Feast logo

Breakfast Potatoes

Because everything is better when you cook it in bacon grease

By Jessica FreebornPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
10

I am not going to share my life story. I'm going to give you an awesome recipe.

Serves 2-3 people

Ingredients:

  • Bacon grease
  • 1/4 cup of bacon bits
  • 3 medium-sized potatoes
  • 1 small onion
  • 1/2 cup of shredded cheddar cheese

Cooking instructions:

  • Peel potatoes, rinse, and chop into cubes. Allow potatoes to soak in water while you prepare everything else.
  • Dice Onion
  • Grease pan with a generous amount of bacon grease.
  • Cook onions under medium to low heat until they start to brown.
  • Push onions to the edges of the pan. Add more bacon grease as needed and add in potatoes.
  • Cover pan and cook until the potatoes are soft. You can check this by seeing if a cube cuts in half easily with your flipper or with whatever you are using to stir the potatoes.
  • Uncover and stir to allow potatoes to brown slightly. Add in bacon bits.

  • Turn off heat. Add in cheddar cheese and stir until cheese has melted.
  • Enjoy!

Here's a few helpful tips to keep in mind:

  • These potatoes aren't meant to be crispy. Rather, they are meant to be a delicious conglomeration of cheese, bacon, and potato goodness.
  • Speaking from experience, if you cook up your bacon bits first, don't burn them. That's bad.
  • Time is your friend. Keep the potatoes covered and make sure they cook long enough to become soft.
  • Of your breakfast dishes, this one will take the longest to prepare. Plan accordingly and don't start scrambling your eggs at the same time you're starting to cook your onions.
  • There isn't really an exact amount when it comes to the cheddar cheese. Just add until your heart says, "This is good."
  • These potatoes are a family favorite. My family likes to do breakfast for dinner, and if you've already cooked up bacon, this is a great way to use the bacon grease. They are the perfect comfort food on a cold night. With Fall approaching, it felt right to make them again.

    I know no one actually reads the stories attached to these recipes, so I am going to share a bunch of random things about myself for the people who have continued reading this far. Vocal has a minimum 600 word count unless it's poetry.

    A few things about me:

    As a kid, I took art classes. I always thought my artwork was better than everyone else's art. I thought my work was more realistic and less ugly than other people's work. I was a haughty six-year-old.

    I have a story I can only remember in my dreams. It's a story that has been referenced by people in my dreams at least twice. In the dream, I remember the story, but when I wake up, it leaves me.

    I once volunteered to be handcuffed in a room for hour intervals as part of a teen outreach event. It was part of an escape room where the group had to rescue a "hostage" in an hour or less. I added in the personal touch of fake bruises and acted absolutely terrified. Unfortunately, for the shifts I did, none of the groups got to the point of actually finding the key for the handcuffs, so I remained un-rescued.

    I once accidently hit my mom with a wii remote while playing wii sport tennis. She was on the phone and was unable to react. She did a great job continuing the conversation like everything was fine.

    I once slammed a glass door when I was mad. The glass shattered all over the floor, and I had to get stitches in my thumb. It was incredibly embarrassing, because at the time I worked at the hospital that was closest to my house. All the ER staff knew me. Plus, it was finally my night off from work. No fun at all.

    Great. Made the word count. Enjoy the potatoes.

    Thanks for reading. If you liked what you read, consider subscribing, leaving a heart, or giving a tip.

    If you would like to receive regular updates on my work, please email me at [email protected] and ask to be added to my email list.

    recipe
    10

    About the Creator

    Jessica Freeborn

    Passionate writer that is enthusiastic about writing engaging, compelling content. Excels in breaking down complex concepts into simple terms and connecting with readers through sharing stories and personal experience.

    Reader insights

    Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

    How does it work?

    Add your insights

    Comments (1)

    Sign in to comment
    • Sandra Tena Cole11 months ago

      1- this is indeed one of the most perfect ways of making potatoes! 2- thank you for the randomn stories of your life 3- yikes about the handcuffs and the escape room! At least it makes for a great story! 😅❣️

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.