Families logo

On Rue

The Inventor, the Architect, and the Legend

By Tasha MatthewsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
On Rue
Photo by Jakayla Toney on Unsplash

02-08-2121

Dear Little Black Book,

Poppy Jones here, and my heart is extremely heavy. I found out that my great-grandmother, the one who lived out in Bakersfield, died just early this morning. I remember she told the funniest stories about her times in the city of San Diego growing up, and how she enjoyed her swims, her sunday school teaching, and learning to braid hair from her grandma. Her real name is Alice Ruth Jones. Mama Rue (that's what we called her) was ahead of her time. She was extremely intelligent and got accepted to Harvard at the age of 15, as the college held its prestige for 485 years, and is now the university that I attend at 15. Mama Rue invented 237 working pieces of technology that have changed that face of our civilization. She was an engineer and an architect in one. She enjoyed working and creating the first new designs, of aeroautomobiles at the tender age of 29. She lived to be 96! My mom and grandma both passed away before she did from breast and lung cancer respectively, so she definitely stood the test of time. I was raised my Mama Rue. My family says I take after her smile and charm. I think that makes me happy and other times, it reminds me that I miss her and feel sad every time I feel happy. Miss you Mama Rue 🖤

02-14-2121

Dear Little Black Book,

Well today was Mama Rue's funeral and the entire family on my mom's side was there. Everyone showed up in Southeast San Diego dressed wearing pink as that was her favorite color. It also happens to be Valentine's day. I decided to wear black. It's my favorite color and it lacks no substance.

My younger brother George was teasing me per usual and running around with his cousins having the time of his life. Not sure what head space he is in but it's not the kind where of sad state of mind because our great grandma just died. My God, if that isn't the most outplaced emotion ever. Don't be fooled, I tend to be pretty joyful most of the time, but deepening sorrow has struck a cord with me ever since she left. I just don't know that my life can handle Mama Rue boxed in the confines of my memories of her. I hope I can live up to her legacy. I miss her dearly. 🖤

03-02-2021

Dear Little Black Book,

I am shaking as I write this. When my family and I helped to read Mama Rue's will and testament, I was listed on there to receive an invention of hers. Mama Rue knew how much I loved to write. It was a little black book that is similar to this and it has a built in speaker inside of it so that I can hear her voice. She even gave me a pen that is set to the sound her voice so as I write this, I can play it back in her voice. This is what she said:

"My Dearest Poppy,

May all the desires of your beautiful heart be fullfilled. May you soar to the moon and back, and go farther than I have ever gone.

Love,

Mama Rue"

I haven't been this touched in so long. Ever since she passed, it was dagger that struck my heart. I always felt so loved and so known by her. She will always be my hero. When I was little, she use to call me her little chocolate star. Now she lives amongst the stars, and I am forever thankful for her life and legacy. Love you Mama Rue. 🖤

humanity

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    TMWritten by Tasha Matthews

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.