Families logo

The Lie (For a child)

By Anthony Sanders

By Anthony SandersPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
The Lie (For a child)
Photo by Tingey Injury Law Firm on Unsplash

This, folks, is a child’s lie; this is a lie that I told my grandma when I got in trouble. See, I got in trouble for climbing a tree. I go out early in the morning and try to find a tree to climb. I was never allowed to climb trees because my parents were afraid, I would get stuck, but I didn’t listen. I go out behind my grandma’s house to the woods. At the time my grandma lived on the bottom road at the top of the hill. Well I end up finding a tree, but it was a baby. It was only about five hundred feet tall. I look up this baby tree and start to climb.

I go up for a bit when I come across this bird house. I knock on the door and two squirrels let me in to play cards. I go in, to be polite, and we have milk shakes. After being there for about an hour of shakes, I had lost a hundred dollars and decide to leave. However, leaving made the rabbits mad at me, so I ran out the door. I ran up the tree until I couldn’t see the house anymore. Once I’m about halfway up I see a rest area. I walk over and get a drink out of the vending machine when I see a place to look out. I walk over to the stone wall and see the rolling hills of the flat lands. The view was really relaxing until I noticed that the sun has started to set. I turn to leave and put the drink in my pocket.

I go back to the climb. As I go is starts to feel like I’ve been climbing forever. Suddenly I find an elevator. I push the button and get in thinking it is faster. As I go up, we pick up a few mountain hikers, but they got off before me. Once I reach the top, I realized it was yesterday, so I guess it was faster. I step out to see that I could see the mountain tops surrounding me. I then turn and see the ocean. It is unbelievable to see them so close this time of year. I go back to the elevator and realize it was gone, so I was stuck.

I look around and I can’t think of any way to get down, so I call for lucky. You remember lucky the cat who sleeps next to my bed. We call him lucky on account he’s a chinchilla. I call for lucky so he can get me out of this tree. I see him wake up and get in a paper airplane. He got in his favorite model which is a Boeing 737. I don’t know why he likes it, but he does. He flies it over and picks me up. Unfortunately, we didn’t have enough room for me, so I had to leave my shadow behind. I knew if I came back without a shadow maw would be mad, so we stopped off at a cloud and cut a new shadow out.

I fold it up and put in in my pocket before we head home. I run in and get a hug from maw. She sees I’m home and I had my shadow. I call lucky in and we have dinner. Now this is how I seen it. It could have happened, or it could have been an acorn on a stick I found that day. Anyways I hope you enjoy, and I hope you can relate.

The end

literature
1

About the Creator

Anthony Sanders

Hello, it nice to be her. I was born to be a writer and poet. i have a published poetry book and I hope you enjoy my work here. One day I hope to be great.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.