Feast logo

Ban Ban Asian Bistro

My Favorite Local Restaurant

By Leona ValentinePublished 3 years ago 7 min read
1

I prefer a restaurant with different flavors. What I mean by different flavors is a variety of dishes from many countries. I am aware that there are restaurants like that out there, but not many I have come across. When I go to Chinese buffets, there would be the usual Chinese dishes, a few selections of Sushi, and even fewer selections of American food. Sure, I enjoy eating at a Chinese buffet on a Saturday night. However, I get bored with the same dishes I see every single time I dine at one. It has been that way for many years.

I am a huge lover of Asian food. For starters, my mom cooks Thai food all the time. After all, the both of us are originally from Thailand. Of all the delicious Thai dishes I have eaten, Guay Teow (noodle soup) and Pad Krapow Gai (Thai Basil Chicken) are my favorites. I am used to ordering Chinese take-outs like once a month since I was a kid. I have tried different dishes from other Asian countries. I remember when my mother made Sukiyaki a few times when I was little. When I had sushi for the first time, it felt like I turned into Kirsten Dunst’s character in Interview with the Vampire and said, “I want some more.” I will never forget the Malaysian noodle soup one of my mom’s friends made. Unfortunately, I do not recall the name of the soup, but I will say that pineapples were included. So, one can say that I have always been very open-minded when it comes to eating Asian food.

That is where Ban Ban Asian Bistro come in. This place is definitely one of my favorite restaurants in my area. I have been to so many restaurants that serve great Asian food. However, I strongly believe that this place sets apart from many other restaurants. One may wonder why Ban Ban Asian Bistro is different from the other Asian restaurants I have eaten from.

Ban Ban Asian Bistro is located in Abington, Pennsylvania. Other than placing your order to take out, you can dine in (only when there is no pandemic). In addition to that, your food can be delivered to your location – as long as you have a food delivery service like DoorDash, Uber Eats, or Grubhub. Yes, the restaurant is featured in all three. Catering is definitely available. So, if I ever coordinate a special event or party, I will keep them in mind. You can drink alcohol there, but they do not serve them. Therefore, it is BYOB. However, they do have a bar – a Bubble Tea Bar. This place is exceedingly popular to not only the businesses, stores, and even a hospital in the area, but in the surrounding areas as well. I know a few people who would drive about one hour to enjoy the food. I cannot blame them. After all, the food is amazing and the service is great because of the awesome staff - based on my experience.

Asian Entrees and Appetizers

Ban Ban Asian Bistro has a variety of meals and appetizers from different countries. There is the usual Chinese food. Like any other Chinese restaurants, you can find many popular selections like Wonton Soup, General Tso Chicken, Fried Rice, and Lo Mein. There is Korean food like the Kimchi Fried Rice and the Korean Ribs. You can order Japanese food like the Miso Ramen and the Takoyaki. There is also a Vegetarian menu where you can order General Tso’s Tofu, Broccoli with Garlic Sauce, and Sauteed Fried Baby Bok Choy. And last but not least, one cannot forget Thai food like Tom Yum Soup, Pad Thai, and the Thai Red Curry. Just to name a few, I have a list of food that I love and highly recommend below.

Pork Dumpling with Chili Oil

This is my favorite appetizer at Ban Ban Asian Bistro. I have never had Pork Dumpling with Chili Oil before until I started eating at this place. I do not know any other places that have this particular appetizer. The chili oil gives the dumpling a unique taste. In fact, there have been a few times when I use the leftover oil to mix in with white rice.

Chicken Drunken Noodles

This is my favorite noodles at this restaurant. This entrée includes rice noodles – which is extremely popular in southeastern Asia. Also, the noodles are flat and wide. It is stirred fried with a blend of basil, eggs, and vegetables. You can order tofu, shrimp, or beef, but I prefer the chicken.

Thai Basil Salmon

Thai basil has been used in my foods in Thailand. The Thai Basil Salmon is spicy, and you can eat it with either white rice or brown rice. Also, it comes with a side of broccoli.

Mango Salad

This is my personal favorite salad at Ban Ban Asian Bistro. It is hard to find this kind of salad at other restaurants. Like many other Thai foods, it is spicy. The sauce or dressing in the salad is tangy and sweet.

Crab Fried Rice

If you are into seafood but rather not have shrimp, the Crab Fried Rice is a great choice. As far as I can recall, this is the first place I have had this Fried Rice. Adding to the crab meat and rice, there are carrots, onions, broccoli, and eggs.

