Feast logo

Baking fail

Including a recipe that works for no-bake fudge

By Food Writer - Deanna Martinez-BeyPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
white chocolate chips

The weekends are the best time for me to try out new recipes. So this Saturday morning, before I went to the gym, I decided to try a new recipe that I had brewing in my mind for a couple of weeks. I called it: pumpkin spice fudge, and it was going to be the easiest pumpkin spice fudge recipe you had ever seen!

I mulled the recipe around in my head on and off for two weeks, and the more I thought about it, the more I convinced myself it would work and become my new favorite fudge recipe. I envisioned people reading the article, trying it out, and then leaving comments on my food blog as to how wonderful and easy the recipe was.

Typically, when I make my fudge, I make the no-bake kind. I am all about easy and tasty recipes. Just in case you haven't caught on to that already.

This is how I make my no-bake fudge:

1 bag of chocolate chips, semi-sweet

1 can of sweetened condensed milk

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Add all three ingredients into a 4-cup Pyrex measuring cup and cook in the microwave for 1 minute.

Stir and cook in increments of 30 seconds, stirring between each until everything is all melted together with no lumps.

Pour mixture into a non-stick foil lined 8x8 baking dish and pop it in the fridge to set. SUPER easy and SUPER good!

I concocted this pumpkin spice fudge recipe in my head, following the same directions as above but using the following ingredients:

1 bag of white chocolate chips

1 can of sweetened condensed milk

1/2 cup pumpkin puree

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract

Sometimes when I come up with recipes that I JUST KNOW will work, I publish them right away on my food blog. But, this one, for some reason, I was unsure about and wanted to test it first. It's a good thing I did! It was a complete disaster.

Apparently, there are more semi-sweet chocolate chips in a bag than there are white chocolate chips. And even though I know that white chocolate chips really aren't chocolate at all, I still thought this would work.

The chips did not melt properly. They were all lumpy, and it was a liquid mess. It smelled fantastic, but that did not matter. It would not mix or set, so I labeled it a flop.

Thankfully, this doesn't happen too often. I can't remember the last time I came up with a recipe, and it was a disaster as this one was. Well, we live and learn. What exactly did I learn, you might ask? Let me tell you:

Go with your gut. Chances are, it is correct!

White chocolate chips do not melt as well as semi-sweet chocolate chips.

There are fewer white chocolate chips in a bag than there are dark chocolate chips.

The recipe may have been more likely to work had I used pumpkin pie spice as opposed to pumpkin puree. Adding liquid to melting chocolate is a no-no.

Do some research about ingredients before trying to develop a new recipe.

Test your recipes if you are unsure.

Always shop for ingredients where you get the best prices: just in case you need to throw your food away (you won't feel as bad).

Sometimes taking a shortcut is not the ideal option.

Rather than making a no-bake white fudge recipe, try a cooked fudge recipe instead.

I think this was a great learning experience. Now, to come up with that pumpkin spice fudge recipe that works.

recipe

About the Creator

Food Writer - Deanna Martinez-Bey

I am an author, blogger, foodie / baker, copy editor, photographer, and social media manager. When I am not writing I enjoy running, watching the Food Network, sleeping, coffee, chocolate, and hugs.

You can find my books on Amazon!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Food Writer - Deanna Martinez-BeyWritten by Food Writer - Deanna Martinez-Bey

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.