Families logo

What Are You Thankful For?

"Thanksgiving Family & Friends"

By AdonShar For RealPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
What Are You Thankful For?
Photo by Libby Penner on Unsplash

Thanksgiving Day is a good day to recommit our energies to giving thanks and just giving.— Amy Grant

What Thanksgiving traditions do you have?

Today is Thanksgiving, a time for many to share with family and friends. Some of us have old traditions while others celebrate something new.

I come from a family where everyone helped out in the kitchen. When the meal was ready we'd watch football games throughout the day. Have great conversations, play board games, have some drinks and enjoy the day.

To me that was great especially when you have family and other friends come out that you haven't seen in a while. Our family and friends would visit over the years for a quick vacation. That was tradition for many people I grew up with. It's an era where things were taught by our elders and passed down several generations. A lot of us still follow today and have passed on to our children.

If you think about a Thanksgiving dinner, it’s really like making a large chicken. —Ian Garten

What food did you like or didn't like at Thanksgiving?

The foods I liked the most was the legs and dark meat of the turkey. The stuffing, mac n cheese, cornbread, along with some cranberry sauce. As I got older, I really didn't run much to the deviled eggs, cold salads, or beans. Nothing that would have be funny to the bathroom as soon as I ate.

I also noticed over the years some of my family and friends religions started to change. Not many people like having pork in their foods or spread on the Thanksgiving table. It was something I really got use to and respected.

What music did you listen to?

If I can remember it was a blend of oldies and some of the new songs which played on the radio station. Most of the time it was so loud you really couldn't hear the music much over the laughter.

What prayer's do you like for Thanksgiving?

For each new morning with its light, for rest and shelter of the night, for health and food, for love and friends, for everything Thy goodness sends. — Ralph Waldo Emerson

Father, we thank you for your abundant mercy and grace toward us. We honor you this day as we gather together in a family full of gratitude. We thank you for this meal and the hands that prepared it. We thank you for your bountiful provisions. We ask that you equip and encourage us to serve others who are in need. May we be good stewards of your creation and of all our talents and blessings. We proclaim glory and honor to you. In the name of Jesus we pray.

Amen. — Madge P. Williams

What Are You Thankful For?

I'm grateful for everything I have achieved this year. I'm also thankful to share my new care-free and self-loving tips with more like minded individuals. Everyday I wakeup, my life is changing for the better. I am happy for the success I have with my business and blog stories I've written over the years. I see my potential and passion for what I love most continue to grow.

As a entrepreneur & advocator I love giving back, and seeing that my messages motivate others to do the same. When Thanksgiving come around, I know the year is almost over. Eleven months is a long time to know that each and every day I focused on bettering who I am as an individual and business leader.

The changes I made helped me to eat healthier, loss weight, and exercise throughout the year consistently. I created a flexible schedule were I can have more time to enjoy fun activities. I use to work so much that my energy was drained. Now I have balanced in my life and definitely see the results.

Happy Thanksgiving To Everyone! Enjoy your day!

advicechildrengrandparentsvaluesparents
Like

About the Creator

AdonShar For Real

I focus on creating inspirational poems, educational, and spiritual healing blogs from personal experiences. My topics help motivate people to heal from toxic relationships, mental health, and addictive behaviors.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.