Feast logo

3 Instagram Recipes You Need To Make

When You Run Out Of Ideas Give This A Try

By Mrz. PGPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
3 Instagram Recipes You Need To Make
Photo by Jimmy Dean on Unsplash

I love to cook until I run out of ideas for things to make.

Rice, beans, and some kind of meat can only take me so far. It gets old really quickly, at least in my household it does. Lol.

Last week I ran out of ideas on what I should make for dinner. So I called my sister and asked her for ideas since she’s a foodie. She suggested I look up Cooking Con Omi and Rebeca Huffman on Instagram for some inspiration.

My sister was spot on because just looking at their profiles made me hungry and excited to get back in the kitchen.

I tried three different recipes and here’s how it went.

Sharing Food For Generations To Come

Cooking Con Omi is fun to watch!

Omi Hopper is a chef based in Rhode Island that takes traditional Spanish recipes that Mami is famous for and puts a twist on them.

She starts most videos with Hola Mi Gente ( Hi my people), a little salsa dance, and a rundown of what she's cooking.

Two recipes that I tried this week from Cooking Con Omi were:

Creamy Cajun Pasta

Photo Credit: IG @cooking_con_omi

This salmon and pasta dish was a great 30-minute meal option. I’ll add another five minutes for the modifications I made. I modified at least one- three ingredients in every recipe I tried.

Blame that on my Spanish Bronx ways.

We don’t measure we eyeball EVERYTHING!

For this recipe, I added red chili flakes, broccoli and substituted heavy cream for Alfredo sauce. I ended up marinating the salmon overnight because I didn't make this on the date I originally planned.

Don’t miss out on this dish by checking out the full cooking video here.

Lemon, Ginger, Soy Chicken

Photo Credit: IG @cooking_con_omi

This was another big hit in casa Pena-Gay.

First off, cooking in one pot is one of the best things in the world. It saves time and cleaning up.

It took me about 40 minutes to make this. I had some leftover rice so that saved me time.

I didn’t have fresh green beans so again I went with what I had available, which was canned green beans and it still came out great. I found that the canned green beans had a softer texture. I didn’t mind that so much but if you are specific about textured food then I’d say use fresh green beans so you have more control over the cooking time and can make them crispier.

Take it up a notch and add a couple of slices of avocado. It’s sooo good!

Try this at home by checking out the full cooking video here.

Rebeca Huffman

Rebecca Huffman is a home cook from the Chicago area and says she's her ancestor’s wildest dreams. She shares what she feeds her family I am grateful for that.

Her approach to cooking has more vegan options. I just call them Spanish Vegan twists.

Check out the recipe I tried for breakfast this week down below.

Papaya, Pineapple, and Hemp Seed Smoothie

Photo Credit: IG @rebecahuffman

This was a brave receipt for me to try because it has OATMEAL. I have never, ever, ever enjoyed oatmeal. Not as a child, not in cookies, not in shakes, and definitely not steal cut. According to my brother, that makes a difference but I beg to differ.

With that being said I used spinach instead of oatmeal.

This was better than I expected. It was sweet and filling. One thing I’m still thinking about is how I feel about Hemp seeds. It was different but not bad.

To try this at home see the full video here.

Next Order Up

I’m planning to try some other recipes that Omi and Rebecca have left me drooling after watching. Check out what will keep me busy this weekend.

  1. Vegan Alcapurria
  2. Vegan Pastelón
  3. Coconut Pineapple Upside-down Cake
  4. GUMBO de Mariscos

Who’s your favorite IG cook? If you have a receipt that you love let me know in the comments.

If you enjoyed this article hit the subscribe button for more content!

recipe
Like

About the Creator

Mrz. PG

My superpower is in the silver lining.

Let me show you how to see through a different lens.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.