited and hungry to wait for the sides to finish.

Pair that BBQ chicken with a glass of ice cold sweet tea and you would be transported to the lazy Saturday afternoons of my childhood. I spent years at her side, cooking everything from whole chickens to the biggest rack of beef ribs you could imagine. Over time the grill changed as well and eventually we even got one with an offset smoker. Although the mechanism changed the process was still the same.

In November of 2015, my teacher, my aunt, my pit master passed away, leaving me to take over the pit for the family. A few months later on a brisk Saturday in February I finally perfected the rub that I had worked on for a year and a half. My friends and college roommates all had the opportunity to be my guinea pigs as I tried to perfect it. However, when it was finally complete and perfect the accomplishment felt hollow. The one person that I wanted to try it was no longer with me. Nevertheless I went out on that Saturday morning. Placed my hat on top of my head and barbequed ribs with the seasoning I now call in her honor. Even though I now have a rub that is the talk of every backyard BBQ the simplicity of Carrie’s Chicken is closest to my heart. I hope you enjoy.

Carrie’s Chicken

1 lb of chicken leg quarters (cleaned and scored)

2 capfuls of white vinegar

BBQ sauce of your choice

Seasoning (I don't really know the measurements)

Granulated sugar

Brown sugar

Salt

Black pepper

Onion powder

Garlic powder

Mop

1 cup of apple juice

½ tbsp of apple cider vinegar

Instructions

1. After cleaning and scoring your chicken, pour two capfuls of white vinegar over the chicken and allow it to set for 15 minutes. This is a perfect time to get your grill fired up. The vinegar helps the chicken soak in the seasonings, or at least that's what she always told me.

2. After 15 minutes, rinse and pat the chicken dry. Liberally sprinkle the seasoning on both sides of the meat.

3. One the grill has reached a temp of 275 degrees place your chicken over indirect heat. Close the lid. Leave it alone. Go hug someone you love.

4. After 30 minutes to an hour mop of spray the chicken with the mop sauce. Close the lid and leave it alone. Go sit on the porch with a cold glass of tea.

5. Mop the chicken every hour if your grill keeps the temperature well, or mop every thirty minutes if the temperature fluctuates and you need to open the grill more. If you open the grill mop the chicken.

6. After about 2 ½ hours your chicken should be done, but ultimately you are looking for an internal temp of 165 degrees. Now get ready because this next part happens quickly.

7. Flip your chicken so that it is skin side down. Brush the tops with BBQ sauce, move the chicken to direct heat. At this point you are essentially broiling. Cook for three minutes.

8. Flip the chicken, brush BBQ sauce on the tops and cook for another three minutes.

9. Pull the chicken off and let rest, or dig in. Whatever your preface may be.

You can serve this chicken alongside a variety of sides. The most important thing is that you share it with people you love, because even after the last piece has been devoured the memories will last a lifetime.

recipe
Like

About the Creator

SharonSharpe

It started with Bloody. He was a six-eyed heart monster that my 2nd grade brain conjured up to delight and terrify my peers. I am a fanfic writer (A03), an aspiring author, and hold an M.A in English.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.