Families logo

My Niece

Bold and fearless...

By SaraPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Image by Karl Egger from Pixabay

hi..

I'm still dealing with my bad depression now. But, I want to talk about something that happened recently, which is about my niece. She has decided to come to the U.S. to attend her college now even when the coronavirus pandemic is still creating havoc and less than 10% of the people of each state are vaccinated. I just find that very reckless and dumb of her. She could have waited a few more months before coming when more people are vaccinated here and the vaccines are available to everyone. By coming now, she is risking getting coronavirus and endangering her own health. I've sent her messages about these too but she has never responded back to me. The only and last time she has contacted me was when she asked me if I could lend her the money to pay for her expensive college tuition. I told her no and that I don't agree with her needing to attend such an expensive college. She got admitted to one of the good private colleges with very expensive tuition and insisted to attend it. Despite not getting any help, she still decided to attend it in the end and decided to come to attend it now at a bad time when she doesn't know anything about living in the USA yet at the age of 20 and when coronavirus is still taking the lives of many with about 4000 daily infections! I just think that her decision is so very reckless and her parents seem to not able to do anything about that.

It is just a bad decision because what if she gets coronavirus? She also has the blood type B, which is the blood type that is more prone to getting coronavirus. So, I feel very concerned about her. She also has never lived in the US before and doesn't even know much about it. It is just quite concerning to me.

Anyways... there doesn't seem like there is anything that I can do and that is just sad. I feel like I often don't have much fate with things related to me or things that I like to see happen, which is sad. Things like that just make you feel so helpless.

I can only hope that nothing bad happens to her and she will be well. Also, just found out that this site doesn't allow religious content or references to God, which is weird.. So, I can't even mention about that.

This site also requires at least 600 words to be approved to be published. So, I will continue to write then.

When I suggest to my brother that she needs to buy some of those medicine that could help her if she gets coronavirus, my brother said no and that she is an adult and can take care of herself. My brother often said that. When I asked him why he let her come to America at such a bad time. He said that she is an adult and he has to respect her decision. This seems to be how many Americans are like, which is you are on your own when you are an adult. I just think that even though you are an adult, you still don't know many things at such a young age and if you don't have some help or heed advices, you will fall down and can fall down badly too.

When I was her age, I didn't know much about anything either and had fallen down really hard, because I didn't get much help or guidance either. I just wanted to be a guide to her so she doesn't fall down. I have emailed her some of my suggestions and advices of different things which she has never responded back. We don't communicate or talk to each other like aunts and nieces do. She has also blocked me and her father on social media too which I don't understand. But she talked to many people online and have many fans and followers who like her work, etc.. She posted about how she felt about many things online which she never talked to us about, which I still can't understand why. When I was her age, I wasn't like that. I didn't block off people related to me. I wasn't as bold and fearless as her. I had wanted to attend a good school too at that time in a different state but didn't because my parent didn't want to accompany me there. I was that timid.

She is much more bold and fearless than me. I wonder what she will end up to be.

immediate family
Like

About the Creator

Sara

Check out also http://beacons.ai/bizshop

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.