Families logo

Trying to be like my Parents

Being like my Parents, with a bad family bloodline

By rodjrsusu4388 private/ R O D JR and the datePublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 4 min read
Like

When I was born, I had too many problems, wrong with my body. I had allergies, digestive issues, bad coordination, and bad eyesight. I spent most of my life trying to be normal and failed at it. I could have been the boy in the plastic bubble. But I did not want to be different, but my blood- chromosomes were in charge. So I dealt with just trying to survive all the time.

When I was older, I was put on Metamucil fiber. Then I put myself on Citrucel fiber, which was a lot fewer trips to the bathroom. I was allergic to Metamucil fiber. So Citrucel helped me, so my body absorbed a lot more vitamins, so I did not stay sick anymore. It took me years after high school graduation, to get back to being healthy again. After years of college, when I graduated and started a job. I gained muscle and became a very smart, muscle-bound man. I was a very late bloomer. I was the healthiest sick person in the building, and the strongest, but did not want to be the strongest. My mom was very strong-minded and had super strong willpower. My dad was very strong in his body, the military made my dad so strong, he worked in a supply job. So he was always lifting heavy boxes for his unit. So I had no choice, but to be very strong all around. And all these problems will hit me when I get to be 60 years old. Like a giant wall of pain all over my body. After my first job, I learned that unless you have wonderful connections, the job is only a short-term temporary job. So I spent most of my adult life searching for a long-term job. Knowing a long-term job really did not exist. I have all this education and nowhere to use the education. Most employers want speed not smart, and most of the time the business went thru 100 people to find 1 good worker. Most of the time the way I was brought up, I was the perfect worker. My job was done correctly the first time, and the managers loved it when I made them look good.

Some of my life was in the office working with the copier, because the engineer was too lazy, to want to learn the technology of the copier machine. So I had lots of experience working with lazy management. It is kind of hard to fire the whole company in management because the C E O cared even less. So I just dealt with it, and moved on, being a good worker. 2 jobs later. I found a company where I was a computer-aided design operator. I updated 8,000 drawings in 2 months, and the manager said I was the best worker he had ever seen. I loved that job, it was in my field of expertise. I also worked on the manufacturing floor because I had experience in assembly work to help the workers with 7-foot tall circuit breakers. I helped them get caught up, so they loved that I could help them with the workload. Then the next day they held a meeting for all the people to be laid-off and 30 of us got laid off. I was included, so here we go again. How do you get the experience, when you are so busy looking for a job? Life is life in finding a job, business.

I guess after an abnormal number of times being laid off. I finally found a job in a warehouse and after 20 years of being in a warehouse. I missed everything life has to offer. I was transferred about 20 times while working at that warehouse. We worked 10 hours a shift, 7 days a week, at home at night we had 1 hour for a break, and we were running on auto-pilot all the time. I had perfect attendance for 20 years, no time for anything else. Then we were told the place is closing, and all of the management got other jobs first because they were on the phone a lot. My group was the last to leave, and the job stopped on Jan. 03/ 2023. I do not know what happened to the business after that. I was just glad to get a break, my niece said I was a dead man walking. It took me 3 months to heal from that ordeal. I can finally walk now, and I am physically stronger too. Now to find one last job, until I hit 65 then I retire. I have 5 more years until I am considered done working. That subject is a consideration that is in Congress's hands on the next vote. Maybe we will retire at 100 years old, I do not know.

I hope the world has a lot better life than I do or did. You do not want to miss everything. If I would have stayed, I would have been a ghost on the job, and it is not worth the loss of life, do not decide between health and life and bills. It is not a good decision, a sweatshop is not a good life. This is the last time to overcome the crappy odds against me. To get what I need, to get to retirement. I have a feeling the odds are stacked against me, as usual.

R O D JR 7/17/2023

singleparentsimmediate familyhumanityadvice
Like

About the Creator

rodjrsusu4388 private/ R O D JR and the date

I want to please the people and spread new hope now, by giving innovative ideas to improve people's lives, while improving my own life in the process.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.