Feast logo

Bolognese Recipe

A Homemade Delicacy

By Ashlee FrazierPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
3
The best bolognese recipe

I so wish I could take full credit for this bolognese recipe but it really belongs to Giada De Laurentis, who I have to say is the master of Italian recipes. It’s because she has generations of recipes in her library. Giada uses the most amazing ingredients in her dishes. The way they work together is incredible. You’ll see. If you aren’t a fanatic for any of her shows, make sure to get her cook book. The colorful and flavorful recipes are endless. They’re great recipes for hosting. A great meal is just one part of the hosting equation, the other is decor. Check out my Vocal story on patio design for tips on how to host the perfect summer get-together.

At this point, I make my own adjustments to this recipe so I don’t measure out much. There are some things I enjoy more of and less of so I have adjusted it. For now I’ll share 98% her recipes and the few changes that I have made to it. Now I have my assistant, Marissa, hooked on this recipe. The whole house loves it. I’m truly sharing this bolognese recipe from the bottom of my heart! With all of my recipes, I put major emphasis on the ingredients. Cutting corners or opting for the cheapest is not worth it in the end. Budgets come and go but quality food is forever. Isn’t that how the saying goes? As you’ve heard before, Central Market (or any locally sourced store) is the best way to go. The cheese and pasta are key ingredients to spend the extra $$ on.

Bolognese is an experience. Go grab your ingredients and treat yourself to your favorite wine. Recipes are a work of art so don’t be afraid to spend some time. Cook like the Italians, with love and a belly full of Chianti!

Ingredients

2 tablespoons butter

2 tablespoons olive oil, plus more for serving

1 carrot, peeled and finely chopped

1 stalk celery, finely chopped

1 onion, finely chopped

Kosher salt

10 ounces ground beef chuck

15 ounces ground lamb

1/4 cup tomato paste

2 teaspoon Calabrian chili paste

1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes

1 clove garlic, chopped

2 cup Oat milk

1 cup dry red wine, such as Chianti

1 bay leaf

One 3-inch Parmesan rind

One 28-ounce can whole San Marzano tomatoes

Wooden spoon

How To

1. Cook butter and oil in cast iron skillet. The biggest you have.

2. Add the carrots, celery, onions and 1/2 teaspoon salt. Cook until veggies are soft but not brown. They will simmer in the oil and butter. I’d say 6-8 min.

3. Add meat. Cook until it’s not pink.

4. Stir the tomato paste, chili paste, red pepper flakes and garlic into the meat mixture. Cook the tomato paste, stirring often, about 2 minutes.

5. Add the milk. Bring to a simmer and cook, stirring occasionally, until the milk is almost entirely evaporated, about 20 minutes.

6. Add the wine, bay leaf, Parmesan rind, tomatoes and 1/2 teaspoon salt. Bring to a simmer and reduce the heat to low to just maintain a gentle simmer. Simmer the sauce, stirring occasionally to prevent sticking, 2 hours.

7. Skim the oil from the surface.

8. Serve.

recipe
3

About the Creator

Ashlee Frazier

Best known for my appearance on The Bachelor's 17th season. I now focus on my fashion and accessories brand, ANEA HILL, and lifestyle blog where I share everything fashion, makeup, travel, family, and more. Follow me on Instagram! 🌿

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.