Feast logo

A Sample Day of My New Diet

February 16, 2019 Eats

By Kayla W.Published 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

My most recent post detailed why I'm no longer vegan. In it, I discussed the foods that I have started eating, stopped eating, and limited. To follow up that post, I thought that it might be helpful to provide a clearer picture of what I eat in a day. And so, here is an account of a full day of eating.

I woke up around 6:30 and started my day of eating at 7:00. The day before, I meal prepped a batch of oatmeal (pictured above). Basically, in a saucepan, I combined 3/4 cup quick oats, 1/2 tbsp black chia seeds, 1/2 cup riced cauliflower, 1/4 tsp yellow maca powder, a bit of stevia, cinnamon, ginger, and 1 and 1/2 cups of water. I brought that to a boil, before simmering it on low heat, until the oats were thick and creamy. I removed the oats from the heat and mixed in half a scoop of Vega coconut almond protein and greens protein powder, chopped fresh strawberries, and frozen blueberries. Next, I transferred all of that to a serving bowl and added toppings. For toppings, I decided on extra berries, a tablespoon or so of PB & Me powdered almond butter mixed with water, and unsweetened shredded coconut.

After breakfast, I wasn't totally satisfied (something which is usually the case). And so, I ate two Laughing Giraffe Organics chocolate snackaroons which are a great source of healthy fats (10g of fat in two snackaroons).

Once lunchtime rolled around, I was craving pancakes (which is no surprise, as pancakes are my all-time favourite food). I honoured that craving by making my single-serving plantain pancakes. Because I have a post including that recipe, I won't detail the process. That said, for the sake of detailing what I eat in a day, I will tell you that they include a plantain, two eggs, baking powder, stevia, and pink Himalayan salt. For its toppings, I chopped up a banana, mixed a quarter scoop of Vega protein and greens with water, and sprinkled on some hemp hearts.

Aaand again, I wasn't totally satisfied. (Whoops!) This time, because I had already had my Vega protein and greens and hemp hearts out, I ate two rice cakes with those two things as toppings (another quarter scoop with water, and another sprinkling).

Come supper time, I had a hankering for vegetables (lots of them)! I began by eating a large plate of baby spinach, a full diced spartan apple, a small handful of chopped walnuts, and a drizzle of vinaigrette. Then I made romaine lettuce cups because I looooove making lettuce cups! I filled them with a generous helping of the beans and vegetables that I had meal prepped earlier in the week. Included were: Onions, garlic, green cabbage, red cabbage, celery, white mushrooms, turmeric, salt-free Mrs. Dash original, marjoram, black pepper, pink Himalayan salt, and black beans.

With that, I was done eating for the day. This was a fairly typical day for me. As far as observations go, however, I didn't eat as much fat as I tend to. I would guess that I ate just over 40 grams, whereas I like to eat around 55 or 60 grams. Other than that, I felt like I ate a good balance of carbohydrates and protein.

As you can see, after my breakfast and my lunch, I wasn't totally full. That being so, I ate a bit of a snack, in each case. This is something that I oftentimes do. If I'm hungry, I eat. Some people might push their hunger aside and think I'll just eat extra at my next meal. I don't necessarily promote this type of mindset. Sure, if it's half an hour until supper time and I feel a pang of hunger, I'll just wait it out. On the other hand, if it's only 20 or 30 minutes after eating lunch, and I think damn, I'm still hungry, then of course I will honour that hunger. Snacking is totally fine by me.

That concludes a full day of eating for me. Hopefully, it provides you with some sort of insight into my diet, and inspired you in one way or another. I would love to share more posts like this in the future! Until then, eat well and live well.

healthy
Like

About the Creator

Kayla W.

I'm all about breakfast foods, music, movies, and literature that moves me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.