Families logo

SHE CAME LOOKING FOR HER FATHER

Father and Daughter

By GabrielPublished about a year ago 7 min read
Like
SHE CAME LOOKING FOR HER FATHER
Photo by Caroline Hernandez on Unsplash

As a university research student, I was surprised to receive a call from Professor Ramamurthy at this time.

He had closed the 'European History' book he was reading and was about to go to sleep. I was surprised when I saw the name of History Professor Ramamurthy.

Why should he call me at this time? Ramamurthy's calm voice to the doubting person brought the situation to life.

Satya do you have class tomorrow?

No sir, but I will be at Central Library at eleven o'clock. Even if Uma comes, why sir, is there anything special?

Nothing, just a little help.. He pulled.

Please Tell.

A girl is coming from Canada at ten o'clock tomorrow, can you pick her up and bring her home.

Sure sir, is it enough to go to the airport at nine o'clock tomorrow?

Enough, enough, I have disturbed you, Sari. I thought before I could go, but unexpectedly I got a job.

I will definitely go and call you sir.

Thanks satya, sorry for bothering you this time. Again an apology and left. He hung up the phone. I switched off the phone.

I met the Canadian lady at the airport. She was a little girl. Maybe sixteen or eighteen years old. I took her in the car and left her at Professor Ramamurthy's house in Vadavalli. The person who was waiting for us at the door, treated us to two satya coffees and left.

The woman was sipping her coffee in deep thought. Diana? What are you thinking? Rammurthy's question is irrelevant, uncle, I was thinking about what to do next.

The girl's charming Tamil surprised me. You speak very good tamil, with her smile my father is a tamil.

Seeing my astonishment, Ramamurthy was not surprised by this, Satya, Diana has come here to find her father.

Uncle can I take some time off? To her question, sure, I will show you the room, Satya wait for a while, I will leave Diana in her room and come.

I waited downstairs in the anteroom. I was watching them both climb the inner staircase and enter the upstairs room.

It took ten minutes. Ramamurthy who came down, Sari Satya has put his wings to protect you. He sat down on the chair there.

I was looking at his face. The face looked a little worried. What is the problem sir?

Nothing, he thought of this Diana, who sighed. Her aunts were very helpful for my thesis when I went to Canada. They are the ones who called and told Diana that she wants to see her father's town, I will send her there. They said that it is safe to bathe. Now the job I have is how she goes on the PC..

I touch his shoulder and I help. I will finish my thesis by noon and then I will be idle.

Thank you very much Satya with a smile on my face, I will tell her. You go to your room now, I will call you.

Uma was waiting when I came to my room. My friend is studying for her Ph.D.

Where has satya gone? In response to her question, I told her everything that had happened since Professor Ramamurthy called last night to say that both of us have got a job.

Uma was listening with deep thought, what has the girl done?

The professor said she is studying in college there, I forgot to ask what she is studying.

Well, can we go to the library or not?

Come on, we both drove towards the central library. I took my cell phone to make a call while in the library. Professor Ramamurthy had called.. Can Satya come here?

Sure Sir, we took Uma and went to his house.

Diana and Ramamurthy were waiting. I could feel Diana's face light up when she saw Uma with me. I introduced Uma to Diana.

We may have talked about buying. Then we can have lunch at our house.

I shake Uma's shoulder to see her face and I don't have a program next to me.

then what? We sat on the chairs in the front room.

What was your father doing there, what was his name?

Mother said. His name was Subramaniam, he was also studying in the same university as mother. Both have lived together and gone to college. Amma is studying social science and he is studying chemistry.

Both have completed their retirement and are looking for a job. Then I was born. I think I was maybe seven years old behind it. After that he did not come to our house. It was only later that he came to know that he had obtained a divorce from his mother.

Did your mother fight with him? No. Are there frequent arguments between the two? Professor Ramamurthy

She thought a little. At that age I have seen both of them get into arguments a few times. After that I saw both of them laughing and talking.

You speak tamil very well.

Being with him, my mother was familiar with Tamil, and I might have learned the same, she used to talk to me in Tamil sometimes. One of my school friends speaks Tamil better than that. She taught me. It was from her that I got the advice why I should not know about my father.

Well, who is he and what city is there any details? Do you have any photos? I am

She pursed her lips. No photo available. But he has told his mother that he is in Coimbatore. I remember that the town called Sular was said

Sular.. Sular.. Uma, who has said it twice, may suddenly brighten up and become sulurai.

Diana's face may have brightened. Did he say anything else about the town?

Mother said that she did not remember. He once told Amma that the land within our town is going to be taken to expand the airport and the government is also going to take our native land for that.

If so, he must be around Sulur.

By that time Professor Ramamurthy's wife came to tell him that the cooking was ready and the four of us rushed to the dining room.

We were wondering how Diana would take her lunch.

She didn't seem as worried as we feared. She took some rice and four pieces of bread spread on the side, spread butter on it and started eating.

The next day our search began. Subramaniam is a name, not even a photo. Must have gone to Canada above ninety years, that too to study, or may have left Canada to go somewhere else. Without going through each family, we approached the elders of the village and inquired if anyone in their village had gone abroad.

It was like being blindfolded. Because almost twenty-nine years have passed. But one person is abroad. So they did not take it as a big deal that the last generation went abroad. However, they told the information available in each town.

What a life Diana's mother lived with a man from Tamil Nadu. Is she the only one in our country? How many women who say they love someone and start a family know the full details about him.

We wandered for almost ten days. Our investigation was conducted in villages around Sulur. But many Subramanians were found, among whom were also residents of Canada. But they were the younger generation. We also started losing interest in searching..

Diana can do something, next time you come the university where your father studied may have all the details, collect it and find out. Don't worry we will inform you as soon as we get the details.

Diana, who was thinking about something for a whole day, changed to a clear face the next day. Her mother called her to come.

These thirteen days with Diana were like a dream for me, Uma and Professor Rama Murthy, who were waiting to give directions at the airport. The little girl bravely searched for her father's roots.

We were disappointed that she didn't get the correct information and couldn't help it.

Diana thanked all of us, I tell you the truth. It was not for affection that I came to find my father, but to speak to him with anger. I came here thinking that all Indians and people from Tamil Nadu are like this.

But I am ashamed of how low I thought of you when I saw Professor Ramamurthy's hospitality and the companionship of Satya and Uma. I could tell the longing for not being able to see her father was thin in her voice.

More than that, we are surprised how clearly a little girl can speak. You can come here anytime to comfort her. We are waiting to help

Diana's memories stayed with us for more than a month after she flew back home.

valuessiblingsparentsliteraturefeaturechildren
Like

About the Creator

Gabriel

I am a Teacher, Youtuber and Blogger, Story Writer. All Nice and Good Stories For You. Don't Miss It, Must Read.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.