Feast logo

At Home Roast Beef PoBoy

Its Gravy Baby

By Alexsandra BarentinePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

Made with a side of Avocado Ranch Dressed Salad and a Cocktail. This is a pure favorite to me. I love gravy in any meal and on a sandwich were I can dip it in is a meal goal. New Orleans has helped guide my taste bud to surprisingly simply meals to make and eat. A Roast Beef PoBoy is at the top of my list. It is a great pregame meal or a good meal to have while staying in for a family meal. I went to my local grocery story ( Thank you Food Lion) and got Roasted beef on a 2 setting, the lowest setting. A lot of us are looking for a lighter option than greasy delicious fries so I made a side of salad with a simply Avocado and Ranch “green” dressing that is flavorful with hints of lime. Drinking a bubbly STRONG cocktail always goes well if a hearty sandwich. Four Loko ,the classic, mixed with juice is like the drunk cousin of a mimosa.

INGREDIENTS Drink Pairing Ingredient’s

French Bread Loaf Four Loko Hard Seltzer

McCormick Simply Better Beef Gravy x2 Cranberry Pineapple

McCormick Packet Brown Gravy x2 Whole Grapefruit

Cups of water x4 Hose Cuervo Tequila

Teaspoon of Lawrys Season Salt

Pinch of Salt and Pepper

Cap of liquid Steak Seasoning x2

Teaspoon of Minced Garlic

A halved thinly sliced Yellow Onion

Stocks of Green Onion x3 chopped

Tablespoon of Sour Cream

Tablespoon of Bacon Grease

Teaspoon of Honey if too salty

-My dad has high blood pressure so this can be a meal that he eats once in a blue moon so I try to make it with the least amount of salt as possible-

Starting with the gravy base to be able to marinate the meat in at the end

Mid temper oven heat in Large Saucepan

Pour Beef Gravy in a large saucepan, sprinkle the Brown Gravy packets over gravy then add 4 cups of water

Mix with fork, or whisk, while adding sour cream until at a boil

Add season salt, steak seasoning, salt, pepper, garlic, and bacon grease once at boil

Leave at rolling boil for 7 minutes

Then add chopped green onion and sliced yellow onion

Bring the Temperate down to a medium low to simmer for 15 minutes with lid

Simmer until onions have been cooked down

Layer Roast Beef in deep browned gravy

Let cook for 30 minutes

While meat cooks Prep and make salad dressing and greens salad how you please

INGREDIENTS

Avocado x2

Few cilantro sprigs minced

Half of a Lime chopped

A third of Olive Oil

A half cup of Ranch

A half a cup of water

Put all the ingredients in a blender, I used our magic bullet, and blend until creamy

The Roast Beef will be ready soon so dress your French bread how you like. I sliced the loaf into third and used Dukes Mayonnaise, American cheese, pickles, lettuce, and tomatoes to dress it. I divide the French bread piece into halves and toast the inside on a cast iron pan with butter. Having a crispy inside and a soft outside, of the French bread, is a fantastic way to keep the gravy contained in the breading. Also it helps the cheese melt in the heat of the meat and toasted bread.

Using tongs, place the Roast Beef on the inside of the dressed French bread. Having the gravy dip of the meat is helpful because I usually make a dipping saucer for my gravy, separately. Plate your choice of greens salad (kale, lettuce, or spinach) and drizzle Green Dressing over salad. More goes a long way with me! For your Cocktail, pour the Four Loko in a chilled glass. Add grapefruit, a shot of tequila, and juice to the cup and watch the seltzer dance begin. I added an orange slice for decoration. Also taking this cocktail and throwing it in a blended is an option. Daiquiri's are the bets! I lived in New Orleans a long time and since I have moved to a more Northern state I like to bring back the meals and drinks that take me back good memories. The taste of the city is in this meal for me so please enjoy.

recipe
1

About the Creator

Alexsandra Barentine

Beginner with writing and publishing. I have a great support group to be able to help build a fantastic publish collection.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.