Feast logo

Around the World in the Kitchen

All the flavors of the Earth

By kevin varnerPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

I, like many others, have never had the money to travel. But I love cooking and I love food, it was a cornerstone for family time while I was growing up. I remember late nights of sitting around in the kitchen talking with my siblings and my parents and just have a fantastic time as we all pitched in on whatever meal it was that my dad was coming up with. Because of this I now have a certain level of catharsis while prepping my ingredients for the night, it reminds me of a much simpler time of being a kid.

Growing up in the midwest with a southern father I ate a steady diet of cajun food, hot dishes, and comfort food. Making things like shrimp po’boys and red beans and rice is still my signature, but as I have gotten older I have broadened my horizons with food from all over the world. From a creamy vegetable Thai curry to a spicy barbacoa taco, I am willing to put my skills to the test on anything. When you can’t afford to travel but have an international person’s pallet, those skills come in handy. It allows you to get a taste of all different cultures without having to go through airport security and dig out the old passport.

Some of my favorite dishes to make are curries. The rich blend of spice and marinated meats and vegetables is something that the simple thought of makes my mouth water. There is a ton of different kidneys of curry, but my favorites are Indian curries. Creamy orange Tikka Masala with a side of homemade garlic naan bread is a staple in my house and I make it several times a month. Trust me when I say adding garlic to your rice is also well worth the time it takes to chop up those cloves. Another beauty of curry is that you can make it as spicy or as mild as you like, I like mine to be on the spicier side. Vindaloo is another great option if you have a hankering for red meat because Lamb goes very well with the vindaloo sauce. Thai curry is also worth checking out, but in my experience, it is a little harder to get right.

Chinese dishes have many options to choose from for those with a slightly more sensitive stomach or just feeling something a little milder. Simple fried rice or slightly more complicate sticky honey chicken makes a perfect dinner for when spicy is not an option. I like to branch out and make things with rice noodles or some uncommon ingredients. I suggest making a stop at a local Asian market and just talking to the clerks to see what kinds of things they suggest. They might even give you some tips on how to improve your technique! For example, if you are making fried rice of any kind, it is helpful to cook your rice the night before so it is stickier and holds more flavor when you yo go to cook it. There are hundreds of Asian dishes to choose from and it is worth your time to let your palette explore all of the flavors. But don't forget to wash your rice!

The next stop on our virtual tour of the world is Europe! Between Italy, Greece, Ireland, and Spain there is no shortage of wonderful cuisine to try. A lot of people tend to think of just pasta when they think of Italian food, but there is more than just pasta, there are tons of kinds of bread and meats and wines as well. One of my favorite things to make is creamy Tuscan chicken. A skillet-seared chicken breast with a cream-based sauce with plenty of onion mushroom and tomatoes cooked in. It is an absolute delight to use it as a topping for a freshly baked ciabatta, even better when toasted. All of that paired with your favorite chianti and you are in for a treat of a night.

Another delicious snack from Italy is Pate Tonno, a tuna paste made with vinegar and lemon. When I first heard of this strange concoction I admit, I turned my nose up at it. It was only after some hounding from my partner that I decided to give it a shot. It is similar to your average tuna that you would make a sandwich out of but with LOADS more flavor. I like to put it on a crisp butter cracker or a fresh-baked Italian loaf. It is a perfect snack when you are hungry but don't want to get all of your dishes dirty.

Flying a little further west and we are in Ireland. Typically when people think of fun and exciting cuisine Ireland isn’t one of their first thoughts, if it comes up at all. But au contraire! Shepherds pie for example isn't the most exciting thing, but when it is made properly with the right amount of seasoning and enough care it is one of my favorite comfort foods. Stews made with a Guinness stout as a base are perfect for the colder weather when the leaves start dropping. Throw in a few whole mushrooms and you have a very well-rounded meal.

For the sweet tooth, caramel made with Jameson Irish whiskey is a perfect topping for cheesecakes bread pudding, or any other dessert you can think of. Pasties are a great in-between of sweet and savory, using an extremely lightly sweet pastry dough stuffed with meat potatoes, and veggies and they are to die for. After you stuff yourself on loads of carbs and meat though if you happen to want a drink you can mix yourself up a nice hot chocolate with a little splash of baileys. (Ireland really knows how to make good alcohol what can I say.)

On our last flight, we come back home to North America. Tacos, cheeseburgers, corndogs, nachos, gravy, and deep-fried butter..maybe skip that last one. My point is, North America is home to a wide variety of cultures, so naturally there is a lot of different food. The United States specializes in comfort food, and you have not lived unless you have stuffed yourself at a county (or state) fair. Of course, letting deep-fried foods congeal in your gut while you walk around in the heat isn’t always appreciated, there is still a joy to be had. Some food is even more regional, like the jambalaya of the great bayou after a day on the gulf fishing, or a thin and crispy New York slice. There is a piece of apple pie for everyone.

The world comes in an abundance of flavor, and food makes up a huge part of any culture. The old Cliche of you are what you eat is more true than we believed as kids. In my opinion, food and art are two peas in a pod. And to get to know a culture you need to absorb yourself in their art and the way they live their day to day lives, to me, the best way is to share a meal with them, converse and bask in the lifestyle wherever your proverbial dart lands on the map.

cuisine
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.