Feast logo

Amazing Sweet Potato Beef Bowl Recipe

I didn’t like a lot of these ingredients until I tried this recipe!

By True NorthPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1

The more I get into recipes I think I should state that the amazing one and myself love to cook and experiment, or rather the amazing one does. When we first started dating my culinary spice range was garlic, butter and salt, and my signature dishes was lasagna and stir-fry. The amazing one always loved the challenge of a great, interesting and new meal and I would be very surprised if you could find a spice that he hasn’t used in a dish.

beef bowl

One of our new found relationship challenges that we take on together is to find dishes that blend my sensitive learning palet and quite frankly a sensitive stomach to his variety and skill. The way we like to take on this challenge both for our health and our interest is to every 4 months or so pick a new kind of diet. This isn’t that hard to do because they seem to come up with a new and improved one every day!

The-Paleo-Diet

One of our most recent and favourite diets, or at least one of mine was the Paleo diet. I had just gotten an office job and my love for all things pasta wasn’t going anywhere so this was a great option for my overall health and practice of self-restraint at the time. One of my favourite recipes that I came across during this time in the paleo diet and one I still get cravings for today is the sweet potato beef bowl. That last sentence I think is something that we all strive for in a diet, finding good healthy food that you end up craving the taste.

I love this dish not only for the great flavour but also for how much it surprised me. Now, don’t hate on me too much but I have never really liked sweet potato or cilantro. For some reason, I chose to make a recipe that had both in it, and I ended up loving it! Just goes to show you can surprise yourself!

sweet potato cilatro

If I had to describe this dish for someone know had never had it, what would I say? It is a sweet and tangy, and a little spicy if you like, hearty meal that leaves you feeling full, not stuffed for hours. The sweet potato mixed with the lime and coconut milk is honestly a mouth revelation, and something I really hope you try!

This recipe is inexpensive, serves 4 (but I’m sure someone will want a little more after the first bowl) and only takes 20 mins to prep and cook who doesn’t love that!

beef bowl

Ingredients

Ground Beef Mix

1lbs ground beef

1 medium onion diced

1 bell pepper diced

1 garlic clove ( I like to use 2-3) minced

1 tsp. ground cumin

1 tsp. Paprika

1 tsp. chilli powder (if you like it spicy kick this ingredient up a notch!)

1 tsp. dried oregano

Cooking fat

2 green onions, sliced

Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper

Sweet Potato Mix

2 sweet potatoes, peeled and diced

2 tbsp. olive oil

Juice of half a lime

2 tsp. chilli powder

1/2 tsp. cumin

Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper

Cilantro Sauce ( optional but I think youll like it!)

1/4 cup cilantro, chopped

1/4 cup coconut milk

Juice of 1 lime

1 tsp. chilli powder

Now to put it all together!

Preheat oven to 425 F.

Toss the potatoes on a baking sheet with the olive oil, lime juice, chilli powder, and cumin; season to taste with salt and pepper.

Place in the oven and roast the sweet potatoes 15 to 20 minutes.

Melt cooking fat in a skillet over medium heat.

Cook the onion and garlic 1 to 2 minutes or until soft.

Add the ground beef and cook until no longer pink, about 6 minutes.

Add the bell pepper and cook until soft (3 to 4 minutes).

Add cumin, paprika, chilli powder, and oregano; season to taste with salt and pepper; toss everything until well mixed.

Serve the ground beef mixed with the sweet potatoes; top with green onions and drizzle with cilantro sauce, make sure to give that cilantro sauce a good stir if it has been sitting for a bit before serving, as the coconut milk may separate.

sweet potato

Alright, now I want this dish again! I hope that you will give this recipe a try and if you like it let us know so we can keep more of them coming your way! Maybe even some secret family recipes! :O

recipe
1

About the Creator

True North

Hi there! My name is Gillian and my husband and I have embarked on the journey of a lifetime attempting to set up a sustainable homestead in the True North is Canada!

Also see what we’re up to on Instagram @truenorthlifeblog

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.