Families logo

The Strength Of My Child

~ Dedicated to my resilient daughter ~

By Lory FarranPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like
Lea, my beautiful artistic powerful daughter

We believe our children are fragile and vulnerable, but they are more resilient than we will ever be.

They have a stronger immunity since their connection to the Source is closer than ours.

This story is about my brave beautiful creative daughter, Lea!

She's 13 now and I still look at her in awe.

I was pregnant only once in my life, at the age of 37, and Lea is one of the twins I gave birth to. She has a twin brother, Gabriel.

She was restless even before she was born.

Because of her active energy, my tummy would occasionally change shape.

She was a firecracker, as opposed to her brother who was tranquil within.

The morning I gave birth, the doctor told me that She is the one who insisted on seeing the light.

And she did, she came out first, and 2 minutes later, her twin brother.

I WAS A MOTHER!!!

OMG, the feeling was so powerful; it enveloped me with Love, Gratitude, and Humility!

She needed a month of incubation because she was much more preterm than her brother.

She was so tiny and slender that I could literally see her heart pumping through her chest

I couldn't stop crying, feeling so helpless.

I'm her mother, I should be able to aid her and improve her condition, but I couldn't; so I sat next to her and let her grab my finger.

Her grip was Firm!

She was strong even when she was weak - Incredible!

Doctors warned us that she needed blood in order to survive.

We immediately posted multiple times on social media begging locals to come and donate blood to save her, and someone complied.

A stranger saved her life.

We never knew his name or what he looked like.

He was a good man showing unconditional love, and I am grateful!

A few weeks after we had brought her home, we began to notice that she would whimper in discomfort whenever we touched her hip (when changing diapers or bathing her).

Of course, we took her to the doctor right away, who informed us that she had a birth hip fracture and would need to wear a very tight belt around both of her legs for the next six months if she wanted to avoid losing the ability to walk normally for the rest of her life.

DAMN! What the hell????

Well, she’s a feisty little one, who does not comply with society’s rules and remedies.

She hated that belt, and I don’t blame her.

For a little baby girl with spice and high energy, keeping her tight, unable to move, was torture, and she was loud about it.

She fought hard against it every day, crying continuously; she wouldn’t rest until we took that belt off, and she meant business - she was not a quitter.

We were so broken watching her suffer that, despite the doctor’s advice, we decided to listen to her and remove the belt after only 1 month.

It was a terrifying experience, as we were so frightened that we had made the wrong decision - the typical self-doubt.

We took the belt off.

Oh, she was so happy.

I think that was the first time we had seen her smile.

She was reassuring us that everything would be fine and that our choice was sound.

We had to be sure, so we took her back to the doctor, and to everyone’s surprise, especially the doctor’s who has never seen this - SHE WAS HEALED!

He told us that it was a miraculous event.

My Baby Healed Herself!!!

My God, the incredible inner strength of this little girl!!!

She grew up beautifully after that.

She is an artist.

What she can’t express in words, she draws, paints, and sings.

Well, her struggles aren’t over, unfortunately.

At the age of 6, we discovered that she had a mild case of epilepsy.

It took 2 years to find the right medicine for her - 2 years of seizures and fear, and hopelessness - but we finally did.

Fast forward to the age of 8, she developed a severe stomach ache.

The doctor told us that she has a very rare condition (1 in about 400,000 people, if I remember correctly), a condition which even the doctors had to do research and conduct studies for.

That’s how rare it was.

He had to do an open surgery on her.

In other words, he had to cut my baby’s belly, and rearrange her intestine.

My God, can this beautiful little girl catch a break?

I was terrified.

Once again, I’m her mother, and I can’t help her - horrible feeling!!!

She never whimpered when they inserted their needles into her tiny arm, she never cried.

She Never Made A Sound.

I remember being so damn impressed by her inner strength!

Adults like myself would panic in such a circumstance, but not her.

My little brave warrior was up for it  -  like “Come at me, God, watch me survive this one too”!

So brave, so resilient - I was blown away!

She survived the surgery. She still wears the scar.

She made it through it all, with a smile on her beautiful face!!!

These days she is as strong, creative, cheerful, full of positive energy, and incredibly empathic as she’s ever been.

She is truly a breath of fresh air!

To Know Her Is To Love Her ~

THAT IS MY DAUGHTER, LEA!!!!

I LOVE YOU, LEA!!! Thank You For Choosing Me To Be Your Mother!

PS: If you want to know what she is up to these days, here is a link to her website, which she and her twin brother recently created together, displaying beautiful abstract pieces of art. (have a look)

The Farran Twins

Thank you for allowing me to tell her story…and mine!

Much Love…

siblingsvaluesparentsimmediate familychildren
Like

About the Creator

Lory Farran

I am a mother of beautiful twins, a musician, a blog writer, and a video creator.

My artistic side plays an important role in everything I do.

I write about the things that move me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.