Families logo

Poor people need luck, Rich people have Faith

The story of a young girls faith

By Tristyn JanaiPublished 3 years ago 8 min read

Life is a chess game, and money is funny. It seems we work really hard day in, and day out just to have little things like nourishment, shelter, and God forbid a little entertainment. Sitting in class right next to people that come from money, who don’t worry about jobs, or test grades, or after school jobs, after graduation, they’re out going right to work at their families business. Who could be mad? Though sometimes you tend to look at yourself in comparison. Ironically the subject in today’s class was money management. Today was Friday, and I was ready for today to be over. I loved this class, I think it was because I truly enjoyed my professor Mr. Koové. He was brilliant, down to earth and witty. He stood maybe 5’10, dark hair that was beginning to grey from the cause of stress, but old age. He wore designer frames around his bifocals, which definitely gave him an edge, and you can tell he used to be an athlete because of his build. He stood up really straight with a presence that was felt, but not intimidating. His voice boomed, rather it was excitement, passion, or confidence it made people around him take notice. His energy radiated comfort, which made anyone around him feel invited. When I become a full fledged thriving adult,I want to be described the same way as Mr. Koové. “Tenacity!” I heard my name screamed at me by tiny voices, “Here!” I blurted, almost as a reflex. Mr. Koové looked at me and chuckled, “we are not doing role call, I asked you what are some things that could bring wealth to a poor person?” I rolled my eyes, “If I knew the answer to that, Mr. Koové I wouldn’t be sitting here with holes in the bottom of my shoes.” The class roared with laughter, but the statement almost brought tears to my eyes. From the look on the teachers face, I could see he was on the brig of tears too. He raised his hand, as to bring the class back to attention, the banter stopped immediately. Still focused on me “I’m sorry Tenacity I didn’t mean that to mock you...” Before he could finish his sentence Brittany, who sat right beside me cut him off “Mr. Koové, why don’t you ask someone who already has money that question. Like if you would have asked me, I would have said investments. She fluttered her long 28mm mink lash extensions at me, I’m sure it was because she was pleased with herself. You could smell her Marc Jacobs Daisy perfume all around her, like it has become part of her dna. I only knew the name because she made sure everyone understood that it was her ‘Signature Scent.’ Unlike me who had to make the two bottles of her bath and bodyworks body spray last until I could afford more. The smell of my body spray didn’t last till lunch. She only wore clothes that came from Pink, or lulu, like she was ready for yoga at any second. She called her jewelry pieces, so you understood that they were real without her having to make it obvious that she was bragging. She carried a matching Louis Vuitton backpack and purse to class. She parked right outside of the building in a red Gwagon that she bragged about being surprised with, just for making through the first semester here. We did not get along if it wasn’t obvious. She always made it a point to humiliate me, always giving me a reason to despise her. I finally looked away from Her back to the front of the class. Then the bell rings, and for some reason I let out a long exhale, as if I was holding my breath. “Tenacity?” I rolled my eyes, hearing my name being said in that manner means charity was coming in the next sentence and I hated charity. Being a senior in college with nothing but debt means you learn to accept a bunch of charity though. “Yes sir?” I turned slowly to meet his gaze. I have a book for you, I really hope you read it. It’s called ‘Poor people need luck, Rich people have faith.’” The title made me smirk, “I guess it’s easier to have faith when a good thing like money is at your disposal.” He chuckled and said “sometimes it’s right in the palms of our hands, and we don’t even know it.” He dropped the little black book in my hand, and walked back to his desk. “I will not be here, after Tuesday, so I suggest you read it by then, or not.” He sat back in his big black leather chair, looking really pleased with himself. Knowing Mr. Koové, I knew there was something hidden in that remark that I would catch later, but I had too many things to over analyze to let a simple remark be my priority.

