Feast logo

A Very Odd Dessert

A Thai Summer Treat

By Leona ValentinePublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

I have always been a fruit lover since my childhood. Pineapples, bananas, cherries, blueberries, apples, tangerines, and mangoes did not last long in my house at the time. However, there was one particular fruit that I struggled with when I was very young. The fruit I am talking about is durian.

Durian fruit

Durian is not a popular choice of fruit for many people. It is the strong fragrance that drives them away - and sometimes the taste. I was one of the many who despised the fruit, and I refused to even go near it whenever my mother brought it home. Yes, the crazy woman was a huge fan of the fruit. I am sure the fact that she was born and raised in Thailand was one of the reasons why. As for me, it did not matter knowing that my relatives and ancestors in Thailand were durian lovers. I was very close-minded about the idea of the fruit touching my tongue. At one point, my mother thought about growing a durian tree in the backyard. I assumed she was joking since that never came to pass. Still, I strongly believed that it was a horrible idea because I was afraid that the tree would scare off our American neighbors.

I remember watching an old episode of Bizarre Foods With Andrew Zimmern on Travel Channel a few years ago. Zimmern referred to the durian as the "forbidden fruit." He was in Thailand, and he expressed how much he hated the taste and the strong smell. Pretty much, he treated the fruit like it was his kryptonite. This was coming from a chef who traveled around the world and tried the most - you guessed it - bizarre foods, and he actually enjoyed many of them. Just like anyone, Zimmern has every right to despise the fruit.

Henry Genthe from Smithsonian Magazine talked a little bit about the smelliest fruit:

"For many in the region, the spiny, football-size fruit with the divinely custardy, yet potently odoriferous, flesh is as much a cultural icon as it is a treasured, eagerly anticipated food."

Years have gone by, and I was slowly developing a strange fondness for the durian fruit. It was as if a magical spell was placed on me. Then, it finally dawned on me. It was not the fruit that I started to fancy. It was how the durian was prepared.

For centuries, durians were eaten as snacks in Thailand and other parts of the world. However, these are not always eaten as snacks. In Thailand, this fruit is very popular to include in desserts.

Every summer, my mom would make Thai Durian Sticky Rice. Yes, I know. The idea of mixing durian and rice together as a dessert sounds abnormal and nauseating. As the saying goes - don't knock it until you try it. June happens to be durian season in Thailand, so it makes complete sense why Thai Durian Sticky Rice has been a popular dessert during the summer for years.

How is Thai Durian Sticky Rice prepared?

Basically, you cook cups of glutinous rice with coconut milk and sugar. Then, you heat up chunks of durian with more coconut milk and more sugar. When that is done, you put the sweet durian on top of the sticky rice. There you have it!

Hot Thai Kitchen did an amazing job explaining how to prepare the durian dessert.

If you are becoming curious about tasting this but large chunks of durian might be a bit too much for you, maybe a smaller consistency of the durian is a good start. Kristy's Corner has an outstanding recipe. Instead of large chunks, the durian is creamy and smooth.

Durian Sticky Rice in Coconut Milk

Durian Sticky Rice in Coconut Milk

Now, I have never been camping before. If I camped with friends in the past and brought this durian dessert, I would probably be sleeping in the woods by myself. I am at a point in my life where I do not even care what my friends think of it. I prefer my future camping trips to be peaceful and solitary anyway. I would consider packing the durian sticky rice in containers and bringing them with me. It would not hurt to eat them for breakfast.

It is easy to cringe at the thought of food you are so used to despising for a long time. I hated durian for many years, and it never crossed my mind that I was going to enjoy it. I know that durian sticky rice does not sound like a tasty treat. Take it from me - this dessert tastes a whole lot better than just the fruit. So, if you are that daring and willing to challenge yourself, go for it.

recipe
Like

About the Creator

Leona Valentine

Hi. I have been writing since I was a kid. After college, I published a poem called "Dark Heaven" in a book titled The Colors of Life. I love writing short stories, poems and more. I enjoy parenting, art, meditation, and martial arts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.