Feast logo

A Healthy Vegetable Pizza You Can Make Yourself

Have control over the next pizza you eat by making it the way you like it.

By Margaret MinnicksPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
3

If you are looking for something great to eat, look no further. Make a pizza yourself and have control over the toppings. When you make a pizza in your own kitchen, you can skip the sodium-laden and processed meats by adding whatever vegetables you like. Your homemade veggie pizza will give you the same or greater satisfaction than the pizzas you have been accustomed to eating.

Buy a Regular Cheese Pizza

You can purchase pizza dough, cheese and tomato sauce for the pizza. However, for convenience and to save a little money, I purchase an already made cheese pizza from Kroger, my favorite grocery store. It costs just $5 for an 8-serving pizza that has six different types of cheeses on a tender and crisp crust that is ready to bake.

(Photo by Margaret Minnicks)

The pizza can be eaten as it is with mozzarella, smoked provolone, fontina, asiago, Parmesan and Romano cheeses, but I like to load my pizza with my own veggie toppings instead of just eating a plain cheese pizza.

My Healthy Toppings

(Photo by Margaret Minnicks)

At the end of last year, I gave up eating processed foods. Therefore, I do not include pepperoni, ham, or other processed toppings. Sometimes I do add a few strips of pre-cooked bacon. I usually add green bell peppers, regular white onions, red onions, mushrooms, and spinach leaves. I love spicy foods. Therefore, I also add hot diced tomatoes. There is no specific order for the toppings to be placed on a pizza. However, the photos below show how I added my own topping on the last cheese pizza I bought.

(Photo by Margaret Minnicks)

In the above photos, bacon is placed on the pizza first. I cut the strips into smaller sizes and pre-cooked them a little before placing them on the pizza. They continued cooking in the oven along with the other toppings.

Next, I placed the mushrooms on the pizza. I used a small can of cooked mushroom slices. I then topped the pizza with strips of cooked green bell peppers. Regular white onions were placed next. Then I spread the red onions on top of the pizza. Finally, I added hot diced tomatoes with habaneros. Sometimes I use diced tomatoes with jalapenos instead.

You can use any vegetables that you like on the pizza you make. Other choices include spinach, broccoli, eggplant, zucchini, squash, different colored bell peppers, artichoke hearts, asparagus, and olives.

Seasonings

(Photo by Margaret Minnicks)

I never eat a slice of pizza the same way. No pizza is delicious until I use different hot spices. I alternate by using crushed red pepper flakes, cayenne pepper or Louisiana Cajun seasoning. Remember the pizza is also topped with hot tomatoes with habaneros. Any of the spices will enhance the pizza even more.

Cooking Instructions

(Photo by Margaret Minnicks)

Preheat your conventional oven to 375°F. Remove the plastic wrap from the store-bought cheese pizza. Place the cardboard circle that is underneath the pizza to put the pizza in the oven. Then remove the cardboard and let the pizza bake directly on the center rack for 15 minutes or until the crust is golden brown.

Things To Consider

Because you have added so many toppings, the pizza is going to be much heavier than the pizzas you get from most pizzerias. You will not be able to hold a slice in your hand to eat. Since that is the case, eat the first part of a slice with a knife and fork the way you eat lasagna. When you get toward the back of the slice, you will then be able to pick up the remainder of the slice and eat it as you eat any other pizza.

If you are making the pizza for your family, don't go crazy with the hot ingredients and hot spices like I do. Also, be careful not to put ingredients all the way to the edge because they will fall off during the cooking process.

The pizza is so delicious and healthy. Since there are so many ingredients, one slice will fill you up, and you don't have to go back for seconds. It usually takes me three or more days to eat all eight slices. I love it so much that I eat my veggie pizza for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Hopefully, you will love it also provided you will take my advice and make your own.

healthy
3

About the Creator

Margaret Minnicks

Margaret Minnicks shares articles with readers all over the world. Topics include celebrities, royal family, movies, television, foods, drinks, health issues, and other interesting things. Thanks in advance for TIPS that are sent my way.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.