On my way out the Gland Hall my phone vibrates, I instantly felt a pit in the bottom of my chest. It was my mom, though I loved still knowing she was alive I also hated her calls because it meant bad news. Not that she was one to complain, because if anyone in the world deserves to complain about problems it’s her. She has stage 4 lung cancer, which has spread into her lungs. I answered the phone, “hi mom how’s..” Before I could finish my question she cut me off “Baby! I can’t talk long, I’m headed into treatment, they will be keeping me here in the hospital because I’m losing too much blood, and becoming weak. That doesn’t mean come home you hear me! Because of all the cost of repairs to my body I had to get a loan, and put the house up for collateral. The bank has foreclosed, and there is no where for your babysitter to stay so short noticed. I was just wondering if you could keep her for a few weeks? I have 200 dollars I can send you to help with food...” I tuned her out. The sky went dark instantly and suddenly I couldn’t see my feet that stepped out in front of me. My throat began to close each breath drew further and further away from my lungs. I sat on the ground in the middle of the sidewalk just to gather myself. I hugged my knees and fell into myself, with her voice leaving me lifeless. I could hear her calling me name. Becoming panicked, I had to keep her calm, I had to be what she needed. I found my voice and uttered a lie “I’m sorry momma, I dropped my phone. It’s no problem at all. We will come and visit you as soon as possible” she sighed as if a weight have been lifted “you’re my rock girl..” and the phone disconnected. Which disconnected me as well. I hated my reality. I wanted nothing more than to sink into the lives of the rich. I bet people like Brittany only reaped the benefits of peoples homes being foreclosed on, not having a second thought of the loss someone suffered. I started walking to my shared apartment. It was like a dorm but more privileged for seniors. It was a 3 bedroom apartment, with three bathrooms. Fully stocked kitchen, with a common room in which we really just used to study. I was on an academic scholarship, which meant I lived here rent free. We had an open room, and my roommate has a boyfriend with a really good job. He has his own real apartment, so she only sleeps here when they’re fighting. I’m here all alone most of the time and I am very ok with that. But I guess it would be nice to have my sister in the same home as me once again. Contemplating her time coming to stay, I almost forgot about the terrible awful that my mom weighed on me. When I got to the door If my apartment, there was an envelope with my name on it. I grabbed Envelope and walked into my place. Our place was plain, not many decorations since I was broke and couldn’t afford any, and my roommate Candace, was never here, so she didn’t care how the place looked. In my room was kind of the same story. I had books, a few self affirmations hung, and Christmas lights hung on the wall, which some didn’t work any longer. I sat on the bed and opened the envelope, it was from the financial aid office. “We regret to inform you, that you have been placed on academic probation, due to your lack of ability to uphold regulation grade point average.” I could not read the rest of the letter because of the tears falling splashing on the paper. Making the ink fade and blue almost to extinction. I lay back on my bed. Nothing good comes my way. Feeling sorry for myself has never gotten me far but at this point I don’t have much left to look forward to. The book! I said in my head. I need something to go use on. Picking up the little black book, which should be a pamphlet due to size, I searched the cover. It had a thin leather cover on it and the title was written in little gold letters. It almost resembles a Bible. I opened it up to see if o could get the gist of the book. There was nothing. It was a bunch of empty pages. I flipped through confused before I reached the last page that read “Poor people need luck, Rich people have faith. But you, all you need is a little Tenacity!” I turned the page, and there was a hand written letter from Mr. Koové himself. “I’m really sorry about your mother, about how hard your life being so difficult. But you handle it with grace, love, tenacity, and time. I would have completely understood you leaving and never returning when your mother got sick, but you stayed. I paid off your tuition. It wasn’t fair that you’re going through something so traumatizing and still you’re told to have outstanding grades. You no longer need a scholarship. You no longer need to worry about money. You no longer need to stress about your mothers medical bills. Worry about continuing to set the standards, being Tenacious, the world needs more like you.” I cried, not because my problems were not over, not because I was holding more zeros than I’ve ever seen, but just because the entire time I wanted to be more like him, he thought I was perfect the way I was, for once I was enough. That entire weekend, I never left my bed, I stopped feeling worthy of the money.

That Tuesday when I got to class there was a crowd outside the classroom door. The tension felt heavy. “What’s going on?” I asked to no one in particular, “he’s just gone. He didn’t say where it that he was leaving he just left!” As everyone turned away happy at the fact there was no class. A white note was written on the door that read “class I can no longer be part of the problem. I must go produce a solution. There will be no more class until my replacement is provided. Be the change. Koové” my heart sunk., and just like that he vanished. The person who changed my life just vanished. I closed my eyes and hugged my laptop close. The wind blew and got the first time i embraced it. I am the change. “Thank you Mr. Koové”

siblings

About the Creator

Tristyn Janai

my name is Tristyn Janai, I’m lovely and have a great imagination.I have two children, I believe in my ancestors, My God, and my craft. I’m 24, married, and my life has been a difficult one, which all makes for good stories!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Tristyn JanaiWritten by Tristyn Janai

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.