Shrimp Lo Mein

Obviously, Lo Mein is very popular at Chinese restaurants and buffets. I have had Shrimp Lo Mein in many different places. However, this place has the best one according to my taste buds. I am sure there are other places who can beat this restaurant. I will say that if I ever have a taste for Shrimp Lo Mein, this is the spot.

Sushi

The sushi at this place is fresh and incredible. You can order an entrée of about 18 pieces of sushi. There is also a party platter for four people that includes over 40 pieces. I really enjoy the sushi rolls there. I would have to say that there is close to one hundred options to choose from. I am quite sure that all of them are good, but below is a list of few of my favorite ones.

Red Hot Roll

This roll has spicy tuna, avocado, and jalapeno. I enjoy the hot sauce included in the roll.

Volcano Roll

This one has spicy tuna, tobiko, chive, tempura crumbs, and scallions. Also, I enjoy the hot and eel sauce.

Hawaiian Roll

This roll has mango, avocado, and shrimp tempura. Mango sauce comes with it.

Royal Roll

There is a lot that comes with this roll. It has tuna, salmon, avocado, yellow tail, cucumbers, and crab meat. This roll is fit for a king – in my case, a queen.

Desserts

Even though there is a short menu of desserts, the choices are indeed extremely tasty. They do have Chinese donuts – which are better than the ones you would find at buffets in my opinion. There are two flavors of ice cream, and they are Black Sesame and Lychee. If you want a mochi, you can pick either Red Bean or Green Tea – or maybe both. And finally, I will not forget my personal favorite – the Peanut Butter Marshmallow Spring Rolls. I am sure that this one is Thai.

Drinks

The restaurant has a few kinds of drinks other than the usual beverages like water, soda, coffee, and tea. The Thai Iced Tea is great, by the way. There are different flavors of Green Teas like Strawberry Green Tea and Mango Green Tea. There is a nice selection of smoothies. I really love the Coconut Smoothie, Pineapple Smoothie, and the Strawberry Banana Smoothie. And my go-to drinks, the Bubble Teas. For those who do not know what a Bubble Tea is, it is a milky beverage with tapioca pearls inside. A lot of times, I pick the Thai Milk Bubble Tea and the Coffee Bubble Tea. In addition to that, you can include different toppings in the teas and smoothies like more tapioca pearls, mango popping bubble, aloe vera, and even rainbow jelly.

Final Thoughts

I have been ordering from Ban Ban Asian Bistro for a few years now. As long as I am in the area and the place stays in business, which I am confident that it will for an exceedingly long time, I will continue to order from them. I am not indicating that there is no other restaurant like it. I am sure there are plenty of them out there, but how often will you find one? If you are ever in the area and looking for a fusion of Asian food, this is definitely the place to go. Also, the option of having a flavored Bubble Tea is definitely a bonus.

Reviews on Google

"The sushi was great and the price was just right! I will DEFINITELY be back!!!" - James S.

"The food is AMAZING!! You can pick up or order delivery through door dash or grub hub... They also have great smoothies and bubble tea..." - Greta P.

"Everything was delicious, the Korean fried chicken is to die for. Crab tacos where simple and delicious. The salmon I ordered was cooked perfectly. I ordered a shrimp tempura roll to go, ate it that evening, that was the best shrimp tempura roll I have ever had. It was fresh and tasty. Will definitely be going back. The decor I'd very nice as well." - Michelle C.

"Ban Ban is a great restaurant with excellent staff. Highly recommend." - Joseph K.

"This is the first good Chinese food we have had in years and their Thai food is fantastic too. The veggies are fresh and crisp." - Karen S.

"Yummy food!! Highly recommend visiting during pandemic when you don't feel like cooking. Only takeout at the moment but worth it & only like a 20 min wait. My favorite items on the menu are the Drunken Noodles & the Chinese Donuts for dessert. You're welcome." - Alexus I.

"This spot never disappoints. They serve fresh food for fair prices, there are no long waits even when the spot is full." - Hobert S.

I could add more positive reviews, but you get the picture.

Here is the restaurant’s contact information. So, give this place a try!

Ban Ban Asian Bistro

1533 Old York Road

Abington, PA 19001

215-777-5653

www.banbanabington.com

Ready to order? Click here.

restaurants
1

About the Creator

Leona Valentine

Hi. I have been writing since I was a kid. After college, I published a poem called "Dark Heaven" in a book titled The Colors of Life. I love writing short stories, poems and more. I enjoy parenting, art, meditation, and martial arts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.