Families logo

The Most Important Life Lessons I Want My Children To Know

Lessons I have learned the hard way

By Lory FarranPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like
My twins, Gabriel and Lea

So, I have 13-year-old twins, a boy, and a girl.

I know, right? Perfect combination!

My children are my world.

Since they are still too young for serious conversations, I have decided to write about it, and have them read it later on.

Dear Daughter,

Thank you for choosing me to be your mother~

I hope that some of my words will survive the test of time and continue to be cherished pearls of knowledge that you will take with you for the rest of your life.

What I want You to know:

- believe in yourself

- create - never stop expressing yourself

- love yourself

- never settle for less than what you know you deserve

- show love and respect to every living thing

- be good to animals

- never allow a boy to raise his voice at you, let alone physically hurt you

- do not ignore the red flags, they are there for a reason

- speak your mind

- love and respect your brother, no matter what

- follow your intuition

- listen to your instinct

- looks don't matter that much

- inner beauty is everything

- never apologize for your choices

- being kind doesn't mean being a pushover - know the difference

- hold people close, but don't hold on to them

- be conscious of the energy around you

- don't take life too seriously

- live every moment with passion

- don't be too hard on yourself

- the universe gives you, but you have to do the work to earn it

- grow from every pain you might encounter - if you do not learn what pain is teaching, it will come back stronger

- be kind and patient with your children, they look up to you

- become self-sufficient, so that you need not depend on anyone

I Love You, And Am Always Here For You, No Matter What!~

Dear Son,

Being your mother is one of the few honors in life that stands above the others. Though I'm aware that life will teach you all you need to know, there are still a few things I'd want to share with you in the hopes that they may make your life more fulfilling.

What I want You to know:

- believe in yourself

- live in the moment

- be an example

- don't be afraid to show your emotions - vulnerability is courage, not weakness

- speak up, when you have something to say

- always treat your sister with love and respect, and protect her against all dark forces

- never let your anger control you

- be kind to yourself first

- never stop laughing

- never raise your voice or hand at anyone - you are better than that

- be true to yourself - do not change for anyone, unless that change is for the better

- don't lie about the important things

- dream big - don't back down from something you set your heart on

- follow your heart, and keep your mind in check

- create - creating art, in whatever form, should be a constant in your life. It encourages individuality and self-expression.

- use your words, and not your hands

- appreciate and respect all differences in people

- it's okay to cry - it doesn't make you any less of a man. 

Everyone needs a good cry sometimes, it is a natural reaction to our emotions. Men cry women cry, children cry, and we all cry. 

Crying helps release negative energy.

- love your planet and treat her with respect.

- have the courage to lead and not just follow.

- be spiritual - know what you stand for because if you don't stand for something, you'll fall for everything, and we all need something to hold onto sometimes.

- forgive, but don't hold grudges

I Love You forever and ever - you can always count on me!~

Conclusion

To my daughter:

Being your mother has taught me that even though you are my kid, we are not the same, thus I cannot make decisions for your life. 

You are free to live this life on your terms. 

You are a unique individual, and as your mother, all I can do is attempt to help you and do my best to arm you with as much information and wisdom as I can. Then I have to take a step back and pray that you have the strength inside you to overcome whatever challenges or conflicts you encounter.

I LOVE YOU!

To my son:

I hope that you live with passion and purpose, kindness and humor, with intentionality and spontaneity. 

I hope you find a tribe of like-minded people to pursue your purpose with. 

And as clichéd as it sounds, I hope you make a difference, on a small or large scale.

 I want you to dream big, see potential, and make your vision of a better world a reality.

LOVE,

MOM!

siblingsvaluesparentshumanitychildrenadvice
Like

About the Creator

Lory Farran

I am a mother of beautiful twins, a musician, a blog writer, and a video creator.

My artistic side plays an important role in everything I do.

I write about the things that move me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.