Feast logo

Brain Freeze

A melon matcha freeze

By Alyson LewisPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

OK so this is another freeze and technically not a drink!! Sue me, it’s hot!! I listened to a bunch of songs with 'freeze' and 'ice' in the name while I made this. It isn't required for the recipe, but I listened to "Brain Freeze" by Cousin Stizz a lot. I really try to use produce as it’s in season, and watermelon is one of those beautiful fruits that taste amazing when it’s in season, but once the season is over, it’s really OVER. Have you ever been curious enough to buy watermelon in the grocery store in like, January? Maybe in other regions it’s not as bad, but I live in Ohio. When watermelon season has passed, whatever watermelon we have here from wherever it comes from, tastes awful. It’s just mushy water. It’s something else cosplaying as watermelon. I don’t know. Since we’re having Melon Talk right now, I also want to take time out to praise golden melon. I’d never tried it before this summer, and when I bought it the cashier looked at me very seriously and said “Once you try golden melon, you’ll never want cantaloupe again.” That struck a little fear into my heart. I just started tolerating cantaloupe this past year after trying it in different forms. Now I’m moving on to other melons? This seems so sudden. But I tried it, and I love it. The cashier was right, I don’t want cantaloupe again (DO NOT tell cantaloupe about this). I don’t know how to explain golden melon, but it’s like it doesn’t have that weird aftertaste that cantaloupe has. It’s the little ping in the back of my mouth that’s associated with the dread I felt when I used to see cantaloupe in a fruit salad. The taste was like a pang of terror. I had started to tolerate it, but I didn’t like it or love it. Matcha has that same kind of flavor to me. I’ve been experimenting with matcha in drinks for the past couple of years, and nothing has been a good enough combo to rid my mouth of the bitter (?) taste matcha has. It has lacked a certain smoothness for me. Until now!

If you don’t have matcha powder on hand, that’s normal. It isn’t hard to find, and I’ve seen it in various local grocery stores. Make sure it’s restaurant grade. I got mine on Amazon. It’s a tiny container, but that’s OK. I don’t use matcha on a frequent enough basis to warrant a large quantity. This recipe has a few steps but isn’t difficult by any means. It serves 2.

You will need:

  • 1 cup frozen golden melon
  • 1 cup frozen watermelon
  • 1 teaspoon restaurant grade matcha powder
  • 1 tray of ice
  • water
  • a blender
  • 2 frosted glasses

Separate some golden melon and watermelon from the rind, cut and freeze a cup of each. While the melon is freezing, place the glasses in the freezer as well to frost. Once the melon is frozen, start with the golden melon. Blend in a blender with a little water to get the consistency smooth. Once the consistency is smooth, add a few ice cubes to take it to an icy texture. Then, scoop out and place in the frosted glasses. Put these frosted glasses back in the freezer and continue the other steps. Remove the watermelon from the freezer and blend until smooth. Add a splash of water if you need to get the consistency right. Once the consistency is smooth, separate about ⅔ cup of pureed watermelon from the rest of the watermelon. Take the remaining ⅓ watermelon puree and add a teaspoon of matcha powder. Mix together until completely green. Add a couple cubes of ice and blend until it is an icy consistency. Add the matcha layer to the frosted glasses containing the golden melon and put back in the freezer immediately. Continue working with the ⅔ cup of watermelon we separated earlier. Add some ice until the consistency is right again, and add to the top of the matcha melon layer we just added. Put the glasses back in the freezer, keeping watch for a few minutes. That’s it!! This is very simple and refreshing and the first time I didn’t resent adding matcha to something.

recipe
Like

About the Creator

Alyson Lewis

beautiful woman doing beverage reviews and recipes

